Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 2nd May 2008, 12:11   #1
BHPian

Restoration of standard 8

Hi All

Most of you must have seen the picture of this standard 8 in the forum already. Well, this car belongs to my cousin and he is ready to give it to me. Now, i want to find out how much it will be to restore this car and whether it is possible at all. by this i mean if the parts would be available or not. i am not an expert in this matter and would like to know if there are any experts who can guide me. i am currently in Hyderabad and the car is in Pune. i would be shifting back to pune by june end. any help is welcome.
Attached Thumbnails
Restoration of standard 8-standard8.jpg  

Old 2nd May 2008, 14:57   #2

Well Well Well..Nice to know that this famous car is owned by a fellow Tbhpian. You are in Hyd so contact Stanher. He can help you with the restoration..
Old 2nd May 2008, 15:04   #3
BANNED

Srj 1266,

Nice to see this car.

Best of luck for your restoration process.

With TBHP around i dont think your resto process will be a difficult thing.

There are some pro's here who would be eager to help.

The car looks untampered except the front grill.

Even the jack looks period.

Ha ha great rangoli design around the jack.

Keep posting the progress dude.
Old 2nd May 2008, 15:25   #4
Distinguished - BHPian

Wooowww!!! What a really pleasant surprise!!
Karl (who had shown me this car once too) had tried so hard for the last few years to trace the owner of this car in vain! The house outside where its lying has always been locked.

Even I had wished someone who owned the car showed up so I could rescue it!
Am I glad someone finally has claimed this poor thing! I hope the car is not gone too bad (this is an old photo) though!