Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 4th November 2013, 12:30   #1021

re: The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread

In continuation to the above post of mine, I have inquired about the fuel pump & found that 118NE suitable electronic fuel pump is available (might be Ucal as the shop owner isn't quite clear about it) should I go ahead with purchasing it if its a Ucal make ?
Old 4th November 2013, 16:11   #1022

Sagar: If the S1 and 118 NE use the same electronic fuel pump, then the following post from the 118 NE Thread might be useful.

Regards and Keep Revving,

Rahul Waghmare.
Scarlet_Rider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th November 2013, 18:51   #1023

Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post
What would be the approximate prices for the UCAL fuel pump?

Fintail/Heckflosse!
Was INR 750 in 2010, may be the shop had a few pieces he wanted to do away with. Dont know what the current price would be and if its available.
kavesh55 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th March 2014, 01:52   #1024

Hi guys!
as many of you have seen, i have restored my S1.
There are some parts missing though, like the temperature sensor.
In the UK, I have founds this coolant sensor.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/COOLANT-TEMPERATURE-SENSOR-FIAT-PANDA-1980-2004-52400-/221105346815?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM& fits=Car+Make%3AFiat|Cars+Type%3A1100&hash=item337 ae7d8ff
This looks like the one in the S1,but i would request any gurus to confirm.
The thread thread mentioned on ebay is: M16 x 1.5 TAPER is this the same one as on the manifold of the s1?
Looking forward to your reply

Last edited by HimuraKenshin : 18th March 2014 at 01:57.
Old 18th March 2014, 13:10   #1025

Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/COOLANT-TEMPERATURE-SENSOR-FIAT-PANDA-1980-2004-52400-/221105346815?pt=UK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM& fits=Car+Make%3AFiat|Cars+Type%3A1100&hash=item337 ae7d8ff
This looks like the one in the S1,but i would request any gurus to confirm.
Nope. It would'nt fit. The S1 did not share any parts with European Fiats of its day i.e 1995-2000.

You shall be better off, salvaging this part, from another S1 or a 118NE, as there were certain parts shared between the Padmini S1 & 118NE.

Old 19th March 2014, 15:57   #1026

Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post
Nope. It would'nt fit. The S1 did not share any parts with European Fiats of its day i.e 1995-2000.
Could you tell me the thread size of the s1 water temperature sensor? As far as i know this is located below the carb on the manifold...
Any gurus? Please help?
Old 19th March 2014, 17:11   #1027

Dear Shome - what yaar, you will get as many switches as you want in any decent automobile shop. Ask for "temperature tee" of Pricol make. The shopkeepers understand this terminology. Carry the old one with you and verify the thread size. Mostly it is M16*1.5 taper thread but I an not 100% sure, therefore you need to carry the old one. The spanner size to loosen / tighten is 19mm. It should cost you around 80 bucks!

Dear Fintail - 118NE thread size is smaller, it is NISSAN, the japanese save weight everywhere!

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th March 2014, 18:19   #1028

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Shome - what yaar, you will get as many switches as you want in any decent automobile shop. Ask for "temperature tee" of Pricol make. The shopkeepers understand this terminology. Carry the old one with you and verify the thread size. Mostly it is M16*1.5 taper thread but I an not 100% sure, therefore you need to carry the old one. The spanner size to loosen / tighten is 19mm. It should cost you around 80 bucks!
behnram ji!
lovely to hear from you.
Is this the same Tee i am talking about? it has 1 wire that goes to the temp gauge on the dash, correct? Glad to know that it is available in Mumbai..
I will buy it when i come back then! thanks so much
Old 15th April 2014, 20:49   #1029

Does anyone know the size of the air inlet of the s1 carb. Mine has a solex carb.
I want to purchase a chrome air filter and therefore i want to know the diameter of the opening on top of the carb where the filter usually screws on..
Old 16th April 2014, 22:00   #1030

Originally Posted by HimuraKenshin View Post
I want to purchase a chrome air filter and therefore i want to know the diameter of the opening on top of the carb where the filter usually screws on.
Dear Shome - diameter = 50.8 mm (2"). Length = 19.05 mm (3/4"). It is not easy to engineer the part that you are looking for, I suggest, make a suitable adaptor with positive mounting and use Esteem air cleaner assembly. It will fit on the Solex BICSA MCS1069 carburettor. Don't waste your time on internet, somebody will take your money and you will not get what you want.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 4th May 2014, 02:48   #1031

Hey Guys!
I was out on a stroll today and in one of the shops Nottilng Hill, i found this book.
Bought is for 10 pounds
The FIAT 1100/Premier Padmini Technical Information thread-image.jpeg  

HimuraKenshin is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th June 2014, 19:44   #1032

Hey guys, I am trying to restore a Premier 118 NE. Initially it had a Hitachi carburettor. But we changed it to a Miikuni (of Maruti esteem) as the parts are easily available. However, the accelerator and choke cable are different for both the carburettors. Any idea where to find new set of these cables ? I have tried GP road in chennai, Opera house in Mumbai and few shops in Pune as well personally but everyone had a Hitachi acc and choke cable. Any idea as to where to find a set of these cables ? Or can some other cars cable to retrofitted to solve the purpose. Will an ambassador cable work ?
Old 28th July 2014, 19:21   #1033

Hey All,
I am little new to this thread.
I have 1991 Fiat Premier Padmini; I am in a desperate need of a good mechanic in Delhi. I also want to know where can I get spare parts of it in Delhi.
Please help.

SK
Old 2nd August 2014, 12:52   #1034

Originally Posted by keralshobhit View Post
Hey All,
I am little new to this thread.
I have 1991 Fiat Premier Padmini; I am in a desperate need of a good mechanic in Delhi. I also want to know where can I get spare parts of it in Delhi.
Please help.

SK
For spare parts kashmiri gate is the only place left where youll surely get everything. Youll have to spend a day there though to find the exaCT shops that still have stocks

If you are in south delhi, you could try khurana auto spares in green park, even if he doesnt have stuff he usually gets it for you. Just remember there are 2 khurana auto spares shops on opposite sides of the road. Go to the smaller one

Last edited by mycarhasablower : 2nd August 2014 at 12:55.
Old 2nd August 2014, 16:00   #1035

Thanks a lot mate.
you made a life a little easy.
Will visit Khurana tomm itself and will try Kasmiri gate too if required.
Thanks Again.

Originally Posted by mycarhasablower View Post
For spare parts kashmiri gate is the only place left where youll surely get everything. Youll have to spend a day there though to find the exaCT shops that still have stocks

If you are in south delhi, you could try khurana auto spares in green park, even if he doesnt have stuff he usually gets it for you. Just remember there are 2 khurana auto spares shops on opposite sides of the road. Go to the smaller one