Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 19th January 2009, 10:38   #136

What a shine job man.
Old 19th January 2009, 11:21   #137

Neat, do ask the shop to use some protective sheets on fenders and flared parts to avoid scratches while the finishing job is being done.
Old 20th January 2009, 12:27   #138

Amol,

This is sexeeeeee. I cannot wait to see the car fully done. BTW the chrome job is too good.

Vijay
Old 20th January 2009, 12:31   #139

The car is definitely turning out to be a head turner. Amol, just prepare yourself to answer questions like have Fiat introduced this model after they brought in the retro 500?

The love and care that has gone into the restoration shows, literally speaking.

Boss, and I am not too good for long suspense, could you shorten the climax and post more pics .
Old 20th January 2009, 20:57   #140

Originally Posted by suren181 View Post
Boss, and I am not too good for long suspense
AdEngappa! (to those who've made funny faces reading this, it's just an exclamation in tamil......just like saying arre wah, wah re wah etc.! )

This is coming from a guy who's re-registered his car (similar to this one) as WIP 6050....hahaha!

Just kidding, suren!
Old 20th January 2009, 22:06   #141

Boss, and I am not too good for long suspense, could you shorten the climax and post more pics
Hold on to your horses guys, I went to check at the garage for progress I think still a couple of days work still needs to go into the car, to make her show worthy, the major issue is I havent managed to source wheel clips for the original rims, so i cant paint them till they get riveted with the new clips, itna sab karke i cant show the car on padmini rims can I .

Meanwhile the interior work continues, the guy has done a good job with the original rubber pattern on the transmission tunnel, tan upholstery with light grey top and accents for the door panels.
Old 21st January 2009, 11:27   #142

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Meanwhile the interior work continues, the guy has done a good job with the original rubber pattern on the transmission tunnel, tan upholstery with light grey top and accents for the door panels.
Tho interiors ka teasers hi sahi...

Stanher: You caught me at that chief
Old 21st January 2009, 20:56   #143

Tho interiors ka teasers hi sahi...

Stanher: You caught me at that chief
Thik hai saar I will do so tomorrow, even karl has asked me to post pics of the meters and steering.
Old 22nd January 2009, 20:11   #144

Some more teasers

Here are some more teasers guys, i would have loved to take better pics but the garage is pretty dingy and my mobile isnt too good with these kind shots but hey you can see her at the Pune rally on Sunday with Whitewalls rims et all, meanwhile work continues furiously to get everything done before saturday morning when i drive to pune.

Please note the rear seat covers have been covered by another velvet fabric to protect them from all the finishing work.

Dont miss the period fog light glass we managed to find till we find an oriinal carello glass (who knows I may never replace it, this one look really cool and i am told its super rare)

Steering and gear shift still needs finishing.
Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0154.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0155.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0156.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0157.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-imag0158.jpg  

Old 22nd January 2009, 21:29   #145

Wooooooooow, amol!! This one gets the top honours man!!

Kyaa gAdi banAyE yAruuu (hyderabadi lingo!)

I just couldn't stop gaping at the colour, the period steering wheel, the works!!

Looooooooooooovelyyyyyy!!
Old 22nd January 2009, 21:44   #146

Car looks amazing! Cant wait to see it finished.
Wish you could snap the same pics with a Digicam.
Old 23rd January 2009, 11:13   #147

Amol , Kaala tikka laga bosss. nazar lag jayegeee. Cannot wait to see the finished car. I am in love with steering wheel.

BTW are you doing the meter console in white too? That is something I have to see.

Last edited by prabhuav : 23rd January 2009 at 11:20.
Old 26th January 2009, 14:20   #148

Fresh photos from this morning in Pune as she nears completion, many small things still to be done. The colour is spot on to what I would have wanted. The car turns more heads than anything else on the road. Freshly fitted Carello headlights, Altissimo taillights, all new handles and locks, switches, number plate frames etc especially sourced from Europe. The effort shows!
Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-01.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-02.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-03.jpg  

Restoration of MTP 8389 a 1956 Fiat 1100-04.jpg  

karlosdeville is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th January 2009, 19:53   #149

Very impressive Amol, great job done. These fender indicators always blow me away, whenever I see one of these. I've started thinking of starting on my original Elegant now. But given my schedule it mightn't be a good idea to start yet. And I also haven't yet decided what to do with the first one (the later Elegant actually that got worked upon first, four years ago). And there's a great Select to be bought also. All this while all my other cars are in various states of disrepair. Only my Consul was absolutely (well almost) OK, but when I returned from one of my trips in December, found someone had broken her left rear tailight cluster (the lenses and metal Base assembly) to pieces and bent the rear bumper into two, like an U. Turned out to be the handiwork of an Innova-driving lady in the neighbourhood!! Anyway, I'm motivated to take some time out for my cars now, after seeing you effort on MTP 8389. Superb.
Old 26th January 2009, 20:03   #150

Originally Posted by Prabal View Post
All this while all my other cars are in various states of disrepair.
Isn't it wonderful how excited we all get over a piddly li'l Fiat? In all cases the owners never pay as much attention or get as involved with other more "valuable" classics as they do with their Fiats.