Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 18th January 2009, 17:23   #1

Norton Manx Cafe Racer - Mumbai!

Did a search on Flickr.com for Nortons in Mumbai. Was completely blown away to find the Norton Manx, true Cafe Racer form, in a somewhat poor condition. Although its got everything like clipons, the round plate instead of a headlight, huge cafe tank, cafe seat, rearsets, dry clutch!!!

There are quite a few BSA Goldstar Cafe Racers, and I've always wanted to see the Norton Manx Cafe Racer.

Anyone has any details on this one?! I'm sure if it was in mint condition, it'd definitely be the best vintage bike in India.

Norton Manx Cafe Racer - Mumbai!-themanx.jpg

Source: Flickr.com
Album: India 2004/2005/2006 - a set on Flickr
Album Owner: me_flay Flickr: me_flay's Photostream
Old 18th January 2009, 18:24   #2

Contact Sajid in Mahim. He specializes in vintage bikes and restoring them. He might know this bike.
Old 19th January 2009, 08:40   #3

Read somewhere that one manx was sold for 16 lakhs in Mumbai.

P.S. Mods please move thread to Vintage & Classics > Post 1950.
Old 19th January 2009, 12:18   #4

Norton manx belong to a big collector in hyderabad he is collector of nortons singels and twins.
Old 19th January 2009, 13:11   #5

Originally Posted by lambrttacollect View Post
Norton manx belong to a big collector in hyderabad he is collector of nortons singels and twins.
This Norton Manx resided for many years in a small private collection belonging to an old hand of Motor sports in Mumbai. Then he sold it to an enthusiast and the pic shown was taken in his garage in Mumbai. But he sold it on for a fancy sum and is now in Hyderabad with the Norton collector.
Just thought that the story could be summed up in one post
Harit
Old 19th January 2009, 20:49   #6

The bike is unique in India as far as I know, and was in original running condition though with plenty of "character", to put it kindly. She made an appearance in a recent rally as well as BSM before being sold to Hyderabad. A fully blown racebike, she has no stand or kick (if I remember right), and I couldn't believe how light it was to hold. I could have (and almost did!) push it over with my little finger.

Pics from me over the weekend when I get home.
Old 19th January 2009, 22:54   #7

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
The bike is unique in India as far as I know, and was in original running condition though with plenty of "character", to put it kindly. She made an appearance in a recent rally as well as BSM before being sold to Hyderabad. A fully blown racebike, she has no stand or kick (if I remember right), and I couldn't believe how light it was to hold. I could have (and almost did!) push it over with my little finger.

Pics from me over the weekend when I get home.
Karl & Harit .... Yup the MANX. Ex Shrikant Karani . Previously owned by Mr. Ramesh Thakkar ? Mind you,it is a 350. What was the history behind the origin of this bike in India ? Brought by Sri Lankan racer and left behind ? I know some of the Goldies in Chennai and Calcutta were sold/left behind by the foreign racers.
Karl, yes that article of the Manx ( Atul Solanki in pictures ) with a Japanese bike.
The bike at present is in Hyderabad with my Very Dear friend. The bike at present has a big dent on the petrol tank, getting fixed at a local denter.

Probably the only surviving Manx in India.
Old 20th January 2009, 00:08   #8

Damn expensive but worth it. Wish we could have one of these.
Old 20th January 2009, 10:19   #9

Any more pics of it in its glory days? Or at a rally?
Old 20th January 2009, 19:14   #10

Originally Posted by Gordon View Post
Any more pics of it in its glory days? Or at a rally?
Ramesh Thakker had some old pics of him with the bike when he owned it, and won 350 and 500cc class, both on Manxs! Lemme see what I can wiggle out. He was really thrilled to see the bike again after 30 odd years at the rally.
Old 22nd January 2010, 13:12   #11

There have been better/rarer bikes in India, Gordon. Broughs, Vincents and even a Crocker up in the North East have been found and unfortunately, have made their way out of the country.
Old 22nd January 2010, 15:58   #12

Originally Posted by lambrttacollect View Post
You must be talking about Mr. Pappi Singh.

What a collector and a great human being he is, i had a chance to see the huge collection of bikes Mr Singh has, very passionate about his bikes, he's even named his Son NORTON SINGH

Man of many virtues, humble, and down to earth. And not to forget, extremely well maintained Bikes.

He owns many Norton's to put it on record.
Old 22nd January 2010, 17:06   #13

No the Norton went to Mr Ramalingam Rajoo erstwhile Satyam owner, and is still with him.
Old 22nd January 2010, 20:55   #14

Old pacemakers win hearts - dnaindia.com
The Hindu : Andhra Pradesh / Hyderabad News : City a hub of vintage beauties
The Hindu : Andhra Pradesh / Hyderabad News : Vintage ‘beauties’ cast a spell

So how many are there in the country? or is this the same bike they speak about. Is it registered cos it's only a race machine.
Old 23rd January 2010, 14:41   #15

Originally Posted by deutscheafrikar View Post
As far as my knowledge goes there is only one Manx left in India, in Hyderabad. It used to be in Bombay for sometime belonged to Mr Thakkar before that. I have heard a lot of stories about this bike from some big collectors in Bombay. Some claim that it is jinxed. If such a thing exists.
Also I think it was brought in from Sri Lanka originally. In India though it has very strong provenance. Its not registered.