Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

1,017,308 views Search this Thread
Old 24th May 2010, 00:53   #1741

When I saw this car for the first time even I was shocked and amazed. But late when I learnt more about it, it disappointed me a lot. There is nothing Fiat left in it ! And more hurting is the AUDI grill on a FIAT. The car has been modified well and to perfection, I must say that honestly, but the Complete Originality has been LOST. The fun and adventure of driving and oldy is below zero . I feel its insulting this wonderful Italian Brand, and the car (Fiat 1100) which has become a BRAND itself in INDIA.
Old 25th May 2010, 16:39   #1742

Originally Posted by Sujith1100 View Post
When I saw this car for the first time even I was shocked and amazed. But late when I learnt more about it, it disappointed me a lot. There is nothing Fiat left in it ! And more hurting is the AUDI grill on a FIAT. The car has been modified well and to perfection, I must say that honestly, but the Complete Originality has been LOST. The fun and adventure of driving and oldy is below zero . I feel its insulting this wonderful Italian Brand, and the car (Fiat 1100) which has become a BRAND itself in INDIA.
Hi Sujit i totally agree with you as it has lost all the originality of a fiat, and I heard this car is for sale.
Old 25th May 2010, 17:30   #1743

Originally Posted by beetle_boy View Post
Hi Sujit i totally agree with you as it has lost all the originality of a fiat, and I heard this car is for sale.
Are you serious? The owner sounded like he will NEVER EVER sell it on all the rallys.
Old 25th May 2010, 18:37   #1744

Originally Posted by beetle_boy View Post
Originally Posted by funkykar View Post
Are you serious? The owner sounded like he will NEVER EVER sell it on all the rallys.
Sell or Scarp !! If it was a FIAT then we can try to save it, but this car is an AUDI naa ! The AUDI **** CLUB BANGALORE(ACB) will take care of it.
Old 25th May 2010, 20:15   #1745

Originally Posted by Sujith1100 View Post
Sell or Scarp !! If it was a FIAT then we can try to save it, but this car is an AUDI naa ! The AUDI **** CLUB BANGALORE(ACB) will take care of it.
Arre yaar.. What are you saying?!

Whats wrong with this Audi faced Fiat?
1. It has a 118NE Nissan Engine.
2. The front grill is of Audi.
For these two reasons you say its not a FIAT and you are willing for this FIAT to get scrapped.

Solution:
All it needs is Rs.5000/- to become a good Fiat 1100 Delight.
1. Fiat 1100/ Premier Padmini engine from guijri. Rs.4500/-
2. A Delight grill from gujiri. Rs.500/-

Instead of sending this car to gujiri, get the above two parts from gujiri and fix them to this Delight.

I have a big heart for FIATs. I wish you too have little more mercy for FIATs.

Last edited by arun1100 : 25th May 2010 at 20:16.
Old 25th May 2010, 21:27   #1746

Originally Posted by arun1100 View Post
Arre yaar.. What are you saying?!

Whats wrong with this Audi faced Fiat?
1. It has a 118NE Nissan Engine.
2. The front grill is of Audi.
For these two reasons you say its not a FIAT and you are willing for this FIAT to get scrapped.

Solution:

Instead of sending this car to gujiri, get the above two parts from gujiri and fix them to this Delight.

I have a big heart for FIATs. I wish you too have little more mercy for FIATs.
You seem to be forgetting the labor costs Arun
Old 25th May 2010, 21:43   #1747

Originally Posted by funkykar View Post
You seem to be forgetting the labor costs Arun
He he true. I didn't include the labor costs as I was answering to Suji's post. He is a Automobile Engineer and I thought he will restore this Audi Fiat as a college project.
Old 25th May 2010, 22:05   #1748

He he true. I didn't include the labor costs as I was answering to Suji's post. He is a Automobile Engineer and I thought he will restore this Audi Fiat as a college project.
i am ready to work with sujith if any help required to restore Audi grill car to PURE FIAT CAR
Old 25th May 2010, 22:06   #1749

Originally Posted by Karthik1100 View Post
i am ready to work with sujith if any help required to restore Audi grill car to PURE FIAT CAR
I too will be curiously watching the project and helping you guys. Once the NE engine is off the car, I take it and run run and run.
Old 25th May 2010, 22:13   #1750

3. And all the other OH REE GEE NAL cosmetic stuff that you've been collecting to delight your padmini!
Old 26th May 2010, 01:01   #1751

That's the spirit boy!! Arun check out you must be having a FIAT logo on you heart. I agree to what Arun says this car doesn't deserve to be a scrap (I hope the owner is not reading this posts) guys think about the love he has for this car which made him to still keep the car. Do you think its wrong to have a car of your desire/taste. I agree originality also matters but folks we have all kinds of people under the sky.

I still love the car as I love any other Fiat/PP inspite of an Audi grill etc etc (I'm still wondering where did he procure the grille from apart from the cost). Job simply well done. (If this car come cheap then I am game)

Last edited by chanu : 26th May 2010 at 01:03.
Old 26th May 2010, 08:20   #1752

Originally Posted by chanu View Post
That's the spirit boy!! Arun check out you must be having a FIAT logo on you heart. I agree to what Arun says this car doesn't deserve to be a scrap (I hope the owner is not reading this posts) guys think about the love he has for this car which made him to still keep the car. Do you think its wrong to have a car of your desire/taste. I agree originality also matters but folks we have all kinds of people under the sky.

I still love the car as I love any other Fiat/PP inspite of an Audi grill etc etc (I'm still wondering where did he procure the grille from apart from the cost). Job simply well done. (If this car come cheap then I am game)
I totally agree with Chanu, we should respect the love of the car owner has for his car. He modified it as per his like, atleast he took effort in modernising the car, not like the parent company who left the model to die, if any one is to blame here is the parent company who made a such a wonderful car, but then left untouched.

The idea behind the modification has worked well, many are attracted to this car, and for while it comes to there mind if they too had a Fiat like this, leave those who just can envie nothing else.

Originality of the car was manitained by PAL also then what happened the car production stopped, still many Fiat owners have kept the original car, but what use no one take effort to peep in.

This is just my point of view, may hurt some, sorry for that.

Last edited by Mehul1100 : 26th May 2010 at 08:22.
Old 26th May 2010, 08:51   #1753

Originally Posted by chanu View Post
Assuming that's a genuine Audi grille, if the car is asked for without the grille then it is bound to come relatively cheap!

I hope it wasnt an all-original delight like yours before it was modded up though! Maybe it wasn't too original to begin with so the owner decided to go further?
But isnt the dashboard altered beyond "repair"? How to revert to the original if the car is to be restored back to originality?

Last edited by Stanher : 26th May 2010 at 08:57.
Old 26th May 2010, 09:04   #1754

The Infamous Audi Fiat is very much with the Owner Mr. Ananth. According to him, this car is not for sale and no way it will be restored back to originality. Mr. Ananth is very happy with the car. Personally, I too am very happy with this car.

Chanu: Looks like you are still tempted to buy more FIATs. First restore your cars to full glory and stock enough parts for them.

Stanher: LOL. If the Delight parts I have were surplus, I would surely donate them.

Mehul1100: Your "Innova like features" Padmini needs this type of modification.
Old 26th May 2010, 09:07   #1755

If I remember correctly, this owner has a habit of modifying/changing the complete look and feel of the car every 3-4 years.