Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 17th September 2009, 23:50   #301

No. S1's came with aluminium finish sticker type monogram. These cars had 3D sticker type monogram ( 3D as in, the sticker used to be laminated with some type of thick clear plastic. For your reference, Godrej refridgerators in the late 90's had that type of a sticker) with only Premier written on the top monogram which was rectangular and Deluxe in cursive and in an oval shaped cut monogram below it. Unfortunately, I don't have a photograph to show you all.

Adheesh
Old 18th September 2009, 14:27   #302

S1

Today me, Funkykar and Karthik1100 were on a Fiat Find Drive. Found some really interesting Fiats in Jayanagar (Biggest residential area in Asia!). Many pics coming soon.

First found one '37 model-Doctor owned '97 Model-S1 for Sale. Stunning condition- 28000 kms driven, recently re-painted, absolutely no rusts as always parked in covered parking. This S1 is his fifth Fiat starting with a Millecento. He is quoting One Lakh for it!! May be he not really willing to sell, so he is quoting that high as many people are forcing him to sell his car.
Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09739.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09740.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09741.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09743.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09744.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09746.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09747.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09748.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09750.jpg  

Old 18th September 2009, 14:40   #303

Originally Posted by funkykar View Post
My friend's friend has a Premier Padmini S1. He said it was one of the last few Fiats made by Premier and was purchased in 1998 (I think its 97 manufactured). He had pais 4+lacs for it. It has a factory fitted power steering he said. I couldnt get any more details. I should get some details and some pics. This could be for sale and I am interested and will be meeting him today. Car is supposedly in mint condition and original

I have never heard of any Padmini with factory fitted power steering. Can someone confirm if the last few Padmini's manufactured had power steering? Also, was it that expensive? 4+lakhs is really whopping.

An early reply will be much appreciated. I will keep checking this thread for next 2 hrs atleast
The information provided by my friend on the phone call wasnt fully correct. He doesnt have too much knowledge on Fiats. By the time Adheesh and Cyrus replied, myself and Arun1100 were pretty sure that my friend might have provided some wrong information (price and power steering). It doesnt have any power steering. I made yesterday's post only to confirm the information as I was intending to buy it if the information was correct. However, the chassis said 95 model S1. I am not sure why the doctor claims he got it new in 1998. He said after the company was closed, it was one of the left out ones Premier had and he manageed to get it somehow.

Nonetheless, its fully original and too very well maintained. I hadnt seen a better Fiat than this one till date. He was excited to know about the Club and will try and make it to the next meet/rally
Old 18th September 2009, 14:53   #304

Phew Arun, this is when we call a car immaculately maintained. The S1 really looks as if it is just out of the showroom. The engine bay is spic and span.

BTW when you mentioned "37 model-Doctor owned '97 Model-S1 for Sale." where you trying to highlight that the gentleman is 79 years old? If thats the case lol, different way of putting things and alongwith cataloging the cars now you folks have the owners background too. That's a thorough database.

Last edited by suren181 : 18th September 2009 at 14:57.
Old 18th September 2009, 15:06   #305

Originally Posted by arun1100 View Post
Today me, Funkykar and Karthik1100 were on a Fiat Find Drive. Found some really interesting Fiats in Jayanagar (Biggest residential area in Asia!). Many pics coming soon.
Oh yeah! after seeing the Doctor's S1, Arun1100 and Karthik1100 took me around Jayanagar and saw many more Fiats. We saw a decent condition S1 (Speedo read 35k kms, paint was pretty faded and bodyline was not too good) parked outside some house. All 3 of us were seeing the car in all angles. An old lady was furious that we might be thiefs or something and started shouting. She had some problem hearing, so couldnt understand what we were talking about. Then another lady came and checked what we were up to. We asked if they intended to sell it. It was a immediate no. She asked if we liked Fiat cars and asked us to drop our club contact information in their mail box.

I dont remember if Arun clicked pics of this car. However, he will upload some more pics of the Fiats we came accross in Jayanagar
Old 18th September 2009, 22:33   #306

Found this weird car. Is it a modded Padmini or a creative work of Starline? In some angle it looked like a Padmini..
Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09756.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09754.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09758.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09757.jpg  

arun1100 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th September 2009, 22:46   #307

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Arun1100 - I am attaching one picture of a Premier Safari which I took in 2007 in Ahmednagar.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Spotted this very similar looking Premier Safari. I guess these rounded lights were of original style.
Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc00124.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09761.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09762.jpg  

Old 18th September 2009, 23:00   #308

Wow guys, that's one hell of an expedition you seem to have had !! Keep posting those pics. The S1 really looks fabulous.
God knows how many more beauties lie hidden in various corners across the country..
BTW the 'weird car' Arun spotted, is not a starline, it's probably a local mod.
Old 18th September 2009, 23:05   #309

Found this weird car. Is it a modded Padmini or a creative work of Starline? In some angle it looked like a Padmini..
It definitely is Padmini based, but that is all I can say. No idea who built it.

Spotted this very similar looking Premier Safari. I guess these rounded lights were of original style.
Most wagons I have seen in Bombay and Pune had rectangular tail lights, very similar to Contessa units, but slightly rounded at the corners and had a thick black plastic border. This is the only picture I have, not clear enough unfortunately. Note the Starline badge on the side.

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-mze1043.jpg
Old 18th September 2009, 23:22   #310

Originally Posted by SuperSelect View Post
Wow guys, that's one hell of an expedition you seem to have had !! Keep posting those pics. The S1 really looks fabulous.
God knows how many more beauties lie hidden in various corners across the country..
BTW the 'weird car' Arun spotted, is not a starline, it's probably a local mod.
I have actually been finding so many good Padminis' recently which were hardly driven/used. Found around 4 Padminis' driven just around 30k kms (My 1991 Padmini too driven just 34000kms).
The best of them was a Padmini owned by Rajendra (owner of 103 TV) which is 1987 model CKP 2222 single owner, driven just 21000 kms.!!
Old 18th September 2009, 23:46   #311

[quote=SuperSelect;1490724]Wow guys, that's one hell of an expedition you seem to have had !! Keep posting those pics. The S1 really looks fabulous.
quote]

I can surely say this is a new beginning! We will fish out more and more Fiats from Bangalore and let you guys know
Old 19th September 2009, 11:55   #312

Finally Funkykar (Karthik) got a stunningly smooth S1.
Specs are:
1996 Feb
38000 kms
Original Paint
Delhi car owned by a reporter and re registered to Bangalore
Bucket Seats and Floor gear.
Some pics:
First Pic: Handing over the keys from previous owner to Karthik.
Sec Pic: From left to right. Karthik1100, Karthik and me.
Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09765.jpg  

Fiat 1100 Club - Bangalore [FCB]-dsc09766.jpg  

Old 19th September 2009, 12:46   #313

First found one '37 model-Doctor owned '97 Model-S1 for Sale. Stunning condition- 28000 kms driven, recently re-painted, absolutely no rusts as always parked in covered parking. This S1 is his fifth Fiat starting with a Millecento. He is quoting One Lakh for it!! May be he not really willing to sell, so he is quoting that high as many people are forcing him to sell his car.
The car is in very good condition indeed. The price quoted is quite steep and there are some observations.

Paint quality is good.

The reverse lights seem to be misaligned. its not in the original position.

The painter seems to have even put the monograms the other way. Since its arctic white and if you could get yourself another pair of monogram. You could change it and get touched up.

The front parking lights too are not the S1 ones.

In all a good car, im sure Bangalore has enough takers. Else.....

PS- Who said S1s are not in demand
Old 19th September 2009, 12:57   #314

Originally Posted by adheesh View Post
No. S1's came with aluminium finish sticker type monogram. These cars had 3D sticker type monogram ( 3D as in, the sticker used to be laminated with some type of thick clear plastic. For your reference, Godrej refridgerators in the late 90's had that type of a sticker) with only Premier written on the top monogram which was rectangular and Deluxe in cursive and in an oval shaped cut monogram below it. Unfortunately, I don't have a photograph to show you all.

Adheesh
Was it Premier Deluxe or Premier Executive ? Saw a car like that however all that remained was the base of the monogram.

PS- call wen u get free, guess you had something to say.
Old 19th September 2009, 13:43   #315

Finally Funkykar (Karthik) got a stunningly smooth S1.
He now owns the first and last model of Premier viz President and S1