Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 24th May 2011, 15:27   #361

Re: MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.

Very good going Manish.

Sounds like a plan!

Professional and methodic restoration.

Am watching this thread closely.
Old 24th May 2011, 17:33   #362

Originally Posted by President View Post
Very good going Manish.

Sounds like a plan!

Professional and methodic restoration.

Am watching this thread closely.
Thanks rony for the comments. You might have seen the pics elsewere.

I will update once the final tinkering is over as per painters satisfaction.

I have one big question. how to paint the engine block and exhaust manifold. they are to be red oxide painted. But will the common redoxide last for that much heat??

I checked high temperature paints and only silver and black are available. Please guide me.
Old 24th May 2011, 18:37   #363

Thats some serious threat to rust. I am sure that after all this treatment MPR won't see even a trace rust for the coming 15 yrs.
I think your car would be a show car when completed. Do post some pictures, if possible.

Last edited by samsag12 : 24th May 2011 at 18:38.
Old 25th May 2011, 08:15   #364

Originally Posted by samsag12 View Post
Thats some serious threat to rust. I am sure that after all this treatment MPR won't see even a trace rust for the coming 15 yrs.
I think your car would be a show car when completed. Do post some pictures, if possible.
I forgot in between we have yellow zinc primer also sprayed . By the way I was recommending you Rust guard on your thread, it is 500 INR / liter and will work wonders in rust proofing our car.
Old 25th May 2011, 10:07   #365

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
I forgot in between we have yellow zinc primer also sprayed . By the way I was recommending you Rust guard on your thread, it is 500 INR / liter and will work wonders in rust proofing our car.

Have you already painted the underside of the car in the body colour? If you haven't, then I would suggest that you leave it at that. Mercedes Pontons when new from the factory also came with the underside the same colour as the body, but subsequent restorations have done away with this, and have left it at the rust proofing compound (such as epoxy paint) as that binds much better than normal paint.

What I mean to say is, that the last coat which will be the paint will be the first to get affected by rust. Just my 2 bits.

Best Regards
Prithvi
mbz180 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th May 2011, 10:14   #366

Originally Posted by mbz180 View Post

Have you already painted the underside of the car in the body colour? If you haven't, then I would suggest that you leave it at that. Mercedes Pontons when new from the factory also came with the underside the same colour as the body, but subsequent restorations have done away with this, and have left it at the rust proofing compound (such as epoxy paint) as that binds much better than normal paint.

What I mean to say is, that the last coat which will be the paint will be the first to get affected by rust. Just my 2 bits.

Best Regards
Prithvi

Prithvi,

I am not getting you. what I have done is after cleaning applied rustolene, then yellow zinc primer then 3M underseal and finally paint. so for water to seep inside he has many layer of protection to go through.

The body color is only for cosmetic purpose.

Last edited by manishalive : 25th May 2011 at 10:15.
Old 25th May 2011, 10:20   #367

Prithvi,

I am not getting you. what I have done is after cleaning applied rustlene, then yellow zinc primer then 3M underseal and finally paint. so for water to seep inside he has many layer of protection to go through.
Your process is absolutely correct, but what I mean to say is that do not use normal body paint (NC or 2K) for the underside as the last coat. Use only epoxy based paint for the last coat. It binds much better to the previous layer.

At least that is what Bumpu Sircar insisted be done on my car, even though I wanted the body colour to be the final coat for the underside. With his experience, he must have a really good reason for insisting on epoxy paint.

Prithvi
Old 25th May 2011, 11:07   #368

Your process is absolutely correct, but what I mean to say is that do not use normal body paint (NC or 2K) for the underside as the last coat. Use only epoxy based paint for the last coat. It binds much better to the previous layer.

At least that is what Bumpu Sircar insisted be done on my car, even though I wanted the body colour to be the final coat for the underside. With his experience, he must have a really good reason for insisting on epoxy paint.

Prithvi
Oh yes I got you now. Epoxy paint is the best. I have seen its application in petochemical industry. Now after this, for cosmetic purpose we can spray the color of our choice. In your case it will not make any differnce cause you are painting the car black.
Old 25th May 2011, 11:15   #369

In your case it will not make any differnce cause you are painting the car black.
Yes, that is true. Indeed my car's body colour will be black.
Old 30th May 2011, 17:21   #370

Hello Manish Bhai,

Please have a look and suggest me on the anti rusts you are using. Currently the vehicle has been scrapped and undergoing tinkering work.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-w...ml#post2371397

Thanks in Advance,
Saleem
Old 2nd June 2011, 12:18   #371

This time on my visit to kolkata, I decided to have a spare day for looking for my Fiat parts.

I came in contact with mbz180 (Prithvi) and every thing was sorted out, his mechanic came along with me for the day. Tough we could not find much stuff there, but we managed to find one component which is holy grail for us Fiat lovers.

Original made in Italy fuel fump. After cleaning, this will be a looker.

I am thankful to Prithvi and his mechanic for such a lovely gift.

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-dsc09063.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-dsc09064.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-dsc09068.jpg
Old 2nd June 2011, 18:31   #372

This time on my visit to kolkata, I decided to have a spare day for looking for my Fiat parts.

I came in contact with mbz180 (Prithvi) and every thing was sorted out, his mechanic came along with me for the day. Tough we could not find much stuff there, but we managed to find one component which is holy grail for us Fiat lovers.

Original made in Italy fuel fump. After cleaning, this will be a looker.

I am thankful to Prithvi and his mechanic for such a lovely gift.
Thank you for the kind words Manish. I am glad you found something atleast. You are too kind though, my mechanic only pointed you to the right place I think. Always enthusiastic to help a fellow car nut, especially of the vintage and classic type

Best Regards
Prithvi
Old 3rd June 2011, 11:24   #373

Dear Manish:

Congrats on procuring a golden part. But how reliable is it?A fuel pump has to be in top notch condition!
Old 3rd June 2011, 15:48   #374

Thank you for the kind words Manish. I am glad you found something atleast. You are too kind though, my mechanic only pointed you to the right place I think. Always enthusiastic to help a fellow car nut, especially of the vintage and classic type

Best Regards
Prithvi
Prithvi it is very toughf these days to find original stuff for Fiat these days and then to find one is like finding the holy grail.

Originally Posted by EARTHed View Post
Dear Manish:

Congrats on procuring a golden part. But how reliable is it?A fuel pump has to be in top notch condition!
Well it is not working . But could you leave that Italian part!! no. I have dismantled and I only need to change the diaphragm for the same.

Can any one lead me the source for the diaphragm or for the comeplete refurbishing kit which ever is available, I will be grateful.
Old 9th July 2011, 18:32   #375

After a long time I am uptaing my thread, actually nothing seizable happened. And as usual I am hearing the "chalta hai" attitude of my mechanic. And then to get things done my way it takes time as I am only free on weekends.

First of all a big thanks to Indrojit for helping me with the fuel pump Diaphragm, which is the exact same part. I am excited, will test fit the part soon.

Now my mechanic has lost some small but key components like wheel cylinder spring, for which the project delayed. Now missing is the valve spring lock . Thank God list is small.

Comming to updates. As told earlier the underbody has been painted. 3M Under Sheild coating was used, here are the pics.

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-2.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-1.jpg

60% of mechanicals have been painted and assembled.

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-3.jpg

Those which were painted wrong or were shoddy looking were personally sanded by me and repainted.

This damper was painted black by the mechanic . I sanded it down to bare metal and then to have the same metalic blue shade.

The Logo / sticker / decal suggest the damper to be of 60-70's, good for me.

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-4.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-5.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-6.jpg

I took all the brackets, bolts, nuts and other stuff which was originally zinc coated for galvanizing. next set of photos denote the transformation.

The first two picture is of Dismantled original head light ring for Ravi bhau aka Superselect on the forum. Also the pictures denote the original fiat fasteners.

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-7.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-8.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-9.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-10.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-11.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-12.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-13.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-14.jpg

Today was the day of engine assembly, which has been postponed for a day as lot of prep work was required. As a sample I buffed the Inlet manifold and showed to the mechanic, which as usual was a waste of time for him.

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-15.jpg

MPR 4142, 1959 Fiat 103D Select Restoration.-16.jpg

Yesterday I will be assembling the engine , will use all the special tools also.

Last edited by manishalive : 9th July 2011 at 18:34.
manishalive is offline   (1) Thanks