Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 23rd April 2012, 19:45   #76

re: Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Ok so the car is ready. Posting a sneak peek pic with better pics of the interiors etc to follow......
@ Amol - may i have the Fial1100 logo now??
Lovely car, just ready in time to take wifey for a spin to celebrate..........
I had somewhere a Fiat 600 Logo, I'll get another Fiat 500 logo made, then you'll have full 1100

Now you have to start work on your splitty and others

Cheers harit
harit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2012, 19:51   #77

Googi Praji,

You bring lot of cheers to us Fiat lovers. More so to me beacuse this is the shade of green I had decided to do up my Fiat also. Great job. kudos for an excellent result. Loving every bit of her.
manishalive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2012, 19:54   #78

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Lovely car, just ready in time to take wifey for a spin to celebrate..........
Anytime sirji, ANYTIME!

I had somewhere a Fiat 600 Logo, I'll get another Fiat 500 logo made, then you'll have full 1100
..actually just imagine it!!

Now you have to start work on your splitty and others

Cheers harit
Yessir with your help of course.

@ Amol, you still owe me a ride in your 500....if wifey lets you touch it of course
Old 24th April 2012, 16:51   #79

Here we are with the pics as promised.
So there are many things to be done. The rear seat net, the rear door pockets, the rear seat overhead grab handles etc etc , many small things, many of them to be procured, some more important ones already sorted out, Thanks To Ronny, Karlji, Amol, Pavan Kadam,... A big big thanks to all of you.

Although i thought that his seat design was not the one cut out for this car, appears that the original seat found below was of this design so i decided to keep it that way. My seat guy said he had also seen cars with this design and that the way it was stitched to the seat, it is the original design.
Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02186-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02187-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02189-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02190-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02192-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02196-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02193-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02202-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02194-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02198-small.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02201.jpg  

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02195-small.jpg  

V-16 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th April 2012, 17:08   #80

These are the pics of the original seat material and design found stitched upon by another cover.

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-photo0092.jpg
Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-photo0102.jpg
Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-photo0103.jpg
Old 24th April 2012, 19:43   #81

Changa hai sirjee (thats the only compliment I know in Punju, sorry! )

Man, what a transformation! Only one with immense patience and passion could undertake such a brave restoration!

I almost shudder to think what would've happened had my mech. not spotted & informed me about this car that day and/or if you hadnt decided to brave picking it up even without the papers (yet)...that itself would've been a reason for anyone to ditch the idea or scrap the car even after picking it up! I can say I would have (had the car been mine) as it seemed hopeless at one point thanks to the delay for what seemed like eternity from the ex-owner!

The seat cover design seems unique assuming it is an original pattern. Looks good on the car nevertheless.

Are the tail-lamp lenses imported (going by the markings on them?)

Last edited by Stanher : 24th April 2012 at 19:46.
Old 24th April 2012, 20:29   #82

I'm soooo.. GREEN with envy. Fantastic job
I have so many questiosn but then other also need to use forum TOO.
When can we get to see her.

Raab rakha.
ariesonu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th April 2012, 20:31   #83

So there are many things to be done. The rear seat net, the rear door pockets, the rear seat overhead grab handles etc etc, many small things, many of them to be procured, some more important ones already sorted out, Thanks To Ronny, Karlji, Amol, Pavan Kadam,... A big big thanks to all of you.

Although i thought that his seat design was not the one cut out for this car, appears that the original seat found below was of this design so i decided to keep it that way. My seat guy said he had also seen cars with this design and that the way it was stitched to the seat, it is the original design.
Super, Gogiji!

Yes, the seat pattern is very much correct for the 54/56 cars, here is a sample from my 55. Have also confirmed it with 2 other original seats, yours is the third, so we can be quite sure now. It also matches period literature.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vinta...ml#post2710681

Please note the seat came with no net on these models - there is no cavity itself for it. I think even the rear seat sits lower than the other models. Even the rear door panels should not have pockets, only a plain trim.

I would suggest you match the indicator lever box to the colour of the steering wheel. I think the whole column should be in the same colour. Also interchange the position of the two meters.

And please help me with material for the top/headliner

Now looking forward to seeing all 3 Fiats attend a forthcoming meet!
karlosdeville is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th April 2012, 08:06   #84
KPS

I am curious to know what is the correct position of the meters.

In V-16 car the Speedo is on the left and Fuel/Oil meter on the right

The the blue car in post 38 in the same thread the meter placement is the other way round

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dsc02194-small.jpg

Another Fiat - The Restoration of a 1956 Millicento-dukkar-2.jpg

I would tend to go with V-16's meter positions since we have the pictures of the meters as originally seen. But I stand to be corrected.

KPS
Old 25th April 2012, 09:11   #85

Originally Posted by KPS View Post
I would think the speedo should be on the right - had mentioned it in my last post.

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Also interchange the position of the two meters.
EDIT - I just checked 4 original reference cars, 2 had it on the left, and 2 had it on the right! Can the gurus shed some light?

Last edited by karlosdeville : 25th April 2012 at 09:13.
Old 25th April 2012, 09:13   #86

So there are many things to be done. The rear seat net, the rear door pockets, the rear seat overhead grab handles etc etc , many small things, many of them to be procured, some more important ones already sorted out, Thanks To Ronny, Karlji, Amol, Pavan Kadam,... A big big thanks to all of you.

Superb restoration Gogi ji, the car's very precisely restored to its original glory. I am surprised to see most of the OH RE GEE NAL( i hope i spelled correctly Rony sir ) fittings.

Originally Posted by KPS View Post

In V-16 car the Speedo is on the left and Fuel/Oil meter on the right

The the blue car in post 38 in the same thread the meter placement is the other way round

Attachment 920061

Attachment 920062

I would tend to go with V-16's meter positions since we have the pictures of the meters as originally seen. But I stand to be corrected.

KPS
I think the positioning of meters of blue car is correct. Karl too has mentioned this in his previous post indicating Gogi ji to interchange their positions.
samsag12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2012, 22:00   #87

Ahh - a Fiat in all her glory !! She's looking wonderful, Gogi - great job done
I still remember seeing 'AIA' in one of the old threads and longing to be able to get my hands on her - I wasn't on team-BHP then, and didn't know anyone at all.

Do we get to see her this Sunday ??
Old 30th April 2012, 10:58   #88

Great outcome Gogiji and many congratulations. The body colour choice is excellent and the upholstery colour complements it very well.

A question for my own curiosity; in a lot of older cars, as the door pads loose there ability to be clipped on properly onto the metal part of the doors, the pads tend to come away and eventually due to the original clips loosing their temper, holes have to be made in the metal and the pads have to be held by screws. It doesn't look all the good but that's what I've seen in a lot of cars.

How does one get back to the original way of the pad being flush with the metal being retained by clips? Is it just the new pads that will do the job or do you need to make new clips as well?

mbz180
mbz180 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2012, 14:45   #89

Very nicely turned out. Since you had electrical problems, you could have brought her on a flatbed for the Fiat event. This car is used to taking "Lifts"(refer to page 1 to understand.)
I hope that you kept those accessory tail light guards, very valuable.
This car turned out very nice.

Cheers harit
harit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th April 2012, 23:20   #90

Vow Gogs! Congrats!
Awesome colour shade and superbly restored. Looks so unique and pretty. Now, its time to get all the different Dukkars together for a meet.
FCCCI-Mumbai will be proud to display them in so many different shades.

Last edited by President : 30th April 2012 at 23:21.
President is offline   (1) Thanks