Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 20th November 2010, 22:05   #16

The paint removal has started after the Eid holidays..
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0139a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0140a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0141a.jpg  

Old 21st November 2010, 20:17   #17

Glad to see the progress on the scoot. Hope the rust spots doesn't show up this time. Do post the details of the paint and preparation material used.
Old 25th November 2010, 21:20   #18

Paint removal has been completed and i am very happy with the quality of work that is being done.
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-copy-img00023201011171955.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-copy-img00024201011171956.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-copy-img00025201011171956.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-copy-img00026201011171956.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img00023201011171955.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img00028201011171958.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img00027201011171956.jpg  

Old 25th November 2010, 21:32   #19

Great Job..

Hey you have got a great job going.. I love these scooters.. Right now i am in process of getting a vijay super.. Will post pictures if it works out.. Cogratulations again!!
Old 26th November 2010, 08:33   #20

Salman bhai the painter seems to understand your instructions very carefully. The stripping of paint to bare metal is a welcome move & will help keep your scoot rust free. He must have used some sort of thinner type material after scraping the old paint. Any pointers on that. BTW whats the progress on the engine.
Old 7th December 2010, 20:15   #21

Any update on the scooter restoration Salman bhai. Has the process involving paint work started.
Old 7th December 2010, 20:17   #22

Paint will start from tommorow. Come over and have a look .
Old 7th December 2010, 22:18   #23

Great progress happening there. Is it difficult to get spares for these kind of vehicles ? Is all the documentation in order?
Old 10th December 2010, 15:50   #24

Paint Job Completed

The paint job has been completed . Assembly starts from tommorow. I require a set of side rubber/beadings ,if anyone has some kindly send a PM
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0176a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0177a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0178a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0179a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0180a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0181a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0182a.jpg  

Old 10th December 2010, 18:03   #25

Re: 3 recent acquisitions - A Lambertta and 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 lam

So finally the color is revealed. nice choice of shades. Sorry couldn't meet you on 7th was busy with the insurance guys who ruined almost 4 days. Whats the plan for the Vespa duos. Hope you are going to restore them soon.
BTW whats the update on the Fiat acquisition. Did you managed to find a good example. I see the advocate's delight everyday on my way and recently its lost its headlight ring and the roof scooped. I hope you got as to which car i am referring here. I am seriously thinking of vandalizing it.

Last edited by samsag12 : 10th December 2010 at 18:06.
Old 10th December 2010, 18:07   #26

Re: 3 recent acquisitions - A Lambertta and 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 lam

He is not willing to sell , i asked him . Am in Lucknow for the next few days , come and see something else that i have just bought , very interesting !

ps - Selling the vespa"s , no place for parking left

Last edited by wbd8779 : 10th December 2010 at 18:11.
Old 10th December 2010, 18:16   #27

So is he willing to restore it. If so i can help him out with parts and labour. Its just another piece of marvel nearing its grave day by day. Till when are you in Lko. Hey and whats the surprise. Really impatient to view it. will call you sometime.
Old 15th December 2010, 11:47   #28

Assembly Has started

The final Assembly has started from yesterday , should be completed by the weekend. I was surprised when there was no response for the request for some beading rubbers that i had made in the last post , c mon guys have we all become dealers now and are not willing to share stuff ?

For the record i have a huge inventory of Lambretta LI spares with me,and would welcome any enthusiast who wishes to get a critical part, but the rubbers that i have were manufactured in 1969 and have become brittle.
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0195a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0197a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0198a.jpg  

Old 16th December 2010, 23:00   #29

Assemby in full swing !

The final assembly work is going on in full swing , and it WILL be completed by Sunday.

WIP Pics, i have procured a new complete beading set today for the princely sum of rs 120/- .
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0212a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0214a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0215a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0218a.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-img0217a.jpg  

Old 17th December 2010, 10:54   #30

Am glad to see the progress made on the Lambretta. Work is surely on a fast pace it seems. BTW did you got the engine done (opened) up too and congrats on the rubber beading. What brand paint and material did you used. Is it 2K shade.
PS: Your thread name states Lambertta instead of Lambretta. If possible please correct it.

Last edited by samsag12 : 17th December 2010 at 10:55.