Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 26th December 2010, 11:26   #31

Re: 3 recent acquisitions - A Lambertta and 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 lam

Salman bhai any update on the Scooter. I hope it must have been put together and test driven. Do share some update.
Old 28th December 2010, 15:09   #32

Restoration complete

Finally , The restoration of the Laam has been completed . Some small details still remain to be fixed but that would be done over a period of time . All the major tin work / mechanical s are 100% complete . The scoot will go for a rubbing / polishing job day after.

Enjoy the pics.

First Pic is of the restoration team - Workshop owner + Mechanics all the work was done at Mores Power Lucknow .
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta5.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta6.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta7.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta8.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta9.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta2.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta3.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta4.jpg  

Old 28th December 2010, 15:41   #33

Re: 3 recent acquisitions - A Lambertta and 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 lam

CONGRATS BHAI The vehicle is gleaming and thanking you profusely for restoring her back. It's so nostalgic since it reminded me of my childhood when Dad use to take us all around during Sunday evenings. We had a lambertta and Vijay Super. I kick action and sound from 'silencer' is something i can never forget with these scootees... Golden Days !!!!

Your efforts to restore these evergreen beauties speaks volume of your passion.
Old 28th December 2010, 15:46   #34

Congratulations Wbd.....

Wonderful.....came out pretty neat.
Regards to your mechanic team too.

Old 28th December 2010, 16:19   #35

Re: Restoration complete

Hey thats a very neat job done on this Lambretta.. After polishing she would shine like anything.. Congratulations.. Do you have all the required fittings and cosmetics or they are being procured??
Old 28th December 2010, 19:33   #36

Great job indeed and i am sure it would gleam after the rubbing polishing job. Kudos to the team who restored this Italiano.
Old 29th December 2010, 08:05   #37

Nice outcome, I like the colour and am sure once the rubbing, polishing is done she will be princess of the road. I am left with doubt, what is that bracket (I have circled in red) please clarify.
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambret.jpg  

Old 29th December 2010, 08:38   #38

Bala bhai it looks some sort of lever to keep the clutch handle pressed with out troubling ones hand. I may be wrong though but this is what i understand after viewing the pics. Salman bhai please clear this thing.

Last edited by samsag12 : 29th December 2010 at 08:40.
Old 29th December 2010, 09:50   #39

The original gear selector bracket is broken at the point where the clutch lever is attached . This i think was a common complaint in the Lambretta"s .. the cover that u see is a period accessory by which you can fix the clutch lever without changing the entire bracket. This is some sort of "OE Jugaad "

And thank you all for the kind words .

Priyadarshan B - Yes i have all the fittings with me . But since the vehicle will now be stored since i will be out of the country dint want to put the cosmetic bits on .

Last edited by wbd8779 : 29th December 2010 at 09:53.
Old 17th March 2011, 20:56   #40

The new owner did not like the colour combo , so had it resprayed.

Fresh Pics
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambetta1.jpg  

3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-lambretta2.jpg  

wbd8779 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th July 2011, 23:58   #41

Ah! the new shade looks fantastic, any more updates?
Old 19th July 2011, 10:30   #42

I liked the earlier shade better. It looked more classy than this red one. I am going to consider that shade when i start restoration of my lambretta next month.

Priyadarshan
Old 20th July 2011, 08:53   #43

Originally Posted by wbd8779 View Post
The new owner did not like the colour combo , so had it resprayed.

Fresh Pics
The new colour looks quite close to the original shade coral red offered by lambretta. What code was it? Here is a period image for your reference.
3 recent acquisitions - A Lambretta & 2 Vespas. Update: restoration of 1973 Lambretta-li150seriesii.jpg  

Old 20th July 2011, 16:31   #44

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
The new colour looks quite close to the original shade coral red offered by lambretta. What code was it? Here is a period image for your reference.
Can"t say which colour code off hand , but i was looking for a "post office Red " shade and this kind of matched the best . In fact the scooter was sold since i moved abroad and dint wish to see it deteriorating with lack of care/space , but i am happy that it has found a good home with a well known collector of Lucknow and a forum member
Old 8th January 2012, 07:33   #45

Unbelievable work. I so wish I could own one of these. (lambys). Love the Red and White combo.