Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 8th July 2010, 21:16   #1

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration

To be fair to why we arent progressing with the contessa project(http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...ml#post1973564) , i would like to show you guys some teasers of the w126 we have been busy with. I will post full pics only after the car is complete!

Well the car was a mess, she was rotting away in one corner when we decided lets do her up and get her to her glory days again, the exteriors were bad and the interiors were worse.
The rust you see is only tip of the iceberg i dont have the pics while the car was in bad shape, anyway,we did the patchwork, removed the windshield overhauled the brakes, rechecked the wiring, trying to get the sun roof working for the exteriors. We also redid the wood work, the interiors, dashboard, every switch and knob, even the speedometer, everything was opened up..
The car..(wait for it) was painted at least 6 times over and over again previously with rust popping up from places, the paint was stripped down to bare metal base. The car was then painted using very high quality Glasurit paint and lacquer on a 2k primer base, she is awaiting polish now.
Some pics .

P.S. Sorry i couldn't post the pics in the manner i wanted they just came random.
My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p9010050.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010013.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010021.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010020.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010004.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010007.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010012.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010023.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010015.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010014.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010001.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-a4-print.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-a4toprint.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010011.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010003.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010022.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010005.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010016.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010026.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010018.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010024.jpg  

My Mercedes W126 500 SEL restoration-p1010028.jpg  

Last edited by konjaril : 8th July 2010 at 21:21.
konjaril is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th July 2010, 21:26   #2

The outer shell seems to have come out very well...why the mystery ?? It seems like it is going to be another brilliant restoration !!

All the best

Old 8th July 2010, 21:54   #3

Originally Posted by Ricky_63 View Post
The outer shell seems to have come out very well...why the mystery ?? It seems like it is going to be another brilliant restoration !!

All the best

hi ricky. well i didnt want to show the whole car just to build up the suspense. he he.
Anyways its not only the outer shell, the interiors of the cars were in bits and pieces. After the carpets and all come in its gonna look delicious.. i am sorry i am just too overwhelmed!
Old 8th July 2010, 22:49   #4

Nice work there.
Are you still working on it or is it already on road
Upload some interiors pics man.
Old 9th July 2010, 06:32   #5

Excellent Restoration Man, you seem to be heading in creating a new award for your restoration projects,

The car looks in great shape from whatever I can gather from the teasers, but for god sake, pls start the movie, its really bad to see just the teasers and then go in a hibernation for a long time,

Great going, Am really loving your work.
Old 9th July 2010, 06:39   #6

the gloss is awesome.
Old 9th July 2010, 14:06   #7
evo

brilliant stuff. Just seeing a rusted old car turn into gleaming painted steel is a brilliant feeling. Looking forward to the rest of it.
Old 9th July 2010, 14:46   #8

waiting! pls post the whole restoration and pics soon!
Old 10th July 2010, 11:46   #9

Awsome restoration man, The pictures are indicative of the efforts you put in this restoration. Great job.
Old 10th July 2010, 12:10   #10

My favorite all-time Mercedes! Subscribed to this thread and eagerly awaiting updates.

1. Could you please upload exterior pictures of the car? It'll greatly help the BEFORE & AFTER comparos.

2. What would be the approximate cost of a high quality W126 restoration? 4 lakhs?
Old 10th July 2010, 12:10   #11

hats off to you on taking the challenge to build a car like the mercedes w126.
seeing the post restoration pictures i would have never touched a 126 in this condition.i dont even let the company service advisors to open the door pad or any electricals as it is difficult to fix them back & you are sure to have broken clips & locks.
awaiting the finished car.
Old 10th July 2010, 12:37   #12

GTO its most unlikely to be around 4 lakhs if konjaril is going for all original Mercedes parts.looking at the the rotors ,underbody rust,& the interiors it seems to be a night mare.
the engine bay looks very clean with all possible parts in the bay.
painting is acheivable but the detailing to perfection on the w126 is very difficult specially if you are a very particular person.
i can feek what konjaril is going through.please make sure there is no compromise on anything because opening of the same part again & again will reduce the part life.

2. What would be the approximate cost of a high quality W126 restoration? 4 lakhs?
Old 10th July 2010, 13:14   #13

I always have a thought in my corner of mind to buy a classic or 1980/90s mercs and have it as my daily drive.But i cant imagine running behind mechs and spares for it.

But some day or the other i will own one

All the best or the restoration Konjaril !! get us more pics too
Old 10th July 2010, 13:27   #14

Nice car to work on..wish u the very best with the restoration. I have a question for you though.. What bike is that in the background in one of the pics..It looks like a modded Indian bike because I have'nt really seen such a rear end in any bike available now..kindly enlighten..thanks!
Old 10th July 2010, 14:00   #15

Hi!

The bodywork and painting is coming up very nicely. Seeing the state of the car, I was wondering whether you managed to sort electrics and mechanicals before starting on the body. I fear that if you have not, these would give you a headache later on.
Please ensure that you use original parts, get a set of the major rubbers to be used while assemblying the car.
My guess that restoration costs will be 6L +.

Cheers harit

Last edited by harit : 10th July 2010 at 14:06.