Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 21st August 2010, 11:42   #1
BHPian

Norton H16 Guidance Needed

Dear friends i have started the restoration of my Norton H 16 bike, as i have never done any Norton before, i need the suggestions as to what bike is it civilian or militiary and what paint codes etc the bike was garaged since many decades as the owner left India for Good, almost all parts intact including the windscreen and rims are original Dunlop made in England,i wish to make it as close to as it was when born,so let me know/suggest where should i start from,i wish to add a side car to the bike
here are some pics
Attached Thumbnails
Norton H16 Guidance Needed-9.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-8.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-1.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-2.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-3.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-4.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-5.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-6.jpg  

Norton H16 Guidance Needed-7.jpg  

Old 21st August 2010, 11:47   #2
BHPian

the chassis has a no

any information ,pls suggest year etc
Old 21st August 2010, 11:49   #3
BHPian

You have a nice piece of treasure there Inder, seeing its condition restoring it to pristine condition will take some effort. For starters try and get hold of the service manual from Haynes/eBay or any other place you can. Run through it completely and then plan the resurrection. These bikes very simple as compared to the ones in the market today. In case any simple parts are missing or have gone bad, they can be fabricated. For the more complex ones eBay is a good source to start your hunt.

Best of luck, looking forward to this restoration project.
Old 21st August 2010, 13:16   #4
Senior - BHPian