Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 18th February 2011, 13:23   #31

Re: The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)

I know!! I know!! I've seen in the Scooty pep ad. I liked the colour very much. Karl does the car have some chrome strip or grille on this car? BMU reg very much Mumbaikar rather Bombay, thanks for sharing this beauty.
Old 22nd February 2011, 23:14   #32

Originally Posted by Mohammed4rmhyd View Post
Hello ,

Try ur luck .. theres an opened up car in Banjara Hills,location details...Black gate next to Grand ma's Bakery in Zehra Nagar..its usually locked.. chk for the owner in the bakery

Hi again,

If ur search is still on for a body/parts car... please pm me or get in touch, theres one more I know of.Good luck
Old 24th February 2011, 17:25   #33

Originally Posted by Mohammed4rmhyd View Post
Hi again,

If ur search is still on for a body/parts car... please pm me or get in touch, theres one more I know of.Good luck
Cheers on the efforts extended by you Mohammed. Truly appreciated.

Apologies for not being able to post earlier, but i have acquired a well maintained Morris which has been under shelter for 12 yrs approx. Its even got the original seats, meters , distributor and fuel lid unlike my previous acquisition. As i speak, parts are being interchanged between the 2 cars to make one complete set. Once the car is brought to running condition, the process of stripping it down and restoring the beauty shall begin.

To everyone, here's the current update

Dunno if i got a fair deal for a vehicle without papers but the anticipation to get a Morris buzzing about town took the better of me.

Thoughts running through my mind right now are
  1. Color - I'm thinking of Glacier Blue with a white roof or a full wine red paint job.
  2. Chrome parts restoration - need to find a truly good restorer for chrome parts, one who can solder the pits and dents before chrome plating again and polishing it to glory
  3. Sephamore traficators - should i buy or not buy with the full working mechanism.I'm somewhat skeptical about them popping out whilst using the turn indicators and getting broken by a biker riding next to the car out of shock when it pops out in his face,lol.
  4. Wooden steering wheel restoration - both the wheels are chipped. Dont know what to opt for in this case. As much as i want to restore them in original condition, I've not found a carpenter who can do the job yet.
  5. Dad's very enthusiastic about driving this car about as a daily driver and I'm pondering on every thing that has to be checked for reliability
I'm actually away from Hyderabad at the moment and shall post pics of this beauty once i get back.Cheers once again to everyone showing their interest and support of this thread's happenings .

Arun

Edit :
I shall post all the extra parts available with me once the swaps are complete for the build. I'm keeping hold of the SU-carbs and jalwa horn though :-).

Last edited by absynthguzzler : 24th February 2011 at 17:27.
Old 24th February 2011, 17:55   #34

Originally Posted by absynthguzzler View Post
  1. Color - I'm thinking of Glacier Blue with a white roof or a full wine red paint job.
  2. Sephamore traficators - should i buy or not buy with the full working mechanism.I'm somewhat skeptical about them popping out whilst using the turn indicators and getting broken by a biker riding next to the car out of shock when it pops out in his face,lol.
  3. Wooden steering wheel restoration - both the wheels are chipped. Dont know what to opt for in this case. As much as i want to restore them in original condition, I've not found a carpenter who can do the job yet.
I would recomend a single tone colour for your Minor - I doubt they were offered locally with two tone colours.
Nothing like it if you can source the semaphores, just be careful using them.
Steering wheel was never wood - the core is metal and the rim was plastic/bakelite. Get it reshaped in mseal/filler and painted over.
Old 25th February 2011, 13:29   #35

i have acquired a well maintained Morris which has been under shelter for 12 yrs approx. Its even got the original seats, meters , distributor and fuel lid unlike my previous acquisition. As i speak, parts are being interchanged between the 2 cars to make one complete set. Once the car is brought to running condition, the process of stripping it down and restoring the beauty shall begin.
Hi Arun

I dont know what you paid for the parts car, but I think its cheapest to buy all Minor parts from England, they are still being produced new and they are quite cheap. Minors are only second to the Beetle in Cult following and there is a huge replica parts business as well for instance I saw a minor steering for 100 dollars on one of these sites, why waste your time restoring one.

here' a link for the steering price just as an indication http://morrisminorspares.co.uk/shop/...214501c938c15d

regards
Amol

Last edited by the mole : 25th February 2011 at 13:32.
Old 26th February 2011, 13:14   #36

Sorry for the OT post in this thread, but as this seems to be the most current on Morris Minors at the moment I hope it's not too out of place. I saw a white two-door MM Series II a couple of days back, being driven by an elderly gent near the RSI, Poona. The number was something like BYO 5092 or thereabouts - am bad with remembering numbers! I tried taking a snap but the Nokia had other ideas!! She looked like a daily-driver and in long-term ownership. Karl, do you know the subject?!
Old 26th February 2011, 13:34   #37

Originally Posted by the mole View Post
Hi Arun

I dont know what you paid for the parts car, but I think its cheapest to buy all Minor parts from England, they are still being produced new and they are quite cheap. Minors are only second to the Beetle in Cult following and there is a huge replica parts business as well for instance I saw a minor steering for 100 dollars on one of these sites, why waste your time restoring one.

here' a link for the steering price just as an indication ESM Morris Minor Spares

regards
Amol
Cheers on the link Amol. I have visited ESM a fair few times for parts which i feel cannot be restored. I am a huge DIY freak and love the whole process of getting things sorted on your own without taking the remove and refit options.

Another way to put it is , i prefer to opt and pay for services that do a professional job in restorations and retain the original part which came with the car.

I'm not aiming for a concourse finish at the end of the day and lets hope the charm in getting this car done up gives me more pride than driving it one day .
Old 26th February 2011, 15:02   #38

Originally Posted by Prabal View Post
Sorry for the OT post in this thread, but as this seems to be the most current on Morris Minors at the moment I hope it's not too out of place. I saw a white two-door MM Series II a couple of days back, being driven by an elderly gent near the RSI, Poona. The number was something like BYO 5092 or thereabouts - am bad with remembering numbers! I tried taking a snap but the Nokia had other ideas!! She looked like a daily-driver and in long-term ownership. Karl, do you know the subject?!
The car is probably owned from new, and used every Sunday to visit the church, religiously (pun intended). It is completely original from what I can see, and in excellent condition. A heartening sight to see the couple ride around in it. It is BMC registered. Check post # 1108 here.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/vintag...ml#post2226003
Old 27th March 2011, 23:23   #39

i have acquired a well maintained Morris which has been under shelter for 12 yrs approx. Its even got the original seats, meters , distributor and fuel lid unlike my previous acquisition. As i speak, parts are being interchanged between the 2 cars to make one complete set. Once the car is brought to running condition, the process of stripping it down and restoring the beauty shall begin.
I happened to make a trip to the place today, where 'curvy' is being restored. On Arun's behalf, here is an update with 'some' pics. from yours truly!

Curvy, in the middle of the stripdown:

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8573.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8581.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8578.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8575.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8577.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8579.jpg

The rust sure is bad on the body/chassis.

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8580.jpg

Note the surprisingly intact original pedal rubber (with the 'M' on it)!

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8593.jpg

Also noticed for the first time the "Addisons Madras" plate on a Minor! I was aware that the very first Minors (the 'low-lights') were assembled by Addisons but didnt know the post 1950 Minors were too! So it was probably much later that Hindustan began assembling them (maybe starting with the 'Tiger')

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-curvy01.jpg

The donor bodyshell- this is really complete and came with more or less everything that the original car lacks- including all 4 hubcaps! It even has what looks like the original 'Furflex' door seals intact, although not reusable! So plans are on to procure them (and also glass beadings etc.) from the UK.

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8588.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8582.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-partsmm.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8584.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8586.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8587.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8589.jpg

And...no prizes for guessing what car's gearbox it came with!

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8597.jpg

The only old car i ever really wanted! (1953 4-door Morris Minor)-img_8595.jpg
Old 28th March 2011, 08:51   #40

Its a pleasure to see Morris being worked upon. Thanks a lot Shyam bhai for updating this thread. I am hooked to this restoration.
I hope you have taken the custody of that Herald GB or the owner has some other plans for it.
Old 28th March 2011, 09:49   #41

A wonderful car in a very sad state. Glad to see you are restoring the classic. I will be glued to this thread from now on :-)
Old 18th July 2012, 16:18   #42

I just came across this thread and see that there have been no updates for a while. What is the current status of 'Curvy'? Please do update and post pictures.

Thank you in advance,

Srinand.
Old 18th July 2012, 17:01   #43

Originally Posted by srinand View Post

I just came across this thread and see that there have been no updates for a while. What is the current status of 'Curvy'? Please do update and post pictures.

Thank you in advance,

Srinand.
Hi Srinand,

The donor car's body has been sand blasted and primer-ed for safe keeping, whilst the workshop owner awaits for an auto show to be scheduled in Hyderabad. No!, im serious, unless there's an auto show, Prabhu( New Mars) refuses to work on this car when the pressure for quality is not present.

Apart from that, all mechanical parts, interior and body trims have been procured from UK . Whats left from my end is finding a good chrome pitting and plating guy. If i don't find one, ill have to end up choosing "spray chrome" .

So until the next Hyd Auto Expo is scheduled....................... you and me shall be kept waiting .

On a side note: the donor vehicle might be getting a Fibreglass body and kept alive . Maybe plonk in a 1.8 Conti engine into it as well and have a sleeper clone .
absynthguzzler is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th July 2012, 17:20   #44

Hi Absynthguzzler,

Thank you for the quick response. I have a couple of questions. Did your donor car not come with mechanicals? Why do you want to put in a Conti engine? I too have a Morris Minor whose restoration is happening, but its a very slow process as i intend to do most things on my own, you can see it here;

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/post-w...ion-dream.html

On the other hand i sure hope you have an auto show asap .

I did buy some parts from Bull Motif - Morris Minor Spares Specialist - Morris Minor Parts - Classic Car Spares and they were collected by a friend who was there at the time. I found their services and products very good. Where did you buy your parts from in UK?

regards,

Srinand.

Hi Srinand,

The donor car's body has been sand blasted and primer-ed for safe keeping, whilst the workshop owner awaits for an auto show to be scheduled in Hyderabad. No!, im serious, unless there's an auto show, Prabhu( New Mars) refuses to work on this car when the pressure for quality is not present.

Apart from that, all mechanical parts, interior and body trims have been procured from UK . Whats left from my end is finding a good chrome pitting and plating guy. If i don't find one, ill have to end up choosing "spray chrome" .

So until the next Hyd Auto Expo is scheduled....................... you and me shall be kept waiting .

On a side note: the donor vehicle might be getting a Fibreglass body and kept alive . Maybe plonk in a 1.8 Conti engine into it as well and have a sleeper clone .
Old 18th July 2012, 18:07   #45

Originally Posted by srinand View Post
Did your donor car not come with mechanicals?
It did come with mechanicals, but with lot of jugaad, some fiat , some herald and some morris. Decided to play around technically with this donor rather than restore it.

Why do you want to put in a Conti engine?
Purely for the sake of having one original and one hot rod looking exactly the same. .Chose a conti engine since its a RWD model.

Where did you buy your parts from in UK?
Mostly from Bull Motif as well , but some from ESM cause i found their quality to be better . ESM also stocks original reconditioned parts if i remember correctly. Its been 6 months since i ordered so im not too sure of the details.
absynthguzzler is offline   (1) Thanks