Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Pre-War

Old 18th October 2012, 08:47   #16

Re: Austin 10

Another APX.... Austin restored by Mohammed Bhai (VST's vintage and classic fleet supervisor)
Austin 10-.jpg  

Vintage Khan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th October 2012, 10:03   #17

Interesting, what kind of cars does VST have
Old 18th October 2012, 11:07   #18

We had one of these when I was a small kid. Will scan and post a picture later. Pity, we could not hold on to it :-(
Old 18th October 2012, 11:44   #19

Originally Posted by wasif View Post
Interesting, what kind of cars does VST have
Correction! Sorry i meant the Alam Khan's collection, Packards, Buicks & Plymouths in allabout 6 as we all know, that's Md bhai in the picture with his protege. I am told Md bhai's father Late Mr. Ali, who was the renowned RR mechanic maintained the cars of Sri Krishna Jewellers and others...
Old 10th November 2012, 01:25   #20

Another Austin in Hyderabad...
Austin 10-rre.jpg  

Vintage Khan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2016, 22:19   #21

Anyone here seen a 1946 Austin 10 with BYF 5046 Plates?

I owned this car in the late seventies, and was curious if anyone here has seen it. It was sold to a family in Ahmedabad around 1981. At the time, the car was fully original and was painted Black.

If you know or have seen this car, please do let me know.

benz220 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2016, 22:28   #22

Re: Anyone here seen a 1946 Austin 10 with BYF 5046 Plates?

Originally Posted by benz220 View Post
I owned this car in the late seventies, and was curious if anyone here has seen it. It was sold to a family in Ahmedabad around 1981. At the time, the car was fully original and was painted Black.

If you know or have seen this car, please do let me know.

BYF would be a Poona registration number series, from circa 1947ish to the first half of 1954.

Well, I dunno about BYF 5046 but I have BYF 5042 here, as a 1947 Mercury in Poona:

Austin 10-byf-5042.jpg

Last edited by FINTAIL : 6th February 2016 at 22:29.
FINTAIL is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th August 2016, 09:04   #23

Yes, it was a Pune car! It belonged to the Wadia family in Koregaon Park. Love the Mercury! The two cars must have been registered on the same day. Mine was a 1946 Austin 10 saloon.
benz220 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th January 2020, 13:10   #24
v12

Hello guys, posting this on behalf of a friend who is looking to purchase a 1946 Austin 10. The car is in running condition and completely original (including the paint). All the paper work is original and available.

Not decided yet on whether to restore it to concourse condition or whether to retain the patina look (my preference). But what would be the cost to get it completely restored. I know it would be difficult to determine that - but an approximate cost would be really helpful.

Appreciate all the help and advise.
v12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th January 2020, 13:28   #25

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
Not decided yet on whether to restore it to concourse condition or whether to retain the patina look (my preference). But what would be the cost to get it completely restored. I know it would be difficult to determine that - but an approximate cost would be really helpful.
The restoration costs have risen significantly over the last few years and so has to quality of workmanship, having said that please share some pictures, which can help in determining the extent of work.
KartikeyaL is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th January 2020, 14:28   #26
v12

Thanks for the advise Kartikeyal. I'll post some pictures when I get them. What would be a ball park figure that he should quote for the car?
Old 15th January 2020, 16:27   #27

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
Thanks for the advise Kartikeyal. I'll post some pictures when I get them. What would be a ball park figure that he should quote for the car?
Restored Austin 10/Austins get listed for anywhere between 8 to 12 Lakhs on OLX etc, what they sell for is guess work.

Depending on the originality and condition (missing parts etc), a good buying price should be around 2 or 2.5 to 3.5/4 L, IMHO.

One may (usually) never may be able to recover the cost of car + restoration for these humble cars.

Again pictures would greatly help.
Old 10th November 2020, 16:50   #28

Re: Austin 10 1933 tourer

For Austin 10 1933, we need technical support for tuning Zenith Carburator and its tuneup parts and small gasket. We appreciate if any experts guide us to properly fix this carb.
Some mechanics comments this carb. not working, need to find another Carb. I am posting pics of existing carb. we have, any expert can guide us to fix and make it functional. All advice and technical help is welcome and we will be thankful for their response.
Austin 10-img_6488.jpg  

Austin 10-img_6489.jpg  

Austin 10-img_6490.jpg  

vintagepoint5 is offline   (2) Thanks