Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Ride Safe

Old 2nd April 2017, 19:58   #16

re: Auto-headlamps on (AHO): Getting rid of people's gestures on the road

Is the headlamp on along with the tail lamp?
I saw few new Enfield's with AHO and the tail lamp was glowing as well.
Didnt see any other new two wheelers to notice the same.
tharian is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2017, 21:35   #17

Yes, effectively you have no choice of deciding when to glow the head/taillights. A very welcome addition. I have noticed that people try and save their vehicle's headlight till they can't see the road at all, as if they would get MSEB bills if they switched on their headlights earlier!
ani_meher is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2017, 22:01   #18

Originally Posted by tharian View Post
Is the headlamp on along with the tail lamp?
I saw few new Enfield's with AHO and the tail lamp was glowing as well.
Didnt see any other new two wheelers to notice the same.
Yes the tail light also glows once the ignition is turned ON.
MDED is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2017, 22:42   #19

Originally Posted by ani_meher View Post
I have noticed that people try and save their vehicle's headlight till they can't see the road at all, as if they would get MSEB bills if they switched on their headlights earlier!
Perhaps, during the times of Bajaj Chetak and Ambassador, switching on headlamp somehow reduced the fuel economy? Or perhaps drained out the battery too quickly (and caused starting problems the next day).

Personally, I make lots of gestures with my hand if I see this with headlamps ON during daylight -

Auto-headlamps on (AHO): Getting rid of people's gestures on the road-1282821611a572.jpg
SmartCat is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2017, 12:08   #20

Re: Auto-headlamps on (AHO): Getting rid of people's gestures on the road

From my Highway Driving article:

Always keep your low beam and fog lamps on, even during the day. It greatly increases your visibility to fellow road users. Being seen is as important as seeing others.
Since years, I've been in this habit of switching on the low beam on the highway. Have honestly just gotten conditioned to ignore these fellas who don't understand it's for safety. Good news is, with AHO now mandatory, it's only a matter of time before the general public accepts it as the norm. Their gestures will dwindle away in a quarter or two.
GTO is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2017, 12:29   #21

Originally Posted by GTO
Have honestly just gotten conditioned to ignore these fellas who don't understand it's for safety.
Not to contradict you, but just sharing my personal experience.

In highways, while ignoring those or them, people have taken U Turn or started from their road side hang outs, just to catch up and inform me or us (when in group riding) to turn of the passing indicator or headlight.

They considered this a good Samaritan move to help (may be due to out of state number plate or may be to show off their ride/riding skill also) me or us save our battery so that we don't get stuck.

Biggest problem I faced in few central Indian interior location, police (constable rank traffic duty may be) stopping us to instruct us turning of the headlight, since they felt we are using it as we are in hurry/rushing and wanted to know (the reason in first place to stop us) whats the emergency and why we wished to drive fast.

Not sure why, but many think, while driving fast (when in hurry), people must turn on the headlights in high beam.
NaXal is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2017, 12:56   #22

@Porschefire this reminds me of a time I was pulled over by cops in Tamil Nadu. I was wearing a Yellow Jacket and an Black Helmet. They thought I was a terrorist because no one wears a helmet and Jacket not needed in the heat. This happened a couple of times and then I'd stopped wearing the Jacket and wear the helmet only on hitting the highway. It may sound silly, but cops jumping in your way and not letting you go till you've identified yourself is very troublesome.
wildsdi5530 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2017, 15:25   #23

Originally Posted by NaXal View Post
Not sure why, but many think, while driving fast (when in hurry), people must turn on the headlights in high beam.
Here in Chennai, I have seen the police vehicles on escort duty will have their headlamps ON with high beam even during daytime and as usual Ambulances will have their headlamp ON as well. My daily ride includes cutting across NH4 and I have seen folks driving on the wrong side of the road with their headlamps on high beam even during daytime with their indicators turned on.

People driving in hurry would want other road users to know that they will be crossing the road or will be zipping them at a higher speed and hence the high beam usage (to make their presence felt).
MDED is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2017, 15:39   #24

Since mid 2015 the parking lamp of my Beat is always on whenever I drive her. I had faced many similar experiences from my neighbors as well as fellow road users. In most cases I ignore them or just nod my head and .

Vinu
Old 3rd April 2017, 15:52   #25

On side note, I am expecting increased demand in Replacement Auto Bulbs.
Wont AHO lamps lead to increased bulb failures?

The AHO implementation should have been an inclusion on a separate always ON DRL (Led strip etc) instead of the removal of the Headlamp switch.
Old 3rd April 2017, 17:57   #26

Originally Posted by MDED
People driving in hurry would want other road users to know that they will be crossing the road or will be zipping them at a higher speed and hence the high beam usage (to make their presence felt).
Is it a rule/law or we have invented it with our own understanding?

Off Topic,

Often I see in expressway / highway, trucks, cars changing tyre would place their spare wheel or changed flat wheel on the road in ordered to create some safe space between them and traffic without realizing, that is actually way too dangerous than not doing it.
NaXal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2017, 18:27   #27

While the AHO on bikes is a good thing, I am not sure if any of you have been bothered by the DRLs being completely misused by a few car drivers. Especially the ones driving the New Baleno and the old i20. (no offence )

The DRLs are fairly bright in these cars and with the always back lit instrument panel, most of the owners miss the point of switching on the headlights. However, there is a moron lot of these drivers that use the 'pass' light when they are trying to cut through traffic. Which is even more dangerous!

The danger is when I am passing through traffic, I totally miss these cars. They completely miss the point of 'seeing' and 'being seen' while driving through night!
anachronix is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2017, 18:39   #28

Oh! so thats why everyone's frantically waving their hands at me. I simply wave back at them

Try it. They sometimes might get the point.
Old 4th April 2017, 08:42   #29

- Light on hai [Headlamp is on]

- Mere ko nahi pata off kaise karte hai, aapko..? [I don't know how to switch it off, can you help]

- Light ka switch kidhar [where is the switch to switch on/off the headlamp]

- aapko mai kya dikh raha that jo din me light on kar ke gaadi chala raha hu? [ do I look like a fool to you for switching on the headlamp in the day & riding]

Last edited by navin : 5th April 2017 at 13:30. Reason: replaced C with kya
Sheel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th April 2017, 09:28   #30

For total safety, a rule should also be introduced which says the horn too cannot be turned off. Maybe horns too can be connected to the ignition switch.
anish5225 is online now   (2) Thanks