Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Ride Safe
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 18th October 2015, 08:38   #2596
BHPian

Re: The Riding Gear thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abhi_abarth View Post
I have been riding since 2003 and my only protective gear has been my helmet till now. Even if I am a pillion I do use the helmet. All these years my ride has been purely for commuting and within cities. Now given the road conditions and the unpredictable road manners of others I do feel I should start adopting the protective gear. I am also developing this itch of touring of late and I may or may not start touring sometime soon (subject to my bike upgrade). I am a noob in this department and need advice on the equipment (read gear) I need to buy as a starter.

Request the gurus to suggest the preferred brands based on their experience.
If you have the money and less patience, go to the Dainese store in Bangalore and personally pick the riding gear which you would need. Would be a big dent on your budget.

If you have money and more patience, then you can get deals in RevZilla/MotorcycleGear or reputed international websites which offer all brands of riding gear like Dainese, Alpinestars, Joe Rocket, Revvit, TCX, etc.

If you are on a budget, then Spartan Pro Gear and Lets Gear Up(TBG) are some Indian brands which of late are really good.
whencut86 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2015, 22:45   #2597
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by aargee View Post
First of all, I would suggest you to understand what's in the market rather than asking any self proclaimed guru stating you should buy this or that as no one known you better than you do

Few years ago, I wrote this article in Gearheads, however, TBhp blocks the link to Gearheads so I cannot provide that link to you here. Would suggest going through it as starters, Google for "gearheads, aargee, riding gears" & click on the first link