Team-BHP > Road Safety
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 2nd March 2016, 21:20   #19981
Senior - BHPian

re: Accidents in India | Pics & Videos

Quote:
Originally Posted by samaspire View Post
I wonder how the i20 driver airbag deployed without seatbelts and the passenger airbag didn't.
I have limited knowledge about the conditions required for air bag deployment on cars from this segment. I have not seen a passenger seat occupancy sensor on all cars.

A lot of folks run the seat belt just to silence the alarm. They are not secured by the seat belt though. They think that doing so is a smart way to get past the cops.

Current specifications suggest that all variants of the i20 come with Airbags which is . It is possible that this is a earlier release of the Elite i20 as the Tbhp review indicates dual airbags only for the Asta variant.

It is also possible that the passenger airbag was turned off.
Old 2nd March 2016, 22:11   #19982
BHPian

Quote:
I wonder how the i20 driver airbag deployed without seatbelts and the passenger airbag didn't.
1. Driver airbag deployed : Car in motion. There must be a person on the driver seat.
2. Passenger airbag not deployed : Passenger seat belt not buckled. There is no person on the passenger seat.

Simple design logic.
May be, the inventors of these safety features were not aware that in India people wear seat belt only when they see police checking.
Old 2nd March 2016, 22:17   #19983
BHPian

As someone mentioned earlier in the thread, an airbag for a particular seat deploys ONLY AND ONLY if the seat-belt of that seat is fastened. That's a fact with all/most cars. So that's that. Hope everyone is satisfied. It's amazing no-one is aware of this technicality!!
pixantz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2016, 22:24   #19984
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by nairrk View Post
Woman dies after buses collide on ECR

Source: http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/...?homepage=true