Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th May 2016, 18:33   #331
Team-BHP Support

Re: More Indian cars face Global NCAP crash tests. Edit: ZERO for all

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Thanks for the clarification.

I still think that all this "city driving," line, which we do see often, needs to be dropped from our thinking. It is like saying that city driving is not really dangerous, whereas, once one gets out on the open road, that is when we should be scared.

No: city driving is dangerous. City speeds are dangerous. I am glad that, as an almost-all-city-miles driver, I chose a car with airbags. It's just that recent news on these tests, etc, via Team-BHP and discussions I now regard them as even more important.

It's only city driving --- seems to be an Indian thing. In the only other country where I'm familiar with driving, cities are considered far more dangerous.
I'm just being argumentative here.

Why just 2 airbags? Why not go with something with 8 airbags only as minimum? And something that has radar braking? And night vision? How about only buying 2 tonne SUVs, because 1 tonne hatchbacks are less safer? How about only riding in the backseat and hiring a driver instead? You know, backseats are safer?

Where do you stop? Safety technology will keep improving every 3 years, if you want to be really safe, you need to constantly upgrade your car every 3 years.

The Global NCAP test issue is a really an issue of deceit/ loss of trust. You think you have a safe vehicle when you spent Rs. 17 Lacs, but its actually not.

The Bharat NCAP should sort out the above. I have no issues with unsafe car being sold in India, as long as customers know what they are getting into the first place. I don't mind driving "unsafe" cars (dad's santro, wife's a-star without airbags) either. Heck! After all, many of us grew up in an Ambassador or Maruti 800!
Old 20th May 2016, 19:01   #332
Distinguished - BHPian