Team-BHP > Road Safety

View Poll Results: How do you plan to cope with the increased traffic fines?
I am an extremely law-abiding driver, and I never / rarely get fined 339 80.71%
I shall just grin and bear the additional expense 36 8.57%
I plan to improve my own / family member's / chauffeur's driving, to avoid those steep fines (tell us how) 75 17.86%
I do not need to pay traffic fines where I live and drive (tell us how and where)) 11 2.62%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 420. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 6th September 2019, 10:29   #106
Distinguished - BHPian

Re: Traffic Police enforcing new Motor Vehicles Act from 15/08/2019 : How do you plan to adapt?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiloAlpha View Post

Sorry to say, but in India, the opposite is true. Violating a rule started off as a badge of honour, and has now elevated itself to a way of life.

Point is - we don't understand the concept of a "rule". This brouhaha about steep fines has an undercurrent of "injustice" meted out to public by the authorities. So it is OK to drive around in an unregistered, uninsured motorcycle drunk and without a helmet. The person doing that gets fined to the extent that it teaches a lesson and sets and example and this is a "bad" thing? I disagree.

Nitin Gadkari is swimming against the tide of 1.3 billion people believing in their heart of hearts that rules violation is routine, forgiveable, and as essential a part of India as the monsoons. Unless this mindset is changed, India will continue to rail against the existence of traffic rules.
+1 +1 to that. To break the rule is a fundamental right - such is our thinking. The offender may have got fined for helmet/ documents but he will next time think twice about jumping signals and driving on the wrong side. As some say the bribe amounts will go up. Sad but we'll live with it if it means better traffic discipline.
V.Narayan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th September 2019, 10:29   #107
BHPian