Team-BHP > Road Safety

Old 13th March 2009, 14:53   #91

Originally Posted by nagvasireddy View Post
Agree with that. A strong deterrent - a jail term or a large fine or even a large bribe - is the only way to stop this menace.
A large fine or a large bribe are not strong deterrents, especially if the offender has deep pockets! A jail term surely is the right kind of deterrent!
Old 4th April 2009, 10:12   #92

Man, this guy really takes the cake! A driving instructor who was so sloshed that he couldn't keep the Sumo in a straight line. This as 1145 in the morning. Such appalling standards of motor training in our country :

Shaikh was so sloshed that a test recorded the alcohol content in his blood at 499 mg/100 ml. He admitted that he had consumed country liquor.
Shaikh worked for the Bagde Motor Training School. It has four offices at Mankhurd, Trombay, Nerul and Seawoods. The incident occurred at the Mankurd T-Junction at 11.45 am when the traffic cops spotted a Tata Sumo being driven in a haphazard manner.
Send the rascal to Jail and cancel the licence of this motor training school, I say!

Source : TOI Article
Old 4th April 2009, 11:25   #93

Don't drink and drive!!
Don't drive and Drink!!
Drink and Don't drive!!!

You can't go wrong..

Drink and drive? Go straight to JAIL!-20080605drinkdontdrive.jpg

Last edited by Ym-enjn : 4th April 2009 at 11:28.
Old 30th July 2009, 13:41   #94

While the concept of jailing drunk drivers seems to be good, the reality is that cops can and will misuse this law.

Look at this video of corrupt cops in the U.S., misusing drunk driving laws to frame a lady for a minor traffic accident. If this happens in the U.S., where the cops are much, much cleaner than the ones in India, how much misuse do you think Indian cops will do?

Crooked Cops Caught Plotting To Frame Motorist (VIDEO)
Old 30th July 2009, 13:50   #95
gpa

Shocking video. Wonder what would have happened if it were India. The cops here in Bangalore have stepped up the drive against drunk drivers/riders.

There are surprise mid week checks done as well as I found out when I driving back home last night and saw a line of cars and two-wheelers pulled over for drunken driving.
Old 30th July 2009, 14:58   #96

I always thought every person on the road was always already driving drunk.

I must have been wrong
Old 30th July 2009, 23:43   #97

Originally Posted by Brabus E V12 View Post
The next time your friend or spouse gets drunk and insists on taking the wheel, you may want to think twice before accompanying him.

... blah ...

Bhoir tested positive in the breath analysis test, which showed 146 ml of alcohol in his blood. Surprisingly, Gholap was much more sloshed with 385 ml of alcohol in his blood.

... blah ...

Source: Indiatimes.com

Say whaa?? I never knew breathalyzers calculated one's blood volume. One can't expect ToI to have half a brain I suppose.
Old 6th August 2009, 18:01   #98

Met up with friends yesterday at Leopolds Cafe. Decided not to drink as I had to drive back. Left at 1130 pm and 1145 pm - just ahead of Byculla was stopped by the cops.

I thought a regular naka bandi. So I put down all my windows and promptly was asked to pull over. I did so and a cop thrusts his head right into my mouth and asks - "Naam kya hai ?"

"Gautam" I say.

"jaao" he says and waves me on.

That was the best decision I ever made in my life

ps - I hope my gf is not reading this
Old 7th August 2009, 12:50   #99

LOL @normally_crazy. This happened with me once as well. It's a little unnerving, the cop thrusting his head right inside.

At that time, it was 1.30 in the night and only two of us girls were in the car. Being a teetotaller surely has its advantages!
Old 7th August 2009, 13:50   #100

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
I did so and a cop thrusts his head right into my mouth and asks - "Naam kya hai ?"
A cop's head in your mouth must not have been too pleasant. Hope you were not traumatized or anything.
Old 7th August 2009, 14:12   #101

Originally Posted by Ym-enjn View Post
Don't drink and drive!!
Don't drive and Drink!!
Drink and Don't drive!!!

You can't go wrong..
Just to add to the above -

Drink (Coffee) and Drive.
Old 7th August 2009, 14:44   #102

This remnds me of a funny incident i had during my early days in Bangalore.

I was riding down MG Road and was stopped at Anil Kumble Circle.

Policeman comes over and asks.

"What's your name?" With his nose next to my mouth.

King Kong.

"WHAT?"

King Kong.

"Take it on the side. Show your license?"

Ok.

"Here it says your name is ----- . Who is King Kong?"

I thought you wanted to know whether i am drunk.

"Yes"

So i just replied what came to my mind.

"Ok so your name is not King Kong."

Nope its ----.

"Ok you can go."

Bangalore police should watch some English Classics.
Old 7th August 2009, 15:12   #103

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
This remnds me of a funny incident i had during my early days in Bangalore.
Well I don't know about the early days but I'm not sure, now, how would they react to the KK jig. These guys don't like someone pulling a fast one at them.
Old 7th August 2009, 15:16   #104

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
These guys don't like someone pulling a fast one at them.
I was new to Bangalore so probably the uncalled for bravado. And the guy had probably never heard of King Kong.

I never tried it again.

Last edited by Spitfire : 7th August 2009 at 15:21.
Old 7th August 2009, 15:41   #105
gpa

Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
These guys don't like someone pulling a fast one at them.
This doesn't necessarily have to be true as I've always experienced something on the contrary. I usually drive home late every Friday night and pass the checkpost on the road beside Hard Rock Cafe. Since the past few weeks, I've been meeting this inspector who used to check if I was DUI. After about 3 weeks and passing by him each Friday, he came to my window again and when he saw me smiled and said, "I know I won't need to check you" and let me pass.

The next week, I bumped into him again and this time I told him - "Sir, check me as I might be drunk" and he burst out laughing and let me pass.