Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 10th December 2013, 19:35   #31

re: Gujarat road trip - Queries

Originally Posted by ramkya1 View Post

I have helped so many TBHPns in Ahmedbad and other places in Inaid to get the rates as payback for all Knowledge, help and support I have received over so many years.

====
Hi Ramkya1, I know I am quoting a very old post, but you're the Gujrat specialist. I am planning a road trip with wife and teenage daughter during 02-12Jan 2014 in my Manza from Delhi. Want to go to Ambaji Temple, Dwarka, Somnath& Gir. Google map shows a straight road via jaipur ajmer, pali sirohi, jamnagar and Dwarka. Planning to stop first day at Sirohi /Abu Road.
Will this time of the year be crowded in terms of making advance hotel bookings or we can just walk in? not planning to visit big cities like ABD, however open to suggestions. Kindly enlighten
Old 10th December 2013, 20:37   #32

Originally Posted by windiesel View Post
Hi Ramkya1, I know I am quoting a very old post, but you're the Gujrat specialist. I am planning a road trip with wife and teenage daughter during 02-12Jan 2014 in my Manza from Delhi. Want to go to Ambaji Temple, Dwarka, Somnath& Gir. Google map shows a straight road via jaipur ajmer, pali sirohi, jamnagar and Dwarka. Planning to stop first day at Sirohi /Abu Road.
Will this time of the year be crowded in terms of making advance hotel bookings or we can just walk in? not planning to visit big cities like ABD, however open to suggestions. Kindly enlighten
Hai,

Will do what I can to help all the way.

February would ease off, right time, booking not much of a problem. It starts heating up after that. Don't take the Jaipur, Pali road, instead Bhilwara, Udaipur road, then to Abu Road, etc., Decide what all you want to cover, and make a plan day1, day2 wise we'll plan forward form there depending on the number of days you have.

Call me on 09377203000 if you have any doubts, I have no problem is giving my number on the open forum, may people call me out of the blue, if I have the time, will help.

--Ramky
======

Last edited by ramkya1 : 10th December 2013 at 20:38.
ramkya1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th December 2013, 20:44   #33

Hai,

Will do what I can to help all the way.

February would ease off, right time, booking not much of a problem. It starts heating up after that. Don't take the Jaipur, Pali road, instead Bhilwara, Udaipur road, then to Abu Road, etc., Decide what all you want to cover, and make a plan day1, day2 wise we'll plan forward form there depending on the number of days you have.

Call me on 09377203000 if you have any doubts, I have no problem is giving my number on the open forum, may people call me out of the blue, if I have the time, will help.

--Ramky
======
Ramky bhai, that was fast indeed! thanks for the route tip. But, its not February, I'm planning to leave Delhi on 01/02nd of JANUARY... how will it be that time. I'll make a day wise plan and get it vetted by you. thanks chief!
Old 10th December 2013, 22:33   #34

Ramky bhai, that was fast indeed! thanks for the route tip. But, its not February, I'm planning to leave Delhi on 01/02nd of JANUARY... how will it be that time. I'll make a day wise plan and get it vetted by you. thanks chief!
Very tough time, Raan Utsav, NRG's inflow and general Tourist season, rates woould be sky high, you would also NOT get space in some spots, you're a little latte to plan.

---Ramky
=======
Old 12th December 2013, 08:33   #35

@ Windiesel: The room situation in Bhuj and around from 20th Dec to 15th Jan is pretty bad, EVERYTHING is sold off. Resort operators are getting tents form Rajastan @ 5K a day and then they have to make a profit, so wold be sold for 7-10 K per night. Checked for a friend around Bhuj yesterday, they are quoting 30K for 3 nights and 4 days!! This is slaughter.. usual rates would be about 2 k a night.

So those who are planning, POSTPONE. Those who have already booked in, no problem, but come with printed booking vouchers, specially if you have booked in with low rates early. If not not, your booking would be hijacked by people willing to pay insane amounts and operators would just bulldoze you off, as has happened last year.

--Ramky
======
ramkya1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2013, 19:03   #36

@ Windiesel: The room situation in Bhuj and around from 20th Dec to 15th Jan is pretty bad, EVERYTHING is sold off. Resort operators are getting tents form Rajastan @ 5K a day and then they have to make a profit, so wold be sold for 7-10 K per night. Checked for a friend around Bhuj yesterday, they are quoting 30K for 3 nights and 4 days!! This is slaughter.. usual rates would be about 2 k a night.

So those who are planning, POSTPONE. Those who have already booked in, no problem, but come with printed booking vouchers, specially if you have booked in with low rates early. If not not, your booking would be hijacked by people willing to pay insane amounts and operators would just bulldoze you off, as has happened last year.

--Ramky
======
Thanks Ramky, Big B is the reason I guess. I am planning to avoid Bhuj area totally and from Delhi go straight to Dwarka(with an overnight halt someplace like chittorgar/ABD if I can make it) then somnath area for the mandir and Gir (need suggestions here) then probably Diu and back home. Your immensely valuable inputs are always welcome. Thanks pal. cheerio.
Old 12th December 2013, 21:12   #37

Thanks Ramky, Big B is the reason I guess. I am planning to avoid Bhuj area totally and from Delhi go straight to Dwarka(with an overnight halt someplace like chittorgar/ABD if I can make it) then somnath area for the mandir and Gir (need suggestions here) then probably Diu and back home. Your immensely valuable inputs are always welcome. Thanks pal. cheerio.
Search the web first for places to stay and book online, take a print out of the booking vouchers,, and then plan where you want to visit. This might look strange, but practical taking into consideration the season.

--Ramky
=====
Old 12th December 2013, 21:19   #38

Search the web first for places to stay and book online, take a print out of the booking vouchers,, and then plan where you want to visit. This might look strange, but practical taking into consideration the season.

--Ramky
=====
Noted with thanks. Lemme finalise bookings as per availability, then Ill contact you again.
Old 15th December 2013, 17:51   #39

Noted with thanks. Lemme finalise bookings as per availability, then Ill contact you again.
Hi. I had done Somnath-Gir-Diu in 2011.
Had stayed in Lords Inn at Somnath, seemed to be one of the best there. Maybe other options available now. It was very nice, food was okay though.
In Gir we had stayed at Lion Safari Camp, suggested by a tbhpian, was excellent. We regretted spending just 1 night.
In Diu we stayed at Magico-Du-Mar, which is on the Gujarat side, just entering Diu. It is an old property along the beach and we quite enjoyed the stay. Only food was not so great at that time. Hope this helps.
Old 19th December 2013, 11:34   #40

Originally Posted by jesrani View Post

Hi. I had done Somnath-Gir-Diu in 2011.
Had stayed in Lords Inn at Somnath, seemed to be one of the best there. Maybe other options available now. It was very nice, food was okay though.
In Gir we had stayed at Lion Safari Camp, suggested by a tbhpian, was excellent. We regretted spending just 1 night.
In Diu we stayed at Magico-Du-Mar, which is on the Gujarat side, just entering Diu. It is an old property along the beach and we quite enjoyed the stay. Only food was not so great at that time. Hope this helps.
Another new option in Veraval is Hotel Daksh. Its a new hotel with decent rooms and food ( veg only). Its on the outskirts of Veraval. Hotel Lord's Inn still remains miles ahead of the other hotels in Veraval/Somnath.
Old 19th December 2013, 15:57   #41

Heading to the Rann of Kutch for the Rann Utsav during the Christmas holidays.

Need help with the route from Ahmedbad to Bhuj...

From my searches on TBHP it looks like the best route is: Sarkhej-Sanand-Viramgam-Dhrangadhra-Halvad-Bhachau-Bhuj

Need your help & advice on the route, road conditions, bypassing towns....

Thanks for all your help
Old 22nd December 2013, 16:04   #42

Originally Posted by indusboy View Post

From my searches on TBHP it looks like the best route is: Sarkhej-Sanand-Viramgam-Dhrangadhra-Halvad-Bhachau-Bhuj

Thanks for all your help
Recently came back from a road trip of Kutch. Had travelled from Mundra to Ahmedabad via Anjar-Samkhiyali-Malia-Halvad-Dhrangadhra-Viramgam-Ahmedabad. After Samkhiyali, road was excellent and covered about 210kms in less than 3 hours, reaching upto outskirts of Ahmedabad. So I think the route you have chosen is the correct one.
Old 25th December 2013, 17:06   #43

Originally Posted by indusboy View Post

Thanks for all your help
Sarkhej-Sanand-Viramgam-Dhrangadhra-Halvad-Bhachau-Bhuj is super smooth-fast-well designed highway. It has tollbooths at every 50 kms.
zalaps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th December 2013, 22:03   #44

Originally Posted by zalaps View Post
Sarkhej-Sanand-Viramgam-Dhrangadhra-Halvad-Bhachau-Bhuj is super smooth-fast-well designed highway. It has tollbooths at every 50 kms.
Just back from my road trip...the roads were generally super smooth. The Bhachau-Bhuj sector is under construction so there are diversions on this leg. The frequency of tolls is a pain, wish they had spaced it a little bit.
Old 29th December 2013, 11:10   #45

--Ramky
=====

Hi, Ramky bhai, since I wasn’t getting accommodation in Gir/Dwarka, ditched the plan for now. Instead, planning a trip to goa as under:
01 Jan14 – Delhi(0600) to Udaipur(1700?) (if I can make it till Rishabdeo, even better)
2 Jan 0600- Udaipur(0600) to Nashik(1800?) (planning to leave NH8 at shamlaji and go via saputara (drive thru)
3-4 at Nasik (DRDO guest house) visits to Panchvati, Trimbakeswar, School of Artillery (my alma mater)
5 Jan- Nashik(0600) to Navi Mumbai(1500?) (via Wilson Dam at Bhandardara)
06 Jan – At friends place Navi Mumbai
07 Jan- Mumbai(0800)-Goa(1800) (via Ratnagiri, Chiplun route)
08-10 - Jan in Goa
11 Jan- Goa – Mumbai
12 Jan – Mumbai – Chittorgarh
13 Jan- Chittorgarh -Delhi
How does the above look to you? Suggestions regarding route welcome
Concerns- Do they check the car while entering Gujarat state? Worried, since I’ll be carrying some Holy Spirit in the car (defence issue, being an ex army officer) and I don’t want a ruckus being with family. Alternately, I can take Neemuch Ratlam (NH3) route to nashik but will miss driving through Saputara, plus the road is broken they say near Neemuch for about 50 kms.