Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 19th January 2009, 10:57   #136

Need to do Bangalore-Iritty on friday evening

After going through this thread I've the following information. Can somebody who has done this route recently or who belongs to one of these places comment/confirm the following:

1. Best route to Iritty from Bangalore is via Virajpet. But, this road is unusable for cars due to bad roads. IS THE CONDITION SAME? CONFIRMATION REQUIRED.

2. Next available option is Bangalore-Mysore-Sulthan Bathery-Mananthavady-Iritty. In this route, I see two options from Manathavadi.

2.a. Mananthavadi-Perya-Kottiyoor-Peravoor-Iritty
2.b. Mananthavadi-Perya-Nedumpoil-Peravoor-Iritty

I would like to know which one is best in terms of
(a) distance
(b) road condition
(c) ease of driving

Can anyone comment?

Also, I would like to get details of hotels for an overnight stay for a family at Mananthavadi and Iritty.

Rex
Old 19th January 2009, 11:14   #137

@rex: go with "2.a. Mananthavadi-Perya-Kottiyoor-Peravoor-Iritty" this is the best route am not sure if its the shortest. Only thing be very very careful while you take the STEEP ghat section to kottiyoor temple, ideally try to cross this during day light.

Bathery - Mananthavady till turn off to Kottoyoor temple is so-so with undulating surface.

Stay at Iritti is mentioned in the above postby backseatdriver

If you need to stay over in Iritty there is a place OFF the main road - in the same building as houses the Treasury. You will need to ask for directions. An all male group can sty at the 2 Bar attached lodges there. (And there is a 4th lodge near the Iritty bridge. I would not recommend other lodges in Iritty for human beings.

Last edited by Jaggu : 19th January 2009 at 11:15.
Old 22nd January 2009, 17:21   #138

hey,

i am planning a trip form bangalore to thalassery.

i would need your inputs on a good driving route. please do recommend.

i am making this trip on the 31st of jan.

also please mention the rough travel time.
Old 25th January 2009, 14:41   #139

Originally Posted by sharanramesh View Post
hey,

i am planning a trip form bangalore to thalassery.

i would need your inputs on a good driving route. please do recommend.

i am making this trip on the 31st of jan.

also please mention the rough travel time.
You can take Mysore - Gundalpet - Sulthan Bathery - Manathwadi - Koothuparamba - Thalassery. An average running time will be around 8hrs. Please go through previous postings for knowing this route better.

Rajesh
Old 25th January 2009, 20:10   #140

Stay at Iritti is mentioned in the above postby backseatdriver
More details of the place I mentioned.

If you come via Kottyoor > Peravoor, you will reach a T junction and turn right to enter Iritty. (left takes you to Mattanoor). Couple of hundred meters to right is the bus stand. Follow the road ahead (pass a mosque on your right, but do not cross the bridge), and you will find a road to the left. (welcome arch to some temple is there- Keezoor Mahadeva temple, I think - be warned that there are more than one approach to the Kezoor temple). The road you have to take is called "Neram pokku Road". (Literally, "Time pass road"). This is road also has the telephone exchange and the fire station within the frist 200 M. The building in question is on your right, You are unlikely to miss it.

I just cannot recall name of the place. I had to go to the Iritty treasury and simply used my official "rights" to wander around, coz was wondering why a good set up exists in a desolate place like Iritty. ;-)

I have not stayed in this particular hotel.

Other option is a place on the other side fo the Iritty bridge. You will crash into the building if you do not turn left or right after crossing the bridge. ;-) This would be my second choice for a family.
Old 29th January 2009, 19:15   #141

My Iritty Experience

Unfortunately this information came in late :-(

We stayed at Hotel Surya and KK Tourist Home (I had to travel to Iritty twice, during two consecutive weekends). Both were booked by contacts in Iritty. From my experience, I would not recommend any of these places for a family, to spend a night. These hotels have rooms, primarily meant for people of rent them and drink to their glory. KK was the worst experience. I escorted my in-laws to their room in the evening and right from the reception the smell of liquor was intoxicating us. It was so embarrassing. In the room right opposite to their room, a bunch of guys were sitting around a table and were gulping in all colors of liquids in a non-stop fashion, till very late in to the night.

Fortunately, rest of my family arrived early next morning and the situation was much better by that time. And we packed off by afternoon, to escape another bout of involuntary intoxication.

Overall a very bad experience with respect to our stay in Iritty.

Rex
Old 29th January 2009, 19:36   #142

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
@rex: go with "2.a. Mananthavadi-Perya-Kottiyoor-Peravoor-Iritty" this is the best route am not sure if its the shortest.
Thanks, Jaggu!

We made this trip during last week-end.

Started from B'lore at 10am. By the time we hit the Rajarajeshwari arch it was 11am. We could touch down at Iritty around 6:00pm. 7 hours including a lunch stop near Gundlepet.

Route we took was B'lore-Mysore-S.Bathery-Meenangadi-Panamaram-Mananthavadi-Perya-Kottiyoor-Peravoor-Iritty. Roads are excellent except the stretch between Meenagadi-Mananthavadi. Road between Peravoor and Iritty needs special mention for it's extremely great surface.

Driving down 'Palchuram' was a great experience. It's a sharp descent in a short distance. That makes a short section very steep. It was fun.

We took a longer route on the way back to visit few relatives. We drove Iritty-Koothuparamba-Mahe-Quilandy-Thamarassery-Kodancheri-Adivaram-Kalpetta-S.Batheri-Mysore-Bangalore. This too was a great drive and the roads were excellent. Especially, the road between Mahe and Quilandy was amazing.

A very memorable memorable trip. Few pix below!

Rex
Bangalore - Kannur : Route Queries-p1244735.jpg  

Bangalore - Kannur : Route Queries-p1244736.jpg  

Bangalore - Kannur : Route Queries-p1244737.jpg  

Bangalore - Kannur : Route Queries-p1244738.jpg  

Old 29th January 2009, 22:06   #143

How are the Iritty - Koothuparamba roads now? (Via Mattanoor, right?) Last time I took this route, there weren't any. But that was before I got the car.

Regarding. the stay at Iritty - my condolences!!! Where did you have food from?
Old 30th January 2009, 10:49   #144

Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
How are the Iritty - Koothuparamba roads now? (Via Mattanoor, right?)
The roads are pretty decent. It was a pleasant drive except for the occasional insane private buses plying between these towns.

Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
Regarding. the stay at Iritty - my condolences!!! Where did you have food from?
We ate from various places. Shanti Sagar, few places, names of which I don't remember. Also, I managed to locate a distant relative and ate from their place too. We had a group breakfast arranged at Surya and it was decent.

I would recomment Shanti Sagar as a pretty decent place to eat. It's on your right, somewhat opposite to the first temple arch, when you travel towards the bridge from the town center.

Rex
Old 30th January 2009, 13:34   #145

Originally Posted by skyliner34 View Post
hey all....which is the best road from bangalore to mangalore?
heard there's an other road to mangalore via mysore? any info on this road guys?
Please refer to the following link:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route-...road-info.html
Old 30th January 2009, 14:37   #146

Bangalore-Coorg-Kannur

Hey,
The makutta section(between kootupuzha and perumbadi checkpost) is in pathetic condition now the road work is not yet started.I have traveled through that route last week and it was horrible for me only some trucks and jeeps are operating through that route.Kindly avoid this route and go via mananthavadi...
Old 16th February 2009, 17:29   #147

Driving to mattanur - Looking for company

I'm planning to drive down to mattanur (solo as of now) in my M800 on 19th.
Starting time fixed at 5am from Bangalore.
Anybody is welcome to join in. PM me in case you would like to join.
Old 21st February 2009, 16:08   #148

Makuta Road (Kootupuzha to Perumpady) contract issued

Report : Makuta Road (Kootupuzha to Perumpady) contract issued.
News : Malayala Manorama
Date : 21 February
Edition : Kannur (Page 2)

The contract for repair and restoration of the 16.5 km long stretch of the ghat has been issued to a Mangalore based contract firm headed Ravishankar Kini. As per the instruction from Karnataka High Court division bench, the work has to be started and a report regarding the progress has to be submitted to the bench within 90 days.
The work will start from 23 Feb and will be completed within the time instructed by the HC, stated Kini. The total cost of the project is 22.5 crores. The time limit for completion of the work is 12 months.

Workers, materials and equipment required for the project has already started to arrive at Maakuta from yesterday.

This is a good news.
Plus the Kannur Mattanur road is sanctioned for 6 lane in the budget presented to the state yesterday.

Last edited by nithinnarayanan : 21st February 2009 at 16:10.
Old 22nd February 2009, 22:25   #149

So finally a good news..!!

Nitin, read the same in Deepika also, they are reporting that, the trees in the roadsides are started geting axed...!!

Also the HD Kote - Bavali - Kattikulam section of the Mysore - Manathawady road is getting repaired soon.

Rajesh
Old 23rd February 2009, 15:29   #150

Hurray!! Hope we can do away with those private buses soon!