Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 28th January 2020, 07:16   #12421
Senior - BHPian

Re: All Roads to Kerala

Traffic ban n Kuthiran today and tomorrow from 8 am to 5 pm. This is for cars and all other vehicles except route buses going from Trichur to Palakkad, they have to take alternate routes. There is no restriction on travelling from Palakkad to Trichur
Old 28th January 2020, 11:21   #12422
BHPian

I did a Coimbatore - Mattancherry (Kochi) trip on 25th early morning. Started from Coimbatore at 4.30a and reached Kochi at 8.45a with a 20 minutes break in between. Roads were OK, nothing much to complain but at some bridges at the entry and exit there are some bad undulations. One bridge which by passes Mannuthy Juntion has very bad entry point. It is almost like a hump and since I know this point I always slow down. But at night this might be tough to locate for unknown people.

Walayar Toll gate - Do not know why. Express lane was closed and was directed Fastag lane. The operator says move forward but how much ever I moved the scanner did not read my card. Required Manual scanning both up and down. I am really not sure where the scanner is placed. Not a good experience.
Paliyekara Toll gate - Did not face any issues here. The normal lanes meant for Fastag read the card easily and was out in 5 to 10 minutes both the ways. I saw the express lane had always issue here. Someone enters with no balance and creates block in this lane. So better to avoid the express lane.

Started from Thaneermukkom, Cherthala at 6pm on 26th Jan. Took 2 hours to reach Aroor due to human chain against CAA . Huge block on the thannermukkam - cherthala road.
Reached Coimbatore at 12.30am with a break of 15 minutes.
Kuthiran was normal, no major traffic block both the ways.
Old 28th January 2020, 15:05   #12423
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by deemash View Post