Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 24th October 2007, 11:56   #16

Mutton at 9 AM in the morning . Wifey will say I am crazy !!! hehehe

What is the place around Karnal where I have heard there are some excellent dhabas - I stopped there once 3 yrs back. Was very good.
Old 24th October 2007, 11:56   #17

For excellent non-veg stuff, give a try to puranchand ka dhaba in ambala... it will come on the right hand side while going towards amritsar!!
Old 24th October 2007, 11:59   #18

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
What is the place around Karnal where I have heard there are some excellent dhabas - I stopped there once 3 yrs back. Was very good.
Are you talking about Mayur Dhabha?
Old 24th October 2007, 12:13   #19

Kochar paaji the Chawla chin Inn in Ludhiana serves excellant 'malai kukkad' and then the dhoda burfi of Ludhiana is beyond words..

If you are into something conti then the Hot breads in Sarabha Bazaar is the place. Variety of natural and exotic ice creams at Vasant..

@ Scarysculls - this place ' Rang la punjab ' looks very good. One querry though - do they serve Nveg Food as well ?

I think I am going to take the car now. Thanks for the help bro !!

@sunny - are sunny bhai - police ko goli dene ke tip ke liye thanks ;-)

@aZa - yes I know, that is why the eary planning thing.
Old 24th October 2007, 12:21   #20

Originally Posted by woof View Post
For excellent non-veg stuff, give a try to puranchand ka dhaba in ambala... it will come on the right hand side while going towards amritsar!!
Mutton at 9 AM in the morning . Wifey will say I am crazy !!! hehehe

Yes woof, thats the place.
At Karnal thats the Zilmil complex, right before the Toll gates when you go towards Asr. But you will reach there at 8.
We stop at a dhaba 1km before zilmil. Its our fav place. the best chicken. Once we drove 100kms from noida at night just to have chicken, because we felt hungry late night(early morning you can say) and wanted to eat butter chicken.
I can give you Longitude/Latitude coords for the same if you want. I have it marked on the GPS
Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Kochar paaji the Chawla chin Inn in Ludhiana serves excellant 'malai kukkad' and then the dhoda burfi of Ludhiana is beyond words..

If you are into something conti then the Hot breads in Sarabha Bazaar is the place. Variety of natural and exotic ice creams at Vasant..
Bhai, you want to send him into city. The Nearest Chawla chicken is near Aarti chowk.
As for ludhiana, did you know Baba chicken recently won a nationwide chicken contest.

Getting into city and getting out will waste 3 hours if you include eating time.
So better to stick to ambala and have mutton at 9am in the morning. What a better way to start the day buddy.

Last edited by tsk1979 : 24th October 2007 at 12:25.
Old 24th October 2007, 12:27   #21

Looks like.. instead of travelroute query... this thread has become more of guide for dhabas on the GT Road
Old 24th October 2007, 12:28   #22

@ GD Bhai - ab aapne dil ki baat kari hai na !! Now we are talking business - hmmm - I can almost smell those dishes and kukkad

Tsk is right - I cannot waste time getting in and out of the city - will stop at dhabas on the way - Malai kukkad and all those yummy foods can wait till I get into amritsar - I have heard there is a Makhan Fishwala there serving the best Amritsari Fish & Butter Chicken - yumm....

BTW - GD Bhai - What's yr name ? I hate these Nicks
Also tsk ? Name please ? I am Varun Kochar
Old 24th October 2007, 12:30   #23

My name is Tanveer Singh, and GD is Guru Dutt.
Old 24th October 2007, 12:35   #24

Oh yeah - I remmeber Guru Bhai's name now - he told me a few months back - Ok Nice to meet you.

Thanks a lot for the inputs Guru Bhai and Tanveer Bhai !!

I am really looking forward to this trip now wth all the great food awaiting.
Old 24th October 2007, 12:54   #25

If you are going with wifey then I'm sure on way back if it is evening time at Khanna, then she will certainly want to buy fresh green vegetables that look so delectable.

My better-half always used to do so - sacks of gobhi, cabbage, ginger, garlic, beans etc..

Oh yeah - I remmeber Guru Bhai's name now - he told me a few months back - Ok Nice to meet you.

Thanks a lot for the inputs Guru Bhai and Tanveer Bhai !!

I am really looking forward to this trip now wth all the great food awaiting.
Old 24th October 2007, 12:54   #26

For breakfast i.e. paranthas more specifically

stop at Ahuja No. 1 Dhaba at Murthal
or stop at Mayur just as you cross Karnal

they both serve Tandoori paranthas with white butter and gud

for rest of meals Tanveer and GD has given u ample lip smacking options
Old 24th October 2007, 13:00   #27

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
If you are going with wifey then I'm sure on way back if it is evening time at Khanna, then she will certainly want to buy fresh green vegetables that look so delectable.

My better-half always used to do so - sacks of gobhi, cabbage, ginger, garlic, beans etc..
Guru Bhai - I have an Accent and not a Safari - Sacks Kahan rakhoonga ??

And I am not even going to take her around from there, else she will definetely buy some, which is the last thing I need.
Old 24th October 2007, 15:30   #28

@ Scarysculls - this place ' Rang la punjab ' looks very good. One querry though - do they serve Nveg Food as well ?

I think I am going to take the car now. Thanks for the help bro !!
Nope. It doesnt. Actually, its a fixed menu only. But worth your non-veg sacrifice. Not bad to eat veg also sometimes. Right?

rsjaurr or some other Jalandhar members can shed more light on that.
You can PM clipto333, captainsokhi or archerdyal for any info relating to Jal.
Doc RSJ lives 1.5hr away from Jalandhar (in Batala)

Ok - So I head inside the city ( Ludhiana ). I suppose it is then a 2 hr drive to Amtitsar from there.
Yes. NH1 divides Ludhiana into "old" and "new" city. You need not worry about anything. Once you are on NH1 just count 360kms from Delhi border and you will reach Jalandhar. Amritsar is further 100kms away from that.
No need to worry about any turns, byepasses enroute. Just continue arrow straight.

Last edited by ScarySkulls : 24th October 2007 at 15:42.
Old 24th October 2007, 15:45   #29

As for ludhiana, did you know Baba chicken recently won a nationwide chicken contest.
Wow man! I didnt know this. Feels nice to hear.

V Kochar. Add 3 chicken joints to your list from Ludhiana if you get time to do it.

Baba Chicken, Chawla Chicken and Aman Chicken.

Originally Posted by woof View Post
Looks like.. instead of travelroute query... this thread has become more of guide for dhabas on the GT Road

Last edited by ScarySkulls : 24th October 2007 at 15:46.
Old 25th October 2007, 12:14   #30

Yes, this is no more a Travel / Route related querry. It is a T-BHP Eating out on NH's Guide

But I like it, I have no complaints.