Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 21st February 2010, 22:23   #76

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
@HVK sir,

You said cop issues exists even on Karnataka TN Border on NH7? At least I have not felt it. May be I would have been lucky? Did you mean a third state's vehicle is caught while crossing the border of 2 other states?
No, this was not at the border, but in the Dharmapuri bypass.

Earlier, the cops (or is the forest check post?) at the KA border (with Goa) on NH17, between Sadashivgarh and Canacona, used to insist on a bribe to let out-of-state cars (they were not stopping either KA or GA cars) pass by.
Old 22nd February 2010, 10:08   #77

rlier, the cops (or is the forest check post?) at the KA border (with Goa) on NH17, between Sadashivgarh and Canacona, used to insist on a bribe to let out-of-state cars (they were not stopping either KA or GA cars) pass by.[/quote]

Hvk,
Not all KA registered vehicles are allaowed to enter the border without a check, It depends upon the registration number, for eg. KA30, KA31, KA22, MH07, MH08, MH09 are most of the time let to pass between the borders without a hassle.
Old 22nd February 2010, 10:51   #78

Just to add to what Sahir mentioned ,use of local language helps, at Polem i.e. Goa -Karnataka border use of local language Konkani or Kannada can see you through in case you know the language.
I have never had problems over last four years,one reason is my wife and kids are invariably there on every trip. They normally dont hassle families.
Once when i was stopped just after some bomb blasts, i told them I am from Karwar though the car is with Bangalore registration & was allowed to pass.
Old 10th March 2010, 01:28   #79

Maoists & Naxals

NH6, from Jashipur to Kharagpur (OR-JH-WB)

Bhutan Border (Samdrup Jhonkar) to Rangia (AS)

NH53, from Silchar to Imphal via Jiribam (ML-AS)

Kadiri to Penukonda (AP)[list]

Has anyone anything to add by way of hearsay, personal experiences?

Please keep adding to the list.

Last edited by hvkumar : 10th March 2010 at 01:35.
Old 11th March 2010, 10:44   #80

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
NH6, from Jashipur to Kharagpur (OR-JH-WB)
Bhutan Border (Samdrup Jhonkar) to Rangia (AS)
NH53, from Silchar to Imphal via Jiribam (ML-AS)
Kadiri to Penukonda (AP)[list]
NH221, Bhadrachalam (AP) to Jagdalpur (CG), via Konta & Sukhma
NH33, Baharogara (JH-OR-WB) to Jamshedpur (JH)
NH23, Gumla (JH) to Ranchi, via Bharno
Old 11th March 2010, 11:17   #81
J.Ravi

I would rate Haveri to Chitradurga stretch of NH 4 as the most unsafe and dangerous stretch due to road widening works, which progress at snail's pace. Absolutely no signages, no info whatsover, huge speed-breakers/humps/bumps that touched the bottom of my Fiat Linea [twice each near Davanagere and Tumkur BP]. It is a blot on NHAI.

Old 12th June 2010, 18:26   #82

hvKumar, Yogesh,

I agree with you when you say that the Naxals dont really target the civilians.

I would want the state the incident which occured on Shringeri - agumber route, where a KSRTC government bus was torched by the Naxalites. And none of the 20 odd ppl in the bus were harmed now hurt in the incident.
I presume, they had to somehow reach Agumbe from the point of incident, but not harmed or killed by the naxalites.
Old 12th June 2010, 18:33   #83

Originally Posted by pramod View Post
I agree with you when you say that the Naxals dont really target the civilians.
I do hope that it stays that way. However, with the escalation in hostilities, I am not sure whether it will remain that way. Naxalism is become more widespread across the nation, and the recent incident of the bus in Dantewada region (CG) was one of the examples where Naxals blasted a bus with civilians in it simply because it also had some cops in it

I remember driving through Panyam region (AP) a few years ago at night - the area was a hotbed of Naxals and vehicles used to be escorted in convoy. In may case, a senior cop hopped into my car and escorted us alone through the troublesome stretch. Maybe, in today's times, that would be dangerous!
Old 31st December 2010, 16:07   #84

Re: Unsafe roads

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
I do hope that it stays that way. However, with the escalation in hostilities, I am not sure whether it will remain that way. Naxalism is become more widespread across the nation, and the recent incident of the bus in Dantewada region (CG) was one of the examples where Naxals blasted a bus with civilians in it simply because it also had some cops in it

I remember driving through Panyam region (AP) a few years ago at night - the area was a hotbed of Naxals and vehicles used to be escorted in convoy. In may case, a senior cop hopped into my car and escorted us alone through the troublesome stretch. Maybe, in today's times, that would be dangerous!
Found this thread only now.
My wifey is from Bhadrachalam. We have some relatives / family friends stretched from BCM to Jagdalpur. I happened to visit BCM after the Dantewada bus incident. I was told by some well known sources that the tactic used by govt. personnel, to hop on a private vehicle, is to avoid Naxals attention. Ofcourse this is done on the pretext of escorting civilians. Some times, depending on the target (read police official cadre/hit list) Naxals wouldn't mind blasting the vehicle. A close family friend happens to be a govt. employee and regurlarly uses tactic, successfully so far.

Never the less, the stretch beyond Charla till Jagdalpur is risk-prone esp during nights, still, as per my sources.
Old 31st December 2010, 16:40   #85

Originally Posted by BusyBoyKK View Post
Found this thread only now.
My wifey is from Bhadrachalam. We have some relatives / family friends stretched from BCM to Jagdalpur. I happened to visit BCM after the Dantewada bus incident. I was told by some well known sources that the tactic used by govt. personnel, to hop on a private vehicle, is to avoid Naxals attention. Ofcourse this is done on the pretext of escorting civilians. Some times, depending on the target (read police official cadre/hit list) Naxals wouldn't mind blasting the vehicle. A close family friend happens to be a govt. employee and regurlarly uses tactic, successfully so far.

Never the less, the stretch beyond Charla till Jagdalpur is risk-prone esp during nights, still, as per my sources.

Yes, you have a point.
BTW, the road from Bhadrachalam via Konta and Sukma to Jagdalpur is totally avoidable, it being the hotbed of Maoists.
Old 2nd March 2011, 11:26   #86

Recently lots of looting incidents have been reported on the Chandil-Jamshedpur section of NH33. Mostly its the villagers who block the road with drums, etc. and then loot. Has happened only during night times. Informed to me by a local Taxi driver.
Old 2nd March 2011, 12:20   #87

Unsafe road in Jharkhand area and people generally do not travel after 5PM on these roads

1. Giridih to Dhanbad 65Km stretch. Naxal prone and dacoity prone. Many times local dacoits name themselves naxal and rob passengers. My businessman friend robbed in this stretch two years back and many other incidents reported.
2. Dhanbad to Tatanagar via Chas, Purulia: Heavy naxal infested area.
3. Giridih to Kodarma via Jamua. Dacoity prone. I myself got robbed once around 8 PM in night while returning from Jamua to Giridih after attending a marriage.
4. Giridih to Dumri via Parasnath: Heavy naxal/lalkhandi infested area.
5. Ranchi to Tatanagar (Jamshedpur): Heavy naxal infested area.

Last edited by anujmishra : 2nd March 2011 at 12:21.
Old 2nd March 2011, 13:41   #88

Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
Unsafe road in Jharkhand area and people generally do not travel after 5PM on these roads

2. Dhanbad to Tatanagar via Chas, Purulia: Heavy naxal infested area.
Dhanbad to Chas (40kms) is safe enough at all times i believe. Its only after chas getting closer to Purulia where naxal problem starts.

Last edited by pkumar : 2nd March 2011 at 13:42.
Old 2nd March 2011, 16:34   #89

Wow, I did Jamshedpur to Dhanbad and back quite a few time on my bike in 2005. It wasn't bad during those times. Also, we did Jamshedpur-Ranchi and back in a car during the same period during the night. Seems like things have gone worse since then.
Old 2nd March 2011, 17:09   #90

Originally Posted by Newpunter View Post
Wow, I did Jamshedpur to Dhanbad and back quite a few time on my bike in 2005. It wasn't bad during those times. Also, we did Jamshedpur-Ranchi and back in a car during the same period during the night. Seems like things have gone worse since then.
Jamshedpur-Ranchi road is worst affected road. Tamar, Chandil, Bundu are heavy naxal infested areas. Similarly, near Purulia naxals are on prowl on Jamshedpur-Dhanbad route.

People say naxal do not harm normal people, but how come you will know whether goons who stopped you on road are naxal or dacoits? Better not the believe such things and take extremely precautionary measure.

As I narrated my businessman friend got robbed between Giridih-Dhanbad. Here is the little story about that:

Naxal: Ye jute (shoes) kitne ka hai? (How much these shoes are for?) <<He was wearing brand new Adidas shoe worth 5K>>.
Friend: Replied, 1 hazaar (1K) ka hoga. (Price of shoe is around 1K) << He told lower price due to fear of outburst>>
Naxal hit him hard called others also and said
Naxal: #$%^^&, yahan pe logon ko khana nahi milta hai aur tum 1 hazaar ke jute pahante ho. (People do not get food and you are wearing shoes worth 1K).

They robbed him for each and every valuables & cash and left him along with his car and driver. Even they took out money from driver's pocket.

Last edited by anujmishra : 2nd March 2011 at 17:21.