Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 24th September 2008, 13:24   #1

Comprehensive list of "MUST VISIT" places in GOA. (Eat / Party / Chill / etc)

Searched the whole forum for a thread on all the "must visit" places in Goa. Couldn't find any. Though there are many travelogue threads, its tough to find out as many would have missed out on seeing a few places. So thought, this thread could serve as a comprehensive listing of all must visit places in Goa.

Kindly chip in with all your recommendations into the following categories:

1. Architecture - Churches etc.
2. Resorts, hotels to stay.
3. Best eatery places - Shacks, restaurants etc.
4. Night Life - Pubs, disco's etc.
5. Beaches and other scenery.
6. Adventure sports - paragliding/trekking/go-karting/sailing etc.

Feel free to chip in with any other categories.

Hopefully, this thread will serve as a ready reckoner for all those planning trips to Goa.
Old 24th September 2008, 13:42   #2

Hey Rahul,

Tito's is a happening disco at Baga beach.

Also visit Anjuna beach and Vagator beach. IIRC Vagator beach has paragliding and jet ski's which can be hired for a while.

Don - a - paola also has some jet ski's and motor boats that you can ride.

Best eateries? Well all over Goa I can say. The best shacks IMO are strewn on the Calangute - Baga stretch.

Last I had been to Goa over 5 years back. Need to make a trip soon but wont happen at least for another year.
Old 24th September 2008, 14:04   #3

Leisurely cruises - Try "Jake the Snake" - he takes visitors on a trip down the Mandovi (he has 2 small boats) to see crocs and dolphins and into an idilic island (on request) called "Santo Estevam" or "St Stepehens". The island gets no visitors and so you will see the real Goa. It has a nice church on the hill (again rarely visited) and a tribute to Christ the king on top of the hillock in the village. Best time to visit is before dusk. View from the hillock is good. Access to the island is by road through a bridge from Marcel and via ferry from Old Goa.

Eat outs - Try chicken cafreal at Hotel Mandovi in Panjim.
Old 24th September 2008, 14:28   #4

I will suggest to go through GOA GETAWAY GUIDE from outlook.
It is best book for travel queries about goa costing @ rs 225.
It descibes about each place in goa for how to get there, what to see, where to stay, where to eat with pics and map.
Old 24th September 2008, 14:43   #5

Churches across Goa have good Architecture - Some how I have fallen in love with Churches in Old Goa.

Some good places to dine and wine:
Souza Lobo - Calangute beach
Brittos - Baga
Sweet Chillies - on the way to Candolim beach

Though I have not personally seen this place I guess there's a house called "Miranda House" which is must visit place. If some one has been here they can throw some light on the same
Old 24th September 2008, 15:18   #6

Sorry I got the name of the house wrong; its not "Miranda House" but "Braganza House" some where in interior south Goa
Old 25th September 2008, 11:18   #7

Souza Lobo - Calangute Beach
Brittos - Baga Beach

Madgaon - Mejwani's !! Simply the best food ( Be it Sizzlers or Butter Chicken ). In the main market of Madgaon.
Old 25th September 2008, 16:42   #8

Archealogical Church (forgot the name). Its a good visit. And don't forget the boat ride on river mandovi in evening where you will jump and dance on the boat.
Old 25th September 2008, 17:17   #9

Here you go:
Eateries (has to be first category)-
1. Florentine's on the calangute road for Chicken Cafreal (Best in Goa, some say, quite a downmarket place otherwise)
2. Kinara on Pato road near Ribandar for the best butter fried tiger prawns ever
3. Britto's at Baga for Xacuti-fish, or chicken
4. Martin's Corner at Majorda- Beef Fry, Frog's Legs during monsoon
5. There is a handcart near the intersection on the highway towards Madgaon. The road goes towards St. Tropez IIRC. Delectable Beef Cutlet. There is also a ramshackle place right opposite Miramar with decent cutlets and Pork Vindaloo.
6. There is a place on Calangute (second on the left as you enter the beach) which has good ambience with live music during season which serves super Tandoori Pomfret, and Masala Fried Mackerel.
7. Rajah's in Panjim Main Market- Best Roganjosh in Goa and huge rotis

I can go on and on. Onto the next category:
Architecture: Old Goa churches. Dont miss St Augustine's. It is in ruins now, but still retains an old grandeur. Salegaon Church- the white church which comes on the right on the way to Calangute. Church on Divar Island on top of a Hillock. Deserted and Peaceful with quite a view. Chhapra fort near Vagatore Beach. The lighthouse at Aguada. The Main Church at Panjim. Dona Paula, Panjim

Nightlife: Visit the Arpora Sat nite bazaar. Quite an experience. Tito's is a tad overcrowded, but still ok. Try the La Calypso on the same stretch (Baga Rd). Helipad and Paradiso at Anjuna Beach. We also used to frequent a place called Primrose in the interior on Anjuna, cannot give exact directions though. Hilltop, and Temple near Anjuna again. For pubs, try Aces at Panjim if you like rock music. White House near Dona Paula- fantastic view, but downmarket again. Also try the floating casino Caravela (Awesome), and Chances at Cidade De Goa.

This is making me too nostalgic. Will come back to it.

Anurag

Edit: The name of the place on Calangute-- Souza Lobo

Last edited by anurag_p80 : 25th September 2008 at 17:19.
anurag_p80 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th September 2008, 17:19   #10

Where is that "Dil Chahta hai" Fort?
Old 25th September 2008, 17:24   #11

Where is that "Dil Chahta hai" Fort?

Ask for fort Aguada. Thats the Dil Chahta hai fort.
Comprehensive list of "MUST VISIT" places in GOA. (Eat / Party / Chill / etc)-dsc03912.jpg  

Old 25th September 2008, 17:43   #12

Originally Posted by hemanthisgreat View Post
Ask for fort Aguada. Thats the Dil Chahta hai fort.
That is not quite correct. The DCH fort is Chhapra, or Chapora, or Chhepra (depends on who you ask) near Vagatore Beach (in a place called Bardez, or Barthez).

Anurag
Old 25th September 2008, 17:47   #13

Originally Posted by anurag_p80 View Post
That is not quite correct. The DCH fort is Chhapra, or Chapora, or Chhepra (depends on who you ask) near Vagatore Beach (in a place called Bardez, or Barthez).

Anurag
Then my bad. We did go to the Dil chahta hi fort and also fort Aguada, so got confused. . The pic is of the Dil chahta hi fort only.
Old 25th September 2008, 19:12   #14

Arambol beach

One of the best beaches in Goa or for that matter wherever you go in India has to be Arambol beach. It is in the north of Goa and is the second northern most beach. Don't be fooled by the normal beach look when you get there but if you cross the rocky part and get to the other end, you will get to a secluded beach which is truly awesome and out of the world. There is also a fresh water lake and it is a truly ethereal experience to keep hopping back and forth between the lake and the sea. Also has some very good and reasonably priced shacks unlike the overcrowded overhyped shacks near Calangute-Baga-Anjuna. Paragliding activities are also conducted atop the hillock adjoining the lake. I along with a couple of friends also explored the origin of the lake which happens to be sulphur springs at some distance away. However, the springs are concealed at quite a distance in a thicket of vegetation and can get quite eerie especially in the late afternoons.All in all total time pass for an entire day.
Old 25th September 2008, 20:40   #15

There's a downmarket joint called "Kapadi Mess" in Bicholim. It's got the best rice plate I've had in Goa. Also liked another called Antique Mardhol. This is located around the Parvorim area.

Last edited by midlifecrisis : 25th September 2008 at 20:44.