Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd October 2018, 13:38   #586
BHPian

Re: Travelling to Europe. Need advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by adimicra View Post
Need some help to finalize by Europe itinerary

In Italy, I am interested in Rome/Vatican, Tuscany and Venice if possible.

Any suggestions welcome.
I am not an expert but will try to give my opinion on some of your queries. It is good that you are planning your itinerary very much in advance which gives you sufficient time to research and tweak your trip if required. Both Italy and Switzerland have a lot to explore so you will have to decide which things interest you and your family the most.

- 3 days in Rome is good and you will be able to cover almost all the important places. Bear in mind that Vatican/Rome is mostly about history, culture and architecture so you will have to decide how interested your family will be in these things. For example, a visit to the St. Peter Basilica will take around 1-2 hours. The visit to Vatican museum can take 2-3 hours. A tour of the Colosseum will take 1-2 hours. In my opinion, you should do guided tours of these places so that you can appreciate the history behind them. I came back from Italy just this week and I had travelled with my wife. We are both not art lovers but we enjoyed the guided tours of these museums/monuments. However, if you feel that your family will not be interested in such things, feel free to omit Florence from your itinerary.

- Florence is the city where renaissance art flourished and produced artists like Michelangelo. People who visit this city usually have two museums on their itinerary (Uffizi and Accademia) as well as various religious monuments. Apart from this, people take day trips to city of Pisa (which has the leaning tower of Pisa) and various villages in the Tuscany region (Siena, San Gimignano etc.)