Team-BHP - Leh and Ladakh - Trip Planning - All queries go here

-   Route / Travel Queries (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route-travel-queries/)
-   -   Leh and Ladakh - Trip Planning - All queries go here (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route-travel-queries/91481-leh-ladakh-trip-planning-all-queries-go-here-2.html)

Originally Posted by rkbharat (Post 2125683)
please give me one seat in one of those 4X4s :D

Your SX4 is equally good for an Leh trip. Seat in a 4X4 will be premium and you have to earn it buddy :D

Originally Posted by MileCruncher (Post 2125692)
I'm hoping I'll have the THAR with HT and AC by then. Most probably will be driving alone as wifey is not interested for an encore.

But I'm planning to go around September after the season ends. Don't want to pay high season prices.

Originally Posted by nix1976in (Post 2125700)
Count me in....late August - early september!!

The reason for May/June is with family and kids, Summer vacation is the only time can be planned for 20 odd days.

Originally Posted by aargee (Post 2125715)
These are few things that I can think of
- Jerry can to hold about 10 lts of fuel
- Dimox tablets
- Lipguard
- Take a hard copy of http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/route-...e-numbers.html

Thanks aargee for the input. Tons of info for Leh visit is available on BHP including the latest of ADC.

Originally Posted by MileCruncher (Post 2125719)
Having done the trip last year with HVK, I think I can say what the following is a comprehensive list of what you require for the trip
Checklist of items to carry
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...EE&hl=en#gid=0
Checklist for cars going to Ladakh
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...FE&hl=en#gid=1

These will be a good reference for first timers.

Originally Posted by Souvik (Post 2125720)
Ah! This is interesting. I am planning next year "again", but this time with parents and family. Hopefully in June or in September.
Souvik

Plan it for June it will be fun going in a group.

Originally Posted by v&v (Post 2125739)
Your SX4 is equally good for an Leh trip. Seat in a 4X4 will be premium and you have to earn it buddy :D.

Acha aesa kya :D, then I will have to arrange a 4X4 for myself, enough of Leh beating for SX4 this year :)

Question - 1
1. Route Basic Query

a) Delhi - Srinagar - Kargil - Leh - Sarachu - Manali - Delhi

b) Delhi - Srinagar - Leh - Kargil - Srinagar - Delhi

c) Delhi - Manali - Leh - Manali - Delhi.

Which is the best route to follow and the reason.
If every thing is normal in Srinagar will love to take this route. Never been to srinagar too.

Good initiative, v&v.

My plans of going to Leh this October flew out of the window due to unavoidable personal reasons, and I plan a trip there sometime in end-May/early-June 2011 (after 29th May). The trip plan includes a couple of days at Srinagar on the way to Leh, and a couple of days at Manali on the way back.

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller (Post 2126621)
Good initiative, v&v.

My plans of going to Leh this October flew out of the window due to unavoidable personal reasons, and I plan a trip there sometime in end-May/early-June 2011 (after 29th May). The trip plan includes a couple of days at Srinagar on the way to Leh, and a couple of days at Manali on the way back.

On the Dot doc. Lets have an impromptu on it and move it on.
I have read many logs doing Leh via Manali. Just wanted to know any specific advantage taking that route.

My personal choice too is via srinagar - kargil - leh - manali

Originally Posted by v&v (Post 2126164)
Question - 1
1. Route Basic Query

If every thing is normal in Srinagar will love to take this route. Never been to srinagar too.

Technically the best option is Route A because:
1. You climb slowly thereby avoiding onset of AMS and descend fast.
2. You coverall the places.
3. Since your permit will be from Leh, you don't need to travel back and forth.

WOW V&V
this is a great initiative. As V&V has already said that me too am planning to do this circuit in Jun2011. Atleast thats the plan for now!!!
I plan to do it with a couple of my friends as my wifey is not to fond of hilly driving.
Lets see as alot could change between now and June 2011.
Harjeev

Is that the earliest that one can go? If its a family then its better to avoid the harsh winters but would it be possible (as a single traveler) to go there early April.

Good initiative v&v.

Having read so many Leh TLs, and tremendous "Leh appetite" that naturally follows after going through those fabulous TLs, I too have started to dream of a Leh trip in whatever way (except flying) possible. So 2011 yes, it could happen with friends, if not with family. And what a better way to do it, then in a T-BHP convoy! Not sure, but, yes, shall explore possibility to be a part of that convoy.

Originally Posted by v&v (Post 2126164)
Question - 1
1. Route Basic Query

All three routes have something about them.

Route a) This would cover the most on the route, however Srinagar is the most unreliable of the part. You need to plan you night halts carefully, you are less likely to face AMS.

Route b) I would not recommend it, i feel the Manali to Leh is most challenging route and most beautiful.

Route c) You would end up doing the same route twice. AMS chances are maximum, although AMS can easily be avoided by taking a few precautions.

Also plan to visit Pongong So lake, if you miss it i am sure you will regret it

Count me in ( with or without family is to be decided later). Also, please let me know

1. Budget (estimated)
a. with our own cars
b. in case anyone hitch hikes

2. Dates at least 3 months in advance (leaves apply [i]karna hai[i]

3. Overall trip duration

Me going again next year. Will spend more time in Himachal at Spiti valley area. Will go to Leh too to cover PangongTso. Not taking Leh -Srinagar route for sure. It's boring.

Nice initiative! Now there seems to be two clear groups - one for Jun/July and another for September. There can be two groups and a team leader (s) to plan on the route, RV etc.

I would be interested in the September one simply because I would be back only by July hopefully.

What is the basic plan? To stay in tents or hotels? Family members may group together.

Hope that T-Bhp is not held responsible for causing traffic jam on the passes etc. :D

This seems to be shaping up well.... I am game for late August - Early september...lets keep tossing ideas around till we get to some concrete conclusion and form the groups as suggested.

Originally Posted by harjeev (Post 2128145)
WOW V&V
this is a great initiative. As V&V has already said that me too am planning to do this circuit in Jun2011. Atleast thats the plan for now!!!
I plan to do it with a couple of my friends as my wifey is not to fond of hilly driving.
Lets see as alot could change between now and June 2011.
Harjeev

Thanks. I agree a lot could change but lets have the basic plan in place.

Originally Posted by bornin70s (Post 2129249)
Is that the earliest that one can go? If its a family then its better to avoid the harsh winters but would it be possible (as a single traveler) to go there early April.

it depends on when the roads to Leh opens.

Originally Posted by LongDrive lover (Post 2129618)
Good initiative v&v.

Having read so many Leh TLs, and tremendous "Leh appetite" that naturally follows after going through those fabulous TLs, I too have started to dream of a Leh trip in whatever way (except flying) possible. So 2011 yes, it could happen with friends, if not with family. And what a better way to do it, then in a T-BHP convoy! Not sure, but, yes, shall explore possibility to be a part of that convoy.

Thanks LDL. Make it happen. Try to make it with family, I will be lots of fun in group.

Originally Posted by changaez (Post 2129640)
All three routes have something about them.

Route a) This would cover the most on the route, however Srinagar is the most unreliable of the part. You need to plan you night halts carefully, you are less likely to face AMS.

Route b) I would not recommend it, i feel the Manali to Leh is most challenging route and most beautiful.

Route c) You would end up doing the same route twice. AMS chances are maximum, although AMS can easily be avoided by taking a few precautions.

Also plan to visit Pongong So lake, if you miss it i am sure you will regret it

As now the route preferred is via Srinagar.

Originally Posted by rideon (Post 2132135)
Count me in ( with or without family is to be decided later). Also, please let me know

1. Budget (estimated)
a. with our own cars
b. in case anyone hitch hikes

2. Dates at least 3 months in advance (leaves apply [i]karna hai[i]

3. Overall trip duration

Great :thumbs up. Tentitive date is last week of May 2011 to 20th of June Max.

Originally Posted by TaureanBull (Post 2132186)
Nice initiative! Now there seems to be two clear groups - one for Jun/July and another for September. There can be two groups and a team leader (s) to plan on the route, RV etc.

I would be interested in the September one simply because I would be back only by July hopefully.

What is the basic plan? To stay in tents or hotels? Family members may group together.

Hope that T-Bhp is not held responsible for causing traffic jam on the passes etc. :D

Thanks TaureanBull. I think September batch will be mostly singles as families with kids wont get holiday for 15 - 20 days.