Old 9th December 2013, 11:10   #31

Re: Used car under 2 lakh for college student

You should explore petrol cars, look for Maruti Wagon-R or a Hyundai i10. I am sure this will fit your budget. Diesel cars are not easier to get in this budget and if at all you do get, reliability and cost of maintenance will be a question mark. Try and visit the pre-owned car market in chandigarh on a sunday and I am sure you will get a good bargain.
mints21 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 11:20   #32

Delhi & Chandigarh have a pre-owned car market. Diesels are out of the question. Go for a Petrol i10 or a Santro. Those should typically suit your budget. Make sure you check out dealers whom you know or be ready to be 'taken for a ride'.
pratyush6 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 11:45   #33

How long do you intend to keep the car with you? If not for long then you can probably check out Ikon or Cedia or even Accent. Also keep a lookout for used Fiesta petrol models. The petrol variants of these might fit into your budget. Otherwise as already suggested you are better off sticking to a petrol hatchback from Maruti or Hyundai. You cannot really go wrong with these.
drmohitg is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 12:04   #34

Forget getting a diesel car with safety features.

If the budget is slightly flexible, then you can look at (all petrol with safety kit):
Hyundai i10- hassle free maintenance
Ford Fusion- if you want extra space and practicality. Parts may be expensive though
Gen 1 Swift- cheap and hassle free to maintain
Maruti Suzuki SX4 - the M16A petrol motor is really good, the car has pretty good dynamics, good ground clearance, cheap to maintain, reliable, perhaps a poor man's Mitsubishi Cedia (the SX4 has rally genes too)
Ford Fiesta- the 1.6 motor in the old Fiesta was such a treat. You could even mod it a little to make it like the fiesta 1.6s
Mitsubishi Cedia- Excellent driveability, classic looks, brilliant ground clearance, brilliant dynamics. Everything you have heard about the Honda Civic cna be flushed down the toilet in comparison to this car. The car will not need frequent visits to the workshop since it has Japanese rally bred reliability but when it comes to getting parts, they might be expensive.

Last edited by IshaanIan : 9th December 2013 at 12:11.
IshaanIan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 14:06   #35

My vote goes to both, a petrol Swift or an i10 (It's a tie). Basically, a budget of 2 Lakhs should fetch you a '06 or '07 manufactured car ('08 too if you're lucky) or a '07 Era model i10. Personally, I'd recommend a Swift due it's higher perceived value than an i10. You simply can't go wrong with one! It's fun-to-drive and later, when you have the cash, pimp and spruce it up! Besides, ladies prefer Swift more than an i10 . Most probably, your cash should fetch you an LXi model. Remember to check the car thoroughly well and keep us notified about your decision. Do read the article on buying used cars once!

PS Did I mention? Hassle-free service and reliability too!

Keep revvin'
S@ndy

Last edited by S@ndy : 9th December 2013 at 14:08.
S@ndy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 14:25   #36

My brother just bought himself a 2006 Honda City ZX VTEC for 1.75 L after negotiating hard (he's in Sales). Spent another 32k on repairs and maintenance. The car is a dream to drive, plus the Honda reliability and reasonable maintenance through our FNG.

I'm sure there'll be similar deals you can crack in Chandigarh!

All the best for your search.
Cocooner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 17:24   #37

Thank you all for the prompt and knowledgeable replies. The true tbmp experience
Now one car I would'nt mind stretching for is the Jazz(Just catches my fancy). But perhaps a similar vintage Polo would be cheaper? I have no use for the extra space and fancy magic seats.
The Cedia sounds yummy, but how is it to live with one? Its discontinued,yes? Can Mistsubushi with it's already sparse network provide enough support? I would love to have one as it is a true enthusiast's drive (have seen it at the raid a lot! )
Dopamine is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 18:05   #38

2 lacs for polo. You will not get a polo even if you put 1 Lac more.

For 2 Lacs you would get a pre 2004 NHC, Lancer P, Getz P Zen P only, Alto Santro Maybe a I10. Indica D Indigo Astra D,

Jazz will require Minimum 3.50 Lacs

Cars are typically expensive in Chandigarh.

Also try Mahindera Assure and sec 7 Market.

If you want I can help you out.

If you want I can get you a 1993 W124 200 D for 1.50 lacs
manikjeet is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 18:31   #39

For 2 lakhs you can get a used A-Star Zxi with ABS & Airbags. A 50,000 run car may be procured under 2 lakhs on account of its poor market position. Also sourcing spares aren't difficult as many parts come from a common bin.
100kmph is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 18:39   #40

If you want a safe car (with or w/o abs/airbags), consider these:
Chevy Spark
1st gen Maruti Swift
Maruti A-Star
Hyundai i10 1.1 (no safety) but car still crashworthy
2nd gen Honda City

Other cars:
Maruti 800 - cheapest to run and maintain
Maruti Alto - same
2nd gen Maruti WagonR
Hyundai Santro

Parts will be available for all the above cars

You can also find Esteems, Balenos and Accents, but wouldn't recommend them.

Last edited by amolbh : 9th December 2013 at 18:42.
amolbh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 18:46   #41

Buy an M-800 . Invest the remaining money somewhere and use the returns to supplement the fuel bills.
Your pocket money can then be better spend.
bullboy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 19:11   #42

IMO, your best bet would be the Swift ZXi, which came with ABS and Airbags. You will get great examples for around ~2 lacs.

Its,
  • Reliable.
  • Fun
  • Safe
  • Cheap to maintain.
  • Comfortable for two.
  • Is mod friendly, if you decide to soup it up, after you finish college and get a second car.
  • and still looks pretty damn good!
dhanushs is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th December 2013, 20:43   #43

Try yourself getting a neat and clean Honda City Vtec (1st gen). Your classmates will envy you.

Other options are Hyundai Accent, Maruti Esteem, Hyundai Verna P and hatchbacks like WagonR, Alto, Santro etc
Old 9th December 2013, 20:59   #44

I have a personal bias towards an Esteem. I got my 2007 Vxi for 1.4L with 60k on the odo, five new tyres, tax paid till 2017 (Kolkata has 5yr taxes amounting to 20k), insurance and transfer from True Value. No issues with the car at all. Had a one year warranty as well, which I didn't need to use.

With the rest, get a FFE and alloys.
Old 9th December 2013, 21:18   #45

Do consider the Nano around your budget. It now comes in bright colors and has free service and warranty.
Cost the amount you will spend on maintenance for second hand car thru your college, you will have a trouble free new ride with the Nano.

Alternatively in seconds market A-Star has good build quality and peppy to drive.
HillMan is offline   (1) Thanks