Old 23rd March 2006, 16:48   #1

Ford Ikon or Hyundai Accent?

One of my friend is keen to buy a mid-size car. He has shortlisted Ford Ikon and Hyundai Accent. Need advice from Car gurus here as to which one will be a better buy in terms of Ride quality, Mileage, Space and Maintenance?
Old 23rd March 2006, 16:53   #2

Ikon and the Accent ??
I would have expected that shortlist about a year or two back, but not now.

Why doesnt your friend take a look at the new boys on the block - the aveo, fiesta and the NHC. Also, add the baleno and lancer for a balanced choice.

Last edited by goldie_malhotra : 23rd March 2006 at 16:55.
Old 23rd March 2006, 16:58   #3

^ what goldie said.

But if the choice is really between the two, it is a tough call. The Ford is a really good car to drive. The Accent is a better car to own.
Old 23rd March 2006, 17:07   #4

Ford for handling, being driver's car, good backseat comfort, better looks and performance.
Accent for better resale, good A/S/S and for being jack of all.

Choice is yours
Old 23rd March 2006, 17:15   #5

Originally Posted by goldie_malhotra
Ikon and the Accent ??
I would have expected that shortlist about a year or two back, but not now.

Why doesnt your friend take a look at the new boys on the block - the aveo, fiesta and the NHC. Also, add the baleno and lancer for a balanced choice.
Goldie, Ikon & Accent bcoz his budget is 5 - 5.5 lacs!
Old 23rd March 2006, 17:22   #6

in 5-5.5 lakhs there are some more options.
try to look elsewhere as both your choices are not so much in demand now.
Old 23rd March 2006, 17:25   #7

Originally Posted by RX135
Ford for handling, being driver's car, good backseat comfort, better looks and performance.
Not the 1.3 Flair that ford is offering now - the handling,performance and drivability are not a patch on what the bigger 1.6 is famous for.

Accent GLE also for far better interiors and exteriors, and the 1.5 GLE is definitely more refined and better to drive than the Ikon 1.3. And might give you decent FE as well.
Old 23rd March 2006, 17:26   #8

Originally Posted by finneyp
Goldie, Ikon & Accent bcoz his budget is 5 - 5.5 lacs!
hmm - why not try to throw in the baleno too ??
or maybe stretch to lower versions of aveo or fiesta
Old 23rd March 2006, 17:37   #9

Well, Finney. Are you talking about the Ikon 1.6 or the 1.3. I was under the impression that you were talking about the 1.6. If your friend is considering the 1.3, please ask him to go for the Hyundai.
Old 23rd March 2006, 17:47   #10

Originally Posted by goldie_malhotra
Not the 1.3 Flair that ford is offering now - the handling,performance and drivability are not a patch on what the bigger 1.6 is famous for.
Yes, you are right. It is not as great as its big brother 1.6, but it still is driver's machine. Offers exciting performance and driveability.
Old 23rd March 2006, 18:02   #11

Originally Posted by RX135
Yes, you are right. It is not as great as its big brother 1.6, but it still is driver's machine. Offers exciting performance and driveability.
Driveability, yes. Performance - not by a long stretch of imagination. The Ikons have always given the impression of being faster than they really are, and thats because of the way they go. And vice versa for the Accents that have been called slow and underpowered when they arent.
Old 23rd March 2006, 18:07   #12

Accent is about to be replaced. Ikon is now really old.

Does he really need a boot? If not, the Getz is a better choice than either of these two. If only it didn't have such a lethargic engine though.
Old 23rd March 2006, 18:15   #13

Need advice from Car gurus here as to which one will be a better buy in terms of Ride quality, Mileage, Space and Maintenance?
Ride Quality - Accent= soft wobbly, Ikon=harsh firm
Handling - Ikon=brilliant , Accent=uhmm ok
Milage - I think both are equal here.
Space - Ikon has better back seat and space than Accent
Maintainence - Accent cheaper people say , but I dont agree after owning an Ikon for 4 years. I would say both on par but Hyundai A.S.S is better.
Its your friends call now. Ask him to test drive both and check which feels more comfortable.

Last edited by normally_crazy : 23rd March 2006 at 18:16.
Old 23rd March 2006, 18:45   #14

One of my friend is keen to buy a mid-size car. He has shortlisted Ford Ikon and Hyundai Accent. Need advice from Car gurus here as to which one will be a better buy in terms of Ride quality, Mileage, Space and Maintenance?
1.Ride quality : no doubt, accent wins hands down, its gives a plush ride which most of the buyers seek in this segment...however, if u want better handling..ikon wins.

2.Mileage :(with a/c ON)
accent GLE= ~11-12kmpl
ikon flair = ~12-13kmpl

so, not much difference, it will depend on ur driving style.

3. Space : ok, let me put actual figures here

Ikon :
Rear Seat: legroom min/max: 61/82.5
Headroom : 90cm
width : 120cm

accent:
Rear Seat: legroom min/max: 63/85
Headroom : 92
width : 125

butt, ikon's seats are higher than accent, so getting in-out is easy and thats why it gives an illusion of better rear seats.

accent's seats are quite low, difficult to get in-out..
but its the lower seats which gives a nice ride quality.

4. Maintenance: Hyundai has one of the best A/S/S ,plus spares are cheaper too.

5. Price
ikon on road in delhi: ~5L, not sure though, but has ex-showrrom price of 4.69

accent GLE on road in delhi: 5.60L
Old 23rd March 2006, 18:48   #15

IKON vs. Accent

If you are a front seat driver -IKON
If you are a back seat driver - Accent