Old 24th March 2006, 12:27   #1

4 lakh budget in bangalore ..Which car?

My cousin is looking to buy a car here in bangalore ...this will be his first car but he is looking for a sedan ....what car can be bought for 4 lakhs ?????
i was suggesting a baleno while he was talking about an Accent ...
we want something thats still in production...so no OHC .....

how much would a 1-2 years old baleno cost ???

Satya
Old 24th March 2006, 12:30   #2

What about the Lancer??
Old 24th March 2006, 12:36   #3

Originally Posted by speedsatya
how much would a 1-2 years old baleno cost ???
Call McLaren...he went Baleno hunting after his Zen was smashed, before deciding to buy a new one finally. He had discussed various options that were available, but the common thread was that there werent many available 2nd hand as not many were sold. If you went asking for a Baleno, it immediately becomes a seller's market.
Old 24th March 2006, 12:40   #4

Originally Posted by karthik247
What about the Lancer??

no lancer ...what about a second hand swift ???????
Old 24th March 2006, 12:48   #5

imho, no second hand car for a first time buyer, until and unless the car is of someone very close to him, who can give him the true picture of the car in discussion.
i thinks that the first time buyer values peace-of-mind above everything.

no matter how 'known' a dealer is, he might hide some info or the other about the car from an innocent first time buyer.

coz as a first time buyer he might not be used to that maintenance which comes along with a second hand car as a bonus!

although the prices of second hand cars seems very tempting, but it is better to avoid second hand cars for the first time buyer.

and in 4lakhs, there are no sedans.
ask him to take test drive of Santro or Wagon R, etc.

and do tell him about the A.S.S. part too.
and also about the not-so-reliable quality of second hand cars.
Old 24th March 2006, 14:39   #6

http://us.rediff.com/money/2005/feb/15spec.htm

And a new Sedan that comes closest to your budget is the good old Amby

Last edited by anarchist : 24th March 2006 at 14:40.
Old 24th March 2006, 14:57   #7

Originally Posted by anarchist
http://us.rediff.com/money/2005/feb/15spec.htm

And a new Sedan that comes closest to your budget is the good old Amby
Perhaps the lowest end Petrol Indigo too ... with the current lot of discounts that they are offering ...
And maybe a Petra as well
Old 24th March 2006, 15:03   #8

what about the accent ??????what vintage accent or baleno can we find in that budget ??????
Old 24th March 2006, 15:05   #9

My suggestion would be Baleno. Reliable, sturdy and better performer.
I think for about 4 lacs you can get an late 2002-early 2003 lxi model...
Old 24th March 2006, 15:10   #10

speedsatya - Used Baleno's are not easy to find and the same goes for OHC, Accent yes you can find but not sure on how good it will be, but why dont you ask your friend to look at the Red Lancer which is available at 3 lakhs in Market Place section as well, should be a good buy.... You could try National Motors Inc Near Garuda Mall he is a wide variety of cars, negotiate on the price as well as get the cars checked by some mechanic before you finalize on one...

Found this on my company forum "anyone interested to buy a 1 yr old silver Baleno LXI with 6k mileage? 5.1 lacs. call at 9886300705. You could try this out

Last edited by anarchist : 24th March 2006 at 15:23.
Old 24th March 2006, 15:19   #11

Well, this might be a little off topic but nevertheless, Fiat has some 45 units of Fiat Petra ELX end 2005 models up for grabs. These screamers can be yours for as low as 4.75 Lakhs ex-showroom with all the bells and whistles. People who are looking for a sedan in the pride range and who dont mind the fiat badge can go for these screamers.
Old 24th March 2006, 17:08   #12

Well there arent many balenos up for sale in bangalore .. Atleast that was the case when i was on the hunt .. However satya , under 4 lacs u could get urself a pre 2003 model ..

For more details check out this thread ..
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/market...ngalore-2.html
Old 24th March 2006, 18:35   #13

Hey Satya, after reading Mclaren's thread, I just remembered that TrueValue-Mandovi, Vijayanagar had for sale an Altura and a Baleno as recently as two weeks ago (both were pre-2003 and should fit into the budget). Try calling any Mandovi, they might be able to confirm if it is still available.