Old 28th March 2014, 10:51   #736

Re: Upgrading from A to C segment- need help!

Malayrai, you should stick to Honda City. Choose Petrol or Diesel option based on your needs and requirements.

Verna may be rich in features, but when it comes to re-sale, smoothness and comfort it stands no where near Honda.

Have a look at the rear seats of Verna, they become a pain for a person sitting at rear during long journeys. The suspension problem still persists and Hyundai is trying its best to address this issue.
Old 28th March 2014, 11:34   #737

Malay,

My suggestion would be to stick to your original booking given that you'll be running the car just approx 1000kms a month.

Also you're going in for a model which has just been launched , so the excitement will be on for 3 years at least :-)

Originally Posted by malayrai View Post
Hello All,
I am looking at a sedan within Rs. 1 million for mostly city driving with an average running of about 1000 KM per month.

booked an IVTEC Honda city VMT in December 2013. The cost on road is around Rs. 10, 02,000 (Gurgaon).

the Diesel Hyundai Verna (SX) is costing around 10,35,000 on road (Gurgaon). Got tempted towards it (differential of Rs. 35,000, is fetching me a diesel car).
Old 28th March 2014, 11:35   #738

Seeking your valuable input to:

1. Whether the Diesel car makes economic sense considering my usage.( But at the same time also the fact that it’s just 40K price differential).
With a 1000km monthly run and a price differential of only 40k, it makes a lot of economic sense to opt for the diesel car.

3. Is it a big hassle for first time Diesel car drivers to get used to the functioning of a Diesel car?
Absolutely No. You do not have to worry about anything at all apart from ensuring you get diesel and not petrol in the Diesel Verna .

4. Considering Cost being the same should I go for Petrol Honda City VMT or Diesel Verna SX. (Usually the Petrol vs Diesel debate hovers around the time required to recover the cost differential which in this case is very low).
Well I have driven the Honda City petrol extensively. Haven't had much experience with the diesel Verna ( have driven it for approx 200 kms a couple of times). To be honest both the cars are not great handlers. Never felt comfortable in the Honda City over speeds of 110-120 as the car feels too light. The petrol engine is very rev friendly and fun to drive in the city but nothing great on the highways where the Verna's diesel engine would be slightly more fun to drive.
drmohitg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2014, 12:19   #739

I would agree with Mohit here. By no means, the City is going to a be an extremely better handler than the Verna. What the Verna loses out marginally to City in the Handling, it more than makes up with its great looks, interiors, the diesel mill and a better A.S.S. Also the petrol City will not fetch you a better resale than a diesel Verna.

Considering the price difference, go for the diesel and you would not regret if your driving suddenly increases :-)

Last edited by swami.n : 28th March 2014 at 12:21.
Old 28th March 2014, 12:25   #740

Being present in this forum, I suppose you are interested in driving/tours, I would recommend a diesel car over petrol. It may be 1000 kms per month for the time being, but after a couple of months/years, you may clock double this figure or more with a diesel car.
Old 5th April 2014, 12:22   #741

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Check out the rear seat of Honda City before you decide on Verna. I am also in the same boat searching for a sedan. The rear bench of City is miles better than Verna - ample thigh support and acres of leg room, and good angle for resting your feet as well. If you think you are unlikely to use the rear seat or at least very rare then it's a different equation.

I TD'd both the cars and 2014 Verna did bottom out on a seemingly manageable dip on the road. High speed handling was also better in City.
Old 8th April 2014, 00:06   #742

Get the Ford Fiesta, dynamically a far far better vehicle than either the City or the Verna.

Nothing to beat the smoothness of a Petrol engine. A few years down the black fuel is anyways going to cost more than the white one as is the trend internationally.

4. Considering Cost being the same should I go for Petrol Honda City VMT or Diesel Verna SX. (Usually the Petrol vs Diesel debate hovers around the time required to recover the cost differential which in this case is very low).

Many thanks,
Old 25th April 2014, 16:46   #743

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Hello everyone, my almost 4 year old Wagon R CNG is getting a little long in the tooth, and i have set my hearts right on the City Diesel VX, but seems a bit out of reach at almost 13.5lac OTR in Thane. Maximum i can shoot is for 11lac. I do not want to go in for VW/Skoda for the fear of ASS, and Ford/FIAT does not give me an assured feeling of a resale. I drive ~2000KM a month, 80:20 City/Highway. Earlier i didn't have a serious thought for the Verna but now seeing some slight improvements meted out and lower pricing compared to City, does it make more sense? What i want from the Car (in order of priority) is 1) Comfortable Ride 2) ASS 3) Space 4) Efficient.
Does that still make sense for City VX or Hyundai would cut it? I can wait till December if there is some other suitable car coming around.
Old 25th April 2014, 17:58   #744

Originally Posted by Zubin21 View Post
Hello everyone, my almost 4 year old Wagon R CNG is getting a little long in the tooth, and i have set my hearts right on the City Diesel VX, but seems a bit out of reach at almost 13.5lac OTR in Thane. Maximum i can shoot is for 11lac. I do not want to go in for VW/Skoda for the fear of ASS, and Ford/FIAT does not give me an assured feeling of a resale. I drive ~2000KM a month, 80:20 City/Highway. Earlier i didn't have a serious thought for the Verna but now seeing some slight improvements meted out and lower pricing compared to City, does it make more sense? What i want from the Car (in order of priority) is 1) Comfortable Ride 2) ASS 3) Space 4) Efficient.
Does that still make sense for City VX or Hyundai would cut it? I can wait till December if there is some other suitable car coming around.
If you really only care about comfy ride, service, space and efficiency, then yeah the Verna should do you just fine. The updated suspension will mean that she doesnt pitch and wallow as much so one can actually enjoy that soft ride.

However do be warned that the Maruti Ciaz/Alivio/YL1 is on its way and that is one cracker. Space is claimed to be class leading and one can see so from the dimensions itself, will most definitely be efficient and won't let you question ASS quality Reports also suggest that it will come with well sorted ride and handling dynamics, a plethora of features and the images show it to be quite the looker both inside and out.

This is Suzuki's latest clip on their concept which should be out in the last quarter of this year;

Last edited by IshaanIan : 25th April 2014 at 18:02.
Old 25th April 2014, 18:08   #745

Unless you are in the resale business it does not matter. I have a Swift Zxi that I want to sell at a decent price but I am not getting that price as the market is flooded with used Swifts. Now on the other hand I have a Mitsubishi that I have no intention of selling yet I have several serious buyers with ready cash calling me every other day. This for a vehicle that is a proclaimed resale car market dud.

Both Ford and Fiat make excellent diesel engine cars that are fun to drive, frugal and offer decent after sales experience. Rest it is your money and your decision.

As for suitable car there is no car that will be 100% suitable for any one. There is always something else coming up on the horizon.

Originally Posted by Zubin21 View Post
......and Ford/FIAT does not give me an assured feeling of a resale. ...........

.........I can wait till December if there is some other suitable car coming around.
khoj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th April 2014, 18:51   #746

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Unless you are in the resale business..

Both Ford and Fiat make excellent diesel engine cars that are fun to drive, frugal and offer decent after sales experience. Rest it is your money and your decision.

As for suitable car there is no car that will be 100% suitable for any one. There is always something else coming up on the horizon.
Well for the ford i had it earlier (ikon) and i better stay away from the brand.. it just is not reassuring to me personally. And although i agree that there always will be better things up, Dec is what maximum i would want to wait if there is something coming up in that time frame and not more.
Old 13th May 2014, 13:20   #747

Am not sure why this debate has been deleted (not questioning the moderator authority here but a reason as to why)?

It was a good debate and it was definitely the Japs/Kor (Maruti SX4, Honda City, Hyundai Verna) vs the Europeans (Vento/Linea/Rapid). Everyone is entitled to an opinion and it wasnt getting personal at all (except for a few references here and there). It would be great to have the discussions back (probably water it down if the moderators think about some of the wordings). I think it was going in the right direction for a prospective buyer about mileage/features vs handling/safety.
JayKis is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th May 2014, 13:59   #748

Originally Posted by JayKis View Post

It was a good debate and it was definitely the Japs/Kor (Maruti SX4, Honda City, Hyundai Verna) vs the Europeans (Vento/Linea/Rapid). Everyone is entitled to an opinion and it wasnt getting personal at all (except for a few references here and there). It would be great to have the discussions back (probably water it down if the moderators think about some of the wordings). I think it was going in the right direction for a prospective buyer about mileage/features vs handling/safety.
Fair enough. The posts have been moved to this thread (Japanese or European cars? Whats your pick in India?) where they are more on-topic.

Last edited by noopster : 13th May 2014 at 14:01.
noopster is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th May 2014, 16:54   #749

I am planning to upgrade to a diesel sedan (around 10 - 11 lacs), this thread has come very handy, have just scanned the last 3 pages, need to read through all the pages soon.

However, I have shortlisted the below cars:

Fiat Linea - being a very happy owner of Fiat Palio (for last 10+ years), I am naturally inclined to go for Linea, but the underpowered 1.3 MJD is a big NO!
If it had a 1.6 MJD, would have blindly gone for it. Rumours say Fiat will launch the same sometime this year. If it is confirmed, am ready to wait.

Honda City - a very good option, but the downside is Electric power steering & OTR may be around 12 lacs+ which is beyond my budget.

VW Vento - 2nd best to Linea, European car with a 1.6 TDI engine, downsides - Electric power steering, high maintenance cost & unproven ASS.

Ford Fiesta - overall good package, but not sure of ASS & maintenance cost.

Have not considered Verna, Rapid, Scala, Sunny for some obvious reasons.

Suggestions are welcome!
Old 19th May 2014, 17:00   #750

Originally Posted by finneyp View Post
Ford Fiesta - overall good package, but not sure of ASS & maintenance cost.
Ford is reasonable with regular wear and tear items, the bill gives minor shocks for accident related expenses.

You may go through MAS' ownership thread for an idea about the costs: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...completed.html
ramzsys is offline   (1) Thanks