Old 12th September 2014, 18:31   #871

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Originally Posted by suhas_raj View Post
What I remember from my test drive of the city ?

Flimsy to average build, pathetic high speed dynamics & an evident bumpy ride. Its just an average car that's big in size & carries a H badge. Two aspects that's enough to make it sell well in India !

No offence to any current owners of the city, but the motorbeam review seems overly biased.
None taken and I won't argue about anything but the high speed dynamics.

Having driven the car at speeds I can't talk about here , the car never felt nervous and straight line stablity was outstanding, the body roll was well controlled and with the upgraded tyres I'm running my car on it cornered reasonably well too.

I'd still rate it below the Fiesta and the Vento when it comes to handling but that does'nt make it pathetic , its not even average , the dynamics are pretty good actually.
Old 12th September 2014, 20:58   #872

Originally Posted by Rocketscience View Post
None taken and I won't argue about anything but the high speed dynamics.

Having driven the car at speeds I can't talk about here , the car never felt nervous and straight line stablity was outstanding, the body roll was well controlled and with the upgraded tyres I'm running my car on it cornered reasonably well too.

I'd still rate it below the Fiesta and the Vento when it comes to handling but that does'nt make it pathetic , its not even average , the dynamics are pretty good actually.
Well... We can agree to disagree

City did not give me the confidence to take it beyond 100 kmph on a pretty straight road with a few bends. The car felt nervous & twitchy at high speeds. Now it could be due to a lot of reasons as it was a test drive car after all. That being said may be a tyre upgrade from the useless 165's can resolve the issue, but why should I be doing that when I have paid over 10lacs to Honda already. I feel that's a rip off !!

Last edited by suhas_raj : 12th September 2014 at 21:00.
suhas_raj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th September 2014, 21:44   #873

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Mod Note : Please do NOT use acronyms (e.g. NHC) when referring to cars. You are ONLY permitted to use the full Make & Model name for cars. Thanks!

Originally Posted by Rocketscience View Post
and with the upgraded tyres I'm running my car on it cornered reasonably well too.
I agree with this bit, I recently upgraded from 175/65R14 Michelin Energy to 195/60R14 Yoko ES-100 on our 2nd-gen Honda City and the grip is outstanding.

The difference is tangible around corners and where the dolphin City felt it would move sideways, now it bites deeper and holds its line, of course acceleration and FE takes a hit.

Never assumed importance to up-sizing but its crazy to believe, they can make a world of difference.
Of course the CIty does not turn into a Fiesta classic (same gen) and that sure footed dynamics the Ford exhibits is lacking.

By this I do not mean the current City will run circles around a Fiat or Ford or VW in handling, but a tire upgrade can bridge the gap to uh-so-slight difference, but coming back to this review, and moreover with those current tires, this verdict by the magazine folks that the City is dynamically almost as good as the above trio is quite overboard, Honda's aren't all that bad but they aren't that close to the handling bench mark either.

Last edited by GTO : 13th September 2014 at 15:57.
Old 28th September 2014, 10:53   #874

Re: Volkswagen Polo 1.2L GT TSI : Official Review

OK guys, I want an advice from you all. And its really urgent. Given the budget of 10 lakhs, can't decide which car to buy. Our main priorities are outright performance and safety. Fuel efficiency is not a great concern, but would certainly be pleased with a good FE. We are looking after a petrol car, not an oil burner(I am a petrolhead). The cars being shortlisted by me are the VW Polo GT TSI, Ford Ecosport Ecoboost, Ford Classic, Fiat Linea T-Jet and the Toyota Liva TRD Sportivo. We plan to keep the car for at least 7 years. And , I am only in standard 7. Many years left to have my own license. So all that 'WE' stuff.

Last edited by .anshuman : 29th September 2014 at 13:17. Reason: Typo corrected. Thanks
Old 28th September 2014, 15:37   #875

Hello neel, good to see a young petrol head here. Your query is posted in the wrong thread. Use the report button (below the handle in your post) to request the moderators to move it along with my response to the appropriate thread. It is a rookie mistake so don't fret, just set it right.

Coming to your query, since this will be your family's first car therefore out of the lot shortlisted by you I would pick the Ford Fiesta. It is a stable platform and has proven itself on our roads. However, looking at the 7 year period I would recommend that you ask your father to take a look at the Honda City or the Honda Amaze. A Honda will easily last for 7 or more years without rusting, no issues w.r.t. to availability of spares etc and will be easy to sell out or to be used as a reliable second car once you get your license.

Originally Posted by petrolhead_neel View Post
OK guys, I want an advice from you all. And its really urgent. Given the budget of 10 lakhs, can't decide which car to buy. Our main priorities are outright performance and safety. Fuel efficiency is not a great concern, but would certainly be pleased with a good FE. We are looking after a petrol car, not an oil burner(I am a petrolhead). The cars being shortlisted by me are the VW Polo GT TSI, Ford Ecosport Ecoboost, Ford Classic, Fiat Linea T-Jet and the Toyota Kiva TRD Sportivo. We plan to keep the car for at least 7 years. And , I am only in standard 7. Many years left to have my own license. So all that 'WE' stuff.
khoj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2014, 10:30   #876

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Hello neel, good to see a young petrol head here. Your query is posted in the wrong thread. Use the report button (below the handle in your post) to request the moderators to move it along with my response to the appropriate thread. It is a rookie mistake so don't fret, just set it right.

Coming to your query, since this will be your family's first car therefore out of the lot shortlisted by you I would pick the Ford Fiesta. It is a stable platform and has proven itself on our roads. However, looking at the 7 year period I would recommend that you ask your father to take a look at the Honda City or the Honda Amaze. A Honda will easily last for 7 or more years without rusting, no issues w.r.t. to availability of spares etc and will be easy to sell out or to be used as a reliable second car once you get your license.
I have reported to the moderators according to your advice. A hearty thanks for your advice. Will look forward to the Honda City and the Ford Classic. But may I please know that why did you not recommend the VW Polo GT TSI? My dad was very pleased with its TSI engine, DSG Gearbox and the safety-first approach of VW. As the Polo is a hatchback, it would also be very easy to maneuver in the city. The gem of an engine was easy on pocket too. I would be very obliged if you disclose the reasons for not advising me to have a look at this hot hatch. As you are an expert, I would take your comment very seriously.

Moderators, please be free to remove my post from this thread an put it on the appropriate one. I know that this is .
Old 29th September 2014, 13:12   #877

I omitted the Polo with an eye on the 7 year owner ship time frame. I am not convinced regarding the longevity of VW especially it's electrical/electronic bits. The other reason is the cramped rear seat, which will feel increasingly so, as you grow up. The Polo is not meant for growing families. Further the various posts on the forum regarding the owner's experiences at various VW service centres across the country raise a lot of red flags. Do note these are my thoughts and not Gospel that the parish has to adhere to. Sometimes decisions taken from the heart rather than the head are 'happy' decisions & this is especially true when it comes to cars.

If keen on automatic hatchback you could look at the offerings from Maruti, though these will feel sparse when compared to the Polo's interiors. The other option could be the i10 Grand in it's AT avatar(if it has been launched). Better interiors than those in the Maruti and with great build quality to go the distance. If you can do with a manual gear box then the i20 is a great family hatchback, it has the space to accommodate 5 with ease along with their luggage all in a small form factor.

But may I please know that why did you not recommend the VW Polo GT TSI? My dad was very pleased with its TSI engine, DSG Gearbox and the safety-first approach of VW. As the Polo is a hatchback, it would also be very easy to maneuver in the city. The gem of an engine was easy on pocket too.
khoj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2014, 13:30   #878

Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs ...

OK guys, I want an advice from you all. And its really urgent...
Hi Neel. Glad to have you on board.

To come to your question, I'd recommend not being fixated on a petrol. I say that as someone that has only owned petrol cars for the last 20+ years having picked my first diesel car earlier this year.

Modern diesels are fast, reliable and offer much better economy than their petrol counterparts. A petrol car is a joy in itself, but modern diesels are very evolved.

That said, here are my choices for you, given your preference for performance oriented cars.

1) Vento diesel DSG

Stretch the budget by a bit and you can get the newly launched Vento DSG. It's quick, refined, economical, has nice interiors and should be the car of choice.

2) Polo petrol DSG

This car is a hoot to drive and very mod friendly. It's second on my list only because I prefer a sedan (you never know when a boot comes in handy) and because the Vento does everything it can and a bit more. If it's petrol only though, this has to be the first choice.

3) Fiat Linea t-jet

This is THE petrol sedan to go for, without question. It's built like a tank and it's quick as heck, but it's poor mileage and questionable service standards push it down my list.

Good luck with your shopping, and enjoy your time on here.
iliketurtles is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2014, 16:35   #879

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs ...

Originally Posted by iliketurtles View Post
Hi Neel. Glad to have you on board.
==========
Good luck with your shopping, and enjoy your time on here.
Thanks a lot fellow team-bhpian iliketurtles. Would look forward to the cars suggested by you. Will surely ask my dad to think about a diesel.

Fellow team-bhpian khoj, thanks again for your advice. But the Hyundai cars suggested by you are not at all enthusiasts cars, though they are perfect family cars. We demand real performance from our car.
Old 5th October 2014, 00:18   #880

OK guys, I want an advice from you all. And its really urgent. Given the budget of 10 lakhs, can't decide which car to buy. Our main priorities are outright performance and safety. Fuel efficiency is not a great concern, but would certainly be pleased with a good FE. We are looking after a petrol car, not an oil burner(I am a petrolhead). The cars being shortlisted by me are the VW Polo GT TSI, Ford Ecosport Ecoboost, Ford Classic, Fiat Linea T-Jet and the Toyota Liva TRD Sportivo. We plan to keep the car for at least 7 years. And , I am only in standard 7. Many years left to have my own license. So all that 'WE' stuff.
If its performance and safety then among the shortlisted ones you have I would recommend the Linea Tjet n the Polo/Vento TSI. Both are solidly built and can easily last 7 years or until you can drive, legally

Both are classics and also manage to be contemporary at the same time...They will serve you well while you want some head turning mean machines during your college days. I can only wish I had the opportunity to choose between such awesome cars while I was your age
suhas_raj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2014, 01:08   #881

Neel, seeing your location as Burdwan, which all dealers are available in your city?

That would help members to provide better suggestions. Although many have suggested Linea TJet - I doubt if FIAT service is available in the region.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2014, 11:52   #882

Neel, seeing your location as Burdwan, which all dealers are available in your city?

That would help members to provide better suggestions. Although many have suggested Linea TJet - I doubt if FIAT service is available in the region.
Both VW and Fiat showrooms are not available in our town. But they are available in Kolkata, which is approx. 100 kms away.

My father has again gone mad about his dream car Maruti Gypsy. He loves travelling, and would take his car for long drives in the hilly areas sometimes. He has an awful liking for 4x4s. When told about Scorpio and Safari and all other diesel SUVs, he doubts whether they are as reliable and fun-to-drive as a high revving petrol engine. Guys please help

Note from Support - Please go through the rules. Not more than two smilies allowed per post.

Last edited by Eddy : 5th October 2014 at 15:24. Reason: Note inline
Old 5th October 2014, 13:57   #883

Both VW and Fiat showrooms are not available in our town. But they are available in Kolkata, which is approx. 100 kms away.

My father has again gone mad about his dream car Maruti Gypsy. He loves travelling, and would take his car for long drives in the hilly areas sometimes. He has an awful liking for 4x4s. When told about Scorpio and Safari and all other diesel SUVs, he doubts whether they are as reliable and fun-to-drive as a high revving petrol engine. Guys please help.
If your dad has been bitten by the 4x4 bug and he's a true petrol-head, tell him to consider a used 2.4liter Grand Vitara the car can take ample abuse, tackle almost any terrain, and go about the city in a civilized manner. It is also very powerful, extremely reliable, easy to maintain and doesn't have any overly modern tech that would confuse anyone He can get one for about 7lakhs which is an absolute steal.

Last edited by Eddy : 5th October 2014 at 15:25. Reason: Quoted post edited
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2014, 16:21   #884

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
If your dad has been bitten by the 4x4 bug and he's a true petrol-head, tell him to consider a used 2.4liter Grand Vitara the car can take ample abuse, tackle almost any terrain, and go about the city in a civilized manner. It is also very powerful, extremely reliable, easy to maintain and doesn't have any overly modern tech that would confuse anyone He can get one for about 7lakhs which is an absolute steal.
Finding one would be a mission in itself. Our classifieds have only two listings for the GV, ever! It is a rare car and owners tend to keep it for long thanks to its capabilities- should be rarer in the used market.

And at 10L, getting a new 4*4 is not possible as well without a good increase in budget- the only choice would be entry level Scorpio S4. I think crossovers like Ford Ecosport / FIAT Avventura are the best bet here- which are actually cars that are fun to drive and reliable but have jacked up 200mm and above ground clearance to clear some of the bad stuff.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2014, 23:02   #885

Almost hell-bent on buying the Ford Classic. Can you BHPians tell me about the car's problems?
As this is gonna be our first car, dad doesn't want to stretch the budget too much.

And yes, he plans to buy a Maruti Gypsy MG413W someday, a *pre-worshipped* one.