Old 23rd November 2014, 11:35   #976

Re: Replacement for Palio Multijet in 2015

Duster is a good upgrade from Palio. You will get wonderfully absorbent ride, long lasting robust mechanicals, ability to take abuse, good ground clearance, decent enough handling, good performance, still getting you good FE and option of the capable AWD variant that can take you places, but only if you willing to overlook Ergonomic Disasters, Poor seating comfort(for a vehicle of this price), cattle class interiors(even the new Alto K10 has better plastics) and some more..

Some may suggest the 85ps variant with lesser lag and all but the Petrolhead in you is only going to love the 110ps engine, when you see the brochure and the price list the logical side of you going to convince you for the 85ps version but do not fall for it, the fun lies with the 110ps variant, it keeps pulling on open roads where 85ps runs out of steam.

Ecosport is another good option, though not as bad road abuse friendly as the Duster. Interiors feel premium, handling is fun, Engine refined, features list is fat, ground clearance is good enough, is cheaper to buy compared to Duster but lacks AWD variant, engine though refined and based on the tried and tested 1.4 TDCI that been around since decade offers just about decent performance(nothing like 110ps Duster), Ride is nowhere as good as Duster and space is at premium.

Pick your set of compromises!
.anshuman is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 12:17   #977

Fiesta fits the bill perfectly; the best handling, solid ride, supportive seats, basic safety kit on all variants, tractable motor though not powerful, solid build.
Old 23rd November 2014, 13:51   #978

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Okay, we've got a pretty interesting situation here- The daily commute would be 90% on the expressway. The daily running- 85-90KMS. Works out to an approximate 28k running annually. Okay, make that 30k +, as the car will have to plenty of to-and-fro trips to South Bombay and Satara from Poona. Add Bangalore to the list as well. Ah! The cons of being self-employed!

Since the car will be parked in the open (yes, in the open, as the existing parking slot only allows the WagonR to fit in, and tightly at that), a pretty abuse friendly car will be needed. Absolutely NO time for all that detailing nonsense, here, the car is needed for dedicated personal service, 24/7/365.

It will be self driven mostly, so preference to driving dynamics & handling is must. Handling need not be exceptional. Oh, yes. Over average. Must look sublime, understated. No excess bling quotient. No annoying rattles preferred. Speeds will be a little higher than average though, but the car will not be abused for it. Smooth, gradual acceleration, as they say. Periodic maintainence should be quite regular. Dealership must be reasonable, and more importantly, friendly. Out you go, VW!

And most importantly, the person in question is a sedate driver.

Lastly, considering all the factors, the car must be abuse friendly, storage friendly, and must be disposable anytime, although we would prefer to keep it for 2,00,000+ kilometers, as a result, atleast 10 years of support in the form of sales & service are needed. ABS is a must as well. Airbags, if possible would be excellent.

The budget- Cap it within 10,00,000. We've tested the Volvo S60 and chucked it out. Cannot justify a car like this, for such strainous use. And the price, could not justify paying 40 big ones, when a car within half the price will be nearly as capable.

PS: The Fiat dealership is very close to our place. Kindly recommend. NO Honda City and Verna, BTW. Both are fit for the W&W thread. Ewww! No SUV's and that Urban SUV nonsense as well. Hatches and sedans strictly.

All yours, ladies and gentlemen.

Last edited by FINTAIL : 23rd November 2014 at 14:00.
Old 23rd November 2014, 14:06   #979

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Fiesta comes with robust build, solid dynamic capabilities, tractable motor and supportive seats. That would be my pick of the lot

Considering you mentioned a Volvo S60, is it right fir me to assume you could stretch your budget a little over 10lacs? In which case, the Renaul Fluence would be a very worthy candidate; easy to drive yet very decent dynamic capabilities out on the highway, cruise control helps, surprisingly tractable motor with easily adequate power and torque, extremely comfy, the best ride quality in the segment swallows potholes with ease, understated yet elegant looks, good safety kit and robust build. No-nonsense car according to me. Do atleast give it a try
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 14:57   #980

Originally Posted by IshaanIan View Post
Fiesta fits the bill perfectly; the best handling, solid ride, supportive seats, basic safety kit on all variants, tractable motor though not powerful, solid build.
I too recommended Fiesta and the OP has replied that he is not confident with the spares availability and other possible problems associated with models that sold very less a few years later. Considering he might be keeping it for a longer than usual time frame, there is a chance he might face spares issues after 5-6 years or so, similar to what he is facing now with his Palio.
Old 23rd November 2014, 16:07   #981

There might be a slight disappointment with the top end when driving the 8v motor of the diesel fiesta.

However it is all smiles in the urban conditions where <2000 rpm throttle response(too) matters.
Old 23rd November 2014, 16:13   #982
D4D

When you talk about high usage, it's the Japanese cars that come to my mind. Don't get me mistaken, even Hyundais are reliable.

My list of recommendations(In the order of preference):
1. Maruti Ciaz
2. Hyundai i20
3. Nissan Sunny(not the best dealers around)

Originally Posted by FINTAIL View Post

It will be self driven mostly, so preference to driving dynamics & handling is must. Handling need not be exceptional.
I'm not commenting about dynamics as I haven't driven them. But going by reviews, both cars are average.

Nissan Sunny is ok, but has a scary brake pedal.

Oh, yes. Over average. Must look sublime, understated. No excess bling quotient.
Sorry i20 is not this car. But still have a look at it.

Speeds will be a little higher than average though, but the car will not be abused for it. Smooth, gradual acceleration, as they say. Periodic maintainence should be quite regular.

Dealership must be reasonable, and more importantly, friendly. Out you go, VW!
i20: No problem. High speeds? 6 speed MT. Smooth acceleration? Delivered. Maintenance issue? Nope.

Ciaz: Smooth acceleration? Not the smoothest. Maintenance problems? This is a maruti.

Sunny: Maintenance? Depends on the dealer.

ABS is a must as well. Airbags, if possible would be excellent.
Don't worry about these safety features. They're there is some or the other variants of these cars.
D4D is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2014, 17:44   #983

Have you considered an Avventura?

A delicious car indeed!

I absolutely love it and I think you will too!
Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others-img_1311.jpg  

Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others-img_1315.jpg  

Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others-img_1316.jpg  

Old 23rd November 2014, 18:27   #984

Hatch : Punto 90HP
Pseudo SUV (???) : Ecosport / Avventura
Sedan : Linea

I don't see any other car could satisfy you after driving Fiat Palio extensively. Since you already have Fiat A.S.S experience, Fiat or Ford in future shouldn't be an issue.

Regarding Linea, it is longest in the segment. If you could live with it, you will end up having an perfect blend of economy, power and stylish car in your garage.
Old 23rd November 2014, 18:41   #985
D4D

Originally Posted by architect View Post
1. Economical: Palio has given me 17 kmpl average all combined. New car should exceed that in 75% bumper to bumper conditions.
Most modern turbo diesels will give good FE. So don't worry. Honda Amaze can make a good case for itself here.

2. Power
Why not the 100 bhp honda Amaze? It's powerful, torquey, efficient and noisy too.
I hear that lag is a problem in the 90 bhp ertiga too. (Thoughh fiat might have changed the tuning)
3. Highway performance and off-road ability:
The i20 is one of the best highway cruiser thanks to it's 6 speed MT and loads of torque. Talking about offroad ability, Ertiga(GC: 185mm can handle most rough roads)

4. Ride and handling: Coming from the Palio, I definitely don't want anything worse.
Sorry, the i20 isn't upto the Palio's standard. I think only German cars(and ford) can come close to the handling of the Fiat cars.

5. Space: I don't need a big , hulking vehicle with the interior space of the Innova, but I would like better rear seats and high seating as parents and in-laws are old with knee and back problems. Easy ingress / egress are important.
The i20 has low seating and a bad ingress. But it gives you tonnes of space for a hatch. Why not the ertiga in this case?

6. Safety: ABS + 2 Airbags is a minimum requirement. Would prefer 6 / 8 airbags but only XUV500 and Ecosport provide them
Most cars get ABS and D+P airbags in top variants.

1. Duster
2WD(85 bhp) is worth the stretch. But you really will feel over charged once you the interior.

2. Ecosport
Won't feel like an upgrade in terms of space and for the price you will pay for the top end diesel.
3. Ciaz
But the most easy to maintain. Why not check Dzire too? (75 bhp though)

4. Polo: The new Polo TDI ticks everything except the rear seat space. It's worse than my Palio. Vento is beyond budget.
For a family car, forget the Polo. But a terrific machine.

5. Punto 90 HP / Avventura / Linea
Known territory and are good choices.

6. i20: This is the other choice which I find to be a bit of a compromise. But I am willing to explore it.
The dynamics may not be of your expectation level, but the best car in this comparison IMHO.
Old 23rd November 2014, 20:59   #986

Originally Posted by D4D View Post
Honda Amaze
Why not check Dzire too?
Originally Posted by architect View Post
I am not looking at the compact sedans, I don't like them aesthetically
Both were ruled out already.
i20, I'm not sure if he could live with it's handling performance after driving Palio.
Old 23rd November 2014, 21:00   #987

Fiesta comes with robust build, solid dynamic capabilities, tractable motor and supportive seats. That would be my pick of the lot
When you talk about high usage, it's the Japanese cars that come to my mind. Don't get me mistaken, even Hyundais are reliable.

My list of recommendations(In the order of preference):
1. Maruti Ciaz
2. Hyundai i20
3. Nissan Sunny(not the best dealers around)
Okay, agreed. The issue now is- The car needs to be storage friendly, right. And here's why. For two years maybe, the car will be used day and night. Sure. And for the next two, it might have to sit at home for 10 months, and be used properly only in 2 months.

And perhaps be used a lot after that. Day and night, yes.

Hence, for this reason, I was considering a Petrol. A really unpredictable running pattern, and with long term ownership of atleast 8 years / 2,00,000 kilometers. A hatchback perhaps? A Punto 90HP to keep costs low, considering the factors?

Of course, service should be good enough in all metros. And yes, considering our parking slot is located in a strange place, excellent GC is needed. And of course, the car will be used, and properly at that, so good GC is a must.

Now, in the car's primary environment, that is the Bombay-Poona expressway, the following cars have a service centre closeby.

A] Fiat.

B] Hyundai. Coincidentally, the Fiat A.S.S is only meters away. A lovely sight to see battered Lineas and Vernas jostle for space in the same bilane.

C] Renault.

D] Of course, the neighbourhood MASS is omnipresent, although our preferred MASS is located in Pune Central. Assuming a couple of days of downtime (at max!) for service, no issues. 'Coz we have other cars at home.

Now? Rugged. Dynamic. Elegant. Understated. Quick. Built-to-last. Mechanically reliable, most importantly.

And so, my order of preference- Ciaz (Only for projectors, and 'coz its new. Somehow, I can batter it, without feeling sorry. )>Linea/Punto 90HP>Discounted: Fluence/Ford Fiesta. The i20/Verna somehow manages to come into this equation.

Last edited by FINTAIL : 23rd November 2014 at 21:16.
Old 23rd November 2014, 22:11   #988

Sorry, the i20 isn't upto the Palio's standard. I think only German cars(and ford) can come close to the handling of the Fiat cars.
Maruti (especially with proper tyres) is equally good as the Europeans when it comes to handling. I'm speaking from my experience with Zen/Swift/Esteem/Baleno.

However, build quality and even ride is no where close to the other well handling Europeans.
Old 23rd November 2014, 22:47   #989

Well, if it is petrol you want, then the 90hp Punto goes out.
Ciaz has one of those weedy K-series motors that are devoid of any of Suzuki's characteristic raw power.

The Linea T-Jet suits your requirements well

Something in me feels like you ought to look for a 2.4 liter Grand Vitara in the used market. You can throw 3 lakhs of hard driving at it and it would take it all in its stride/ The car is understated, decently luxurious, well sorted in terms of dynamics (for an SUV), built solidly (remember this is a direct import Suzuki), and at the same time it has reliability and ruggedness built into the core of its heart. Go through the forum and you will see that it is one of the rare imports that are absolutely easy to maintain. No-nonsense mechanicals, go-anywhere ability and well mannered city car what more could you ask for?
Old 23rd November 2014, 23:03   #990

Well, if it is petrol you want, then the 90hp Punto goes out.
Ciaz has one of those weedy K-series motors that are devoid of any of Suzuki's characteristic raw power.

The Linea T-Jet suits your requirements well

Something in me feels like you ought to look for a 2.4 liter Grand Vitara in the used market. You can throw 3 lakhs of hard driving at it and it would take it all in its stride/ The car is understated, decently luxurious, well sorted in terms of dynamics (for an SUV), built solidly (remember this is a direct import Suzuki), and at the same time it has reliability and ruggedness built into the core of its heart. Go through the forum and you will see that it is one of the rare imports that are absolutely easy to maintain. No-nonsense mechanicals, go-anywhere ability and well mannered city car what more could you ask for?
The Linea T-Jet is a fantastic car which mostly suits all your needs. I would highly recommend it to you.
The Suzuki GV is no doubt a great car. But finding a used one is a mission in itself.