Old 25th November 2015, 18:30   #1111

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others

thanks anurag, khoj, vb-san

Not too keen on a Suzuki, nothing against it.. just been so many years with the brand and I continue to have a Swift as a second car

given that the boring tag doesnt really matter to me - The Altis it is. Will wait till January to book it I guess
Old 28th November 2015, 16:31   #1112

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others

I am a great fan of VW Vento for a long time and had plans to buy one by Jan 2016. I cannot wait anymore because my santro is 7 years old and i need an immediate upgrade considering my long travels. fortunately or unfortunately there came the VW diesel scam and the fix it has offered to implement in the Europe market has confused me terribly.

To be on the safe side i started looking for a alternative sedan which is equivalent to vento and i could not find an exact alternative. Hence i am now thinking/considering of Verna 2015 and city Diesel but i am not completely satisfied:(

All i want is a mid size sedan with the following features:
1) Solid build with refined diesel engine - City diesel fails here
2) Powerful and Punchy and sporty diesel - Again city diesel fails here.
3) High speed Ride handling and Steering feedbacks- City diesels excels here but not sure if verna will excel here. I know 2015 verna had improved a lot but i also understand from experts that it is far lagging from the benchmark set by vento.
3) Fuel efficiency- I understand that i cannot expect a great FE like city's when i want a car with high performance, but at the same time i atleast want a decent FE - means i am fine if i get a FE of around 19-20 on highways and not less than that.

Only car which fulfills all of my criteria above is VW vento/Rapid ; but i am worried if the fix VW offers will degrade the performance and reduce the FE by significant numbers. While many of friends are against me on buying vento/rapid; i want to hear opinions from you guys.

I just cannot even imagine myself driving a sedate car again on highways and be standing on the accelerator with no result.

Please advise. I am terribly confused.Thanks in advance.

Anandh.
Old 28th November 2015, 17:15   #1113

Originally Posted by anandharamanp View Post
I am a great fan of VW Vento for a long time... fortunately or unfortunately there came the VW diesel scam and the fix it has offered to implement in the Europe market has confused me terribly.

I just cannot even imagine myself driving a sedate car again on highways and be standing on the accelerator with no result.

Anandh.
The scam has surely had an impact on customer sentiments. Two of my friends who were in market for a diesel sedan were also big fans of Vento. But one got a Ciaz and another one got a City. VW will need some time and a lot of efforts to come out of this deep pit which they dug out themselves.

As for your case, it's difficult to choose between Ciaz and City as they both are not outright performers like the Vento. If you have the budget and the will, you should check out the mini SUV segment for options like Duster, Terrano, EcoSport and my favourite the S-Cross.
ajay_satpute is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th November 2015, 17:25   #1114

To be on the safe side i started looking for a alternative sedan which is equivalent to vento and i could not find an exact alternative. Hence i am now thinking/considering of Verna 2015 and city Diesel but i am not completely satisfied:(

All i want is a mid size sedan with the following features:
1) Solid build with refined diesel engine - City diesel fails here
2) Powerful and Punchy and sporty diesel - Again city diesel fails here.
3) High speed Ride handling and Steering feedbacks- City diesels excels here but not sure if verna will excel here. I know 2015 verna had improved a lot but i also understand from experts that it is far lagging from the benchmark set by vento.
3) Fuel efficiency- I understand that i cannot expect a great FE like city's when i want a car with high performance, but at the same time i atleast want a decent FE - means i am fine if i get a FE of around 19-20 on highways and not less than that.
A company with known A.S.S. issues, reliability issues and scams like the dieselgate one, is to be avoided at all costs, I mean why promote such nonsense?

The Linea is the only car that compares however buying one would also require a remap since the gearing and weight really bog the car down in terms of performance. Apart from that, the only competition in terms of build, performance, dynamic ability and high-speed stability is the S-Cross (yup truly the first crossover that envelopes the best of both worlds). Try seeing if you can stretch your budget a bit
IshaanIan is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2015, 10:49   #1115

I am a great fan of VW Vento for a long time and had plans to buy one by Jan 2016.
======

Anandh.
I would recommend the Ciaz.

It has a decent Diesel Engine along with the advantage of local spares, Maruti ASS. It is not in the league of VW 1.5 l engine but its very good for cruising & city driving. It has an excellent fuel efficiency. It is pretty easy to drive in the city along with decent highway performance

Ride though on the softer tune is much better than the competitors. Handling at legal speeds is acceptable so is the steering performance.

Feature wise it has a rich list and it will not disappoint you.
Old 3rd December 2015, 19:12   #1116

I am a great fan of VW Vento for a long time and had plans to buy one by Jan 2016. I cannot wait anymore because my santro is 7 years old and i need an immediate upgrade considering my long travels. fortunately or unfortunately there came the VW diesel scam and the fix it has offered to implement in the Europe market has confused me terribly.
I would suggest that you desist from buying VW diesels till the controversy lifts. The papers are full of this and may be GOI will stop their sales till the issue is resolved.

I have always been a fan of Maruti cars, and find their performance decent (not brilliant as the Germans), but then there are practically no A.S.S. issues and the cars last a long time and require minimal attention. Ciaz is a VFM but if you want performance then go for the S-Cross with 1.6L engine. It is going at a steep discount.
Old 14th December 2015, 16:04   #1117

Bhpians,

I am in the market for a new car. The purchase has to happen by end January.

Shortlist is:

1. Baleno 1.3 DDiS Alpha
2. Rapid Style plus TDi DSG
3. S Cross 1.3 Alpha
4. Ford Figo Titanium+ 1.5 TDCi

As you can see, My budget is all over the place. Frankly I can spend upto 14 lacs and need a car that feels good. 90% will be driven by me alone so space is not a concern.

I need a car that offers excitement and value. I am open to suggestions. What do you guys suggest.

I love features, performance and ease of maintenance. Car should feel young and sporty. It will be a very long term car, say 5 - 7 years easily.

I am not sure what all parameters should I be looking at. What should be the ideal way.
Old 14th December 2015, 16:14   #1118

Crazy_Bean
You can add to your list
Fiat Punto Abarth
Polo GT TDi/TSi
Or maybe an S Cross 1.6 by bargaining hard.

But before I can say anything more, I have to say I'm confused. What are you planning to use the car for? City drives? Or anything in particular?

Turbohead
Turbohead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 16:19   #1119

Originally Posted by Crazy_Bean View Post
Bhpians,

Shortlist is:

1. Baleno 1.3 DDiS Alpha
3. S Cross 1.3 Alpha

As you can see, My budget is all over the place. Frankly I can spend upto 14 lacs and need a car that feels good. 90% will be driven by me alone so space is not a concern.

I need a car that offers excitement and value. I am open to suggestions. What do you guys suggest.

I love features, performance and ease of maintenance. Car should feel young and sporty. It will be a very long term car, say 5 - 7 years easily.

I am not sure what all parameters should I be looking at. What should be the ideal way.
With that in mind - I would suggest you check out the Figo TDCi.
It has superb performance, and most of the required features + class leading safety. For the added frills - they can be bought aftermarket (touchscreen HU with carplay, etc.).
The engine is known to be reliable, and the car should be tough. It may not be as fun to drive as say a Punto, but definitely not something that would write it off the list.

The Rapid DSG is a dated product, DSG not withstanding (reliability is a concern with the DSG, especially over 5-7 years). It heavily loses out on ease of maintenance though!

The feature packed ones are actually the Maruti's, but they lose out on the performance aspect compared to the Figo. They are the easiest to maintain, but to be honest - most ford dealers are quite good too!
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 16:26   #1120

Let me confuse you even more Why not the S-Cross 1.6?

From this post, it seems that there are huge discounts available: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offici...ml#post3869462

Vikram

Last edited by comfortablynumb : 14th December 2015 at 16:33.
comfortablynumb is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 17:07   #1121

Originally Posted by Turbohead View Post
Crazy_Bean
You can add to your list
Fiat Punto Abarth
Polo GT TDi/TSi
Or maybe an S Cross 1.6 by bargaining hard.

But before I can say anything more, I have to say I'm confused. What are you planning to use the car for? City drives? Or anything in particular?

Turbohead
Thanks. The car has to be a diesel. Polo feels like a dated product and we already have a vw at home. I am confused too brother. The only reason to consider Rapid is the DSG box. I would love to have a diesel automatic. If manual, then I would prefer going for brands like Suzuki, Ford, Honda etc. I will go german only for the gearbox :P

The car will be used within the city mostly and once a month on the highway (~600 Kms), i hate parking lot door dings, Was considering SUVs just for this reason as they are less susceptible to door dings.

I dont want a long car so hatches or compact SUVs are preferred.

Appreciate your advice.

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
With that in mind - I would suggest you check out the Figo TDCi.
It has superb performance, and most of the required features + class leading safety. For the added frills - they can be bought aftermarket (touchscreen HU with carplay, etc.).
The engine is known to be reliable, and the car should be tough. It may not be as fun to drive as say a Punto, but definitely not something that would write it off the list.

The Rapid DSG is a dated product, DSG not withstanding (reliability is a concern with the DSG, especially over 5-7 years). It heavily loses out on ease of maintenance though!

The feature packed ones are actually the Maruti's, but they lose out on the performance aspect compared to the Figo. They are the easiest to maintain, but to be honest - most ford dealers are quite good too!
Thanks. Figo comes across as an excellent product. The only downside I see is the size, It is grand i10 size, I prefer i20 size but still, I would consider it for that amazing engine. I have a ford fiesta at home and its too good to drive. I am ok with features that Figo offers.

Regarding Rapid, Please read my response to Turbohead above. I love DSGs and automatic would be something I don't have and would love to experience.

Appreciate your help.

Originally Posted by comfortablynumb View Post
Let me confuse you even more Why not the S-Cross 1.6?

From this post, it seems that there are huge discounts available: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offici...ml#post3869462

Vikram
Thanks Vikram, S cross is a good product but it somehow does not feel young. It is definitely packed but I would go for the Creta Automatic if I were to consider S Cross 1.6. That said, Automatic transmissions have my fancy, the only problem is that I cant figure out if it will be worth it sacrificing certain bits to get an autobox. I mean would I be happier with an easy to maintain fast manual, or and slightly painful DSG (read: Rapid).

Appreciate your help.

Please fish me out of this soup.
Old 14th December 2015, 18:28   #1122

Thanks. Figo comes across as an excellent product. The only downside I see is the size, It is grand i10 size, I prefer i20 size but still, I would consider it for that amazing engine. I have a ford fiesta at home and its too good to drive. I am ok with features that Figo offers.

Regarding Rapid, Please read my response to Turbohead above. I love DSGs and automatic would be something I don't have and would love to experience.

Thanks Vikram, S cross is a good product but it somehow does not feel young. It is definitely packed but I would go for the Creta Automatic if I were to consider S Cross 1.6. That said, Automatic transmissions have my fancy, the only problem is that I cant figure out if it will be worth it sacrificing certain bits to get an autobox. I mean would I be happier with an easy to maintain fast manual, or and slightly painful DSG (read: Rapid).

Appreciate your help.

Please fish me out of this soup.
Personally - the fiesta and the new Figo cannot be compared as far as driving pleasure is concerned. They are poles apart, and it reflects in the various threads on T-BHP.
However, with the right tyres, the Figo will be a decent handler though not Fiesta good (trust me - I kick myself for not getting the Fiesta).

Secondly, regarding the DSG: There are people who say that the new DSG doesn't spring up any surprises, but then again there are those who have experienced problems with their new DSGs, including a thread where the Octavia TSi had a mechatronic fire related issue.
If reliability is one of the priorities, if timely servicing and part availability is a priority - I would advise you to stay away from the VWAG group vehicles, especially those with a 7 speed DSG.
The 6 speed DSG which I use on the Laura is significantly more reliable as per statistics, but I still end up worrying about it whenever stuck in a jam, or when i feel a slight jerk.
Similarly, the service and part availability is a put-off!

However, that being said - performance, automatic, and reliability don't go hand in hand in your price bracket. I've been in a similar dilemma, and its either a fun to drive manual car, or a convenient automatic - simply because the most fun diesel automatic (Rapid/Vento) scores poorly on reliability.

At the end of the day, it boils down to your daily commute - is it traffic packed, or is it relatively smooth? If smooth - a fast manual Figo would be a good choice, if not - the Creta A/T as you mentioned is a decent compromise (decent just because the 6 speed AT is a little on the slower side, but comfortable to use in traffic).
There are days I enjoy using our family workhorse - the Etios D, simply because of it's agility and M/T gearbox; and in all fairness, as my daily commute doesn't see much traffic - I am toying with the idea of switching back to M/T (with a nice TSi engine under the hood!)

Similarly, just like you - I would pay the premium for the Creta over the S Cross 1.6 - it's worth it!

Some interesting threads for you to look at, which I am sure you've done:

1) KKC's Figo review: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...1-5l-tdci.html

2) BNM's Creta review including the behaviour of the AT transmission at different speeds: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ip-report.html

Hope these help!

I am still in a similar dilemma - cannot seem to choose between M/T & A/T though performance isn't a criteria as much as comfortable seats, low maintenance, and reliability is.
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 19:06   #1123

Bhpians,

Shortlist is:

1. Baleno 1.3 DDiS Alpha
3. S Cross 1.3 Alpha

With the roads the way they are, I think that Duster 4x4 is a better buy for NCR, You get excellent ride, high CG and an AWD.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th December 2015, 19:41   #1124

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
Personally - the fiesta and the new Figo cannot be compared as far as driving pleasure is concerned. They are poles apart, and it reflects in the various threads on T-BHP.
However, with the right tyres, the Figo will be a decent handler though not Fiesta good (trust me - I kick myself for not getting the Fiesta).

Thanks man. I test drove the figo today. It felt fast and stable but nothing to write home about. The top titanium plus trim is not good value for money i believe but the 2nd and third trim are. Will be trying the Baleno tomorrow.

I also sat in a friends duster, simply can't justify the price for that horrid interior.

The other car in contention is the S cross 1.6. ( only after a healthy discount). Lets see how that goes.

I feel buying a car might turn out to be a gamble and a compromise.

I still feel buying a DSG might be more satisfying from an ownership perspective but that will be the biggest gamble.

My drive is on fairly open roads with twice a week i find myself stuck in cut throat traffic. Distance wise i cover 50% on Highway and 50% in City. but the time spent is 80% in city.

I need good sheet metal as I hate body undulations and door dings.

PS: I was thinking out loud when I was writing above

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
With the roads the way they are, I think that Duster 4x4 is a better buy for NCR, You get excellent ride, high CG and an AWD.
I feel the duster is very overpriced for what it offer. I believe XUV500 and Creta are better buys at this price point. Anyway, I agree with you, but Duster is just not the car for me. Thanks

What do you suggest apart from this.
Old 15th December 2015, 23:03   #1125

I need good sheet metal as I hate body undulations and door dings.
Do not waste your time test driving the Baleno if this is your priority, it has the lightest build and people have complained of dents and door dings already which are a given with any light build car. The only hatches which have solid built are Polo and Punto, when it comes to sedan, it would be Rapid/Vento/Linea/Fiesta.

Creta AT would be a reliable all rounder if you can compromise on driving dynamics which are not so special. S Cross is one Maruti which has a good build quality but i will choose Creta AT over it.

I have personally experienced it and once you get used to buying and owning cars which have a solid build, it is impossible to buy cars with light build, you just wont feel safe enough.
coolboy007 is offline   (1) Thanks