Old 4th June 2006, 23:15   #31

Buy a Conti and bling it
Old 4th June 2006, 23:15   #32

U are missing out a very good car for sake of just 67 thousand rupees..

If you are going for aveo 1.6, u gonna curse urself soon..

for its poor gearbox, poor performance and poor FE
Old 4th June 2006, 23:25   #33

time to look at second hands? BUt 6getting a second to save 7k as speedbuster said...emm.

Do you knw why Karthik didnt get Elantra 2 yrs back? Coz of is looks!

Last edited by jkdas : 4th June 2006 at 23:27.
Old 5th June 2006, 03:23   #34

Originally Posted by Boom Shiva
Buy a Conti and bling it
How come you always think on the lines I do.

I was axually gonna suggest it. A second hand contessa will cost less than a used cielo and with a big 2.4 litre engine plonked under the hood the car can seriously kick some dirt.

Look at what Elantra is coming to after the discounts. Some1 mentioned 1 lac discount.

Otherwise Viva crdi and aveo. Your response about the scorpio is still unclear.
Old 5th June 2006, 07:52   #35

Originally Posted by karthik247
Also like the Chevy Aveo but guess it'll b expensive to maintain.
Optra may not be as expensive..in any case there is 2 yrs service free. Also more a car is sold, less expensive would be the spares..
Old 5th June 2006, 09:04   #36

I heard Hyundai is coming up with the New Elantra in the coming months. Guys can you confirm it??? Is it true???
Old 5th June 2006, 09:27   #37

Originally Posted by gutsy
Optra may not be as expensive..in any case there is 2 yrs service free. Also more a car is sold, less expensive would be the spares..
IF more car.... right?

And I doubt whether the new Elantra would be launched here within this year. We also haev some threads abt this new Elantra.
Old 5th June 2006, 09:37   #38

Karthik,

Go in for the Fiesta 1.6 without a second thought. U like a good drivers car hence I am suggesting this one to u over the Aveo. The aveo is plusher but nowhere near as nice to drive as the fiesta. I drove both quite extensively before zeroing in on the fiesta in TVM.

F.E. is around 11 with AC.
Old 5th June 2006, 10:45   #39

@ Himanshu: Karthik's too young to drive (so I hope he doesn't!). In which case, a comfortable, chauffeur car sounds more practical for him and his mother.
Old 5th June 2006, 10:52   #40

or wait 6 months for the new Accent CRDi ..
while you are waiting , invest the 9 lakhs .. maybe if you are lucky you could end up with enough to have the option of Elantra CRDi, new Accent CRDi and Innova.
Old 5th June 2006, 11:27   #41

[SIZE=2]In B'lore as somebody earlier said, there is a new version sans the ABS, airbags, usual bells , whistles etc called the Crdi GTD. Available for 8.7 lakhs ex-showroom. fits your requirement well[/SIZE]
Old 5th June 2006, 11:40   #42

Originally Posted by Boom Shiva
@ Himanshu: Karthik's too young to drive (so I hope he doesn't!). In which case, a comfortable, chauffeur car sounds more practical for him and his mother.
Obviously u have not met Karthik or seen his driving

Man, u r right, he doesnt drive, he flies in his car.

During our TVM meet last month, he mentioned that he drove down to Kovalam @180 KMPH. I know that the road is very good, but still, 180 is way too much.

P.S. he is a good driver though. Have sat with him once in his Octy, and his car control is quite good. It is a different matter that legally, he should not be within 100 meters of the driver's seat!!
Old 5th June 2006, 11:49   #43

If the GM optra is the same as Lacetti in Korea, I believe this is a very good car to consider.

I really liked the Elantra CRDi for its responsiveness. Petrol will give you a much smoother driver and will get you around 10 kmpl (before first service) for light traffic conditions. However, if you search around this forum, you may many complaining about the low seating and poor underthigh support in the back seat, so you may want to check before you buy. It also suffers from poor resale value (especially for the Petrol) if it is important for you.

If possible, I would suggest you wait for a few months for the new Elantra model to be launched.
Old 5th June 2006, 12:27   #44

Originally Posted by shuvc
or wait 6 months for the new Accent CRDi ..
while you are waiting , invest the 9 lakhs .. maybe if you are lucky you could end up with enough to have the option of Elantra CRDi, new Accent CRDi and Innova.

I do agree with shuvc. I would suggest u to have a test drive of Innova
Old 5th June 2006, 12:53   #45

Never did 180....max i've done is close to 160.

And no waiting another 6months or a year for the new Elantra or the new Accent.