Old 17th August 2006, 17:26   #1

OHC Vtec price. please help!

All,
I am searching for OHC Vtec only (any colour except non metallic) in HYD.
What are the standard price range for OHC Vtec.
I got quote for 2004 done around 45k quote is 6.5 L
and 2002 model same mileage 4.5 L.
Could anyone give the price based on year and approx (around 50k kms) mileage in HYD. IF not HYD, any city in India just for reference so that i am not totally unaware of the present market.
Old 17th August 2006, 17:38   #2

Both the prices seem fair to me. In Mumbai price for 2004 VTEC should be close to 5.8l-6l. Since you are in Hyd, 30-40k + is reasonable.
Old 17th August 2006, 19:24   #3

Did they have OHC Vtecs in 2004? I thought the last ones were made in 2003.

A 2001 Vtec with 45K would cost you between 5-5.4L, so 6.5 for a 2004 should be ok.

Shan2nu
Old 17th August 2006, 19:25   #4

2004 VTEC????? What model are you talking about? The production of the OHC VTEC was stopped in 2003 & as far as I know the NHC VTEC was launched in 2005. Correct me if I am wrong here.

As for the 2002 model I think 4-4.5L is a fair price for a clean car.
Old 17th August 2006, 19:38   #5

thanks to all.
i am not aware of the production of Vtecs. I will check with the agent tomm. The guy is sales agent in ford showroom known to one of my friends. he is not full time agent for used cars (he told he will help me out!). So i will have a look at the cars if possible this weekend(if it doesn't get sold off).
I have the following idea since the prices quoted are fairly decent.
go for 2002 model for 4.5 with same mileage rather than pay high price for so called 2004 model. i have small car and i like to take this on long routes only andi love the ohc vtec.
Also i have read in one of the threads that once a model is stopped, the company has to provide support with spares etc for 7 years. in that case can i expect spares in supply for the ohc for atleast another 4 years? after that will the spare prices shoot up?
Old 17th August 2006, 20:26   #6

Well, I didn't notice this either. OHC was discontinued in 2003. It had VTEC version. ZX has VTEC version but I am not sure whether NHC had VTEC variant or not! If NHC didn't have VTEC then consider there was no VTEC in 2004 as ZX is launched in end of 2005! So after 2003, there is VTEC back in 2005.
Old 17th August 2006, 22:49   #7

Originally Posted by Shan2nu
A 2001 Vtec with 45K would cost you between 5-5.4L, so 6.5 for a 2004 should be ok.
Shan2nu
5.4 for 2001 VTEC with 45k !! I am almost tempted to sell mine
Old 18th August 2006, 09:28   #8

5.4 for 2001 VTEC with 45k !! I am almost tempted to sell mine
Thats the regular rate. One guy was so desperate to own a Vtec he was willing to pay 6L for our 2001 Vtec with 55K kms on it. Hehe.

Shan2nu
Old 18th August 2006, 09:41   #9

2001 Vtec Bangalore 50K Kms - should be approximately 4.6-4.9 lakhs. This variation is again based on the condition of the car and the OE parts retained.

White color will definitely fetch the owner a better price. Also cars from costal regions and number of owners will fetch lesser
Old 18th August 2006, 10:10   #10

Price for 2001 VTEC in Mumbai would be 4.25L, add 30-40k in Bangalore, standard price becomes 4.5-4.75l in Bangalore! Yes, VTECs are enthusiasts cars so they may fetch another 50 grand if are maintained well and buyer is dying to buy one.

Believe it or not, in Mumbai one guy is selling his Jan-2001 VTEC for 3.4l. Very good condition!
Old 18th August 2006, 10:27   #11

Originally Posted by yeis
Believe it or not, in Mumbai one guy is selling his Jan-2001 VTEC for 3.4l. Very good condition!
I wish i were in Mumbai. some how i love the OHC!!
Old 18th August 2006, 10:36   #12

Originally Posted by kutlee
I wish i were in Mumbai. some how i love the OHC!!
Unfortunately I am not in the position of buying a car today, otherwise I could have bought it. Anyways, the deal is going to finalize this 20th and my boss-cum-friend is buying this one. In any case all my five fingers are in ghee!
Old 18th August 2006, 10:51   #13

which is the best loan to go for? the car loan or the personal loan.
Car loan is about 8% flat (approx = 16% dim) or the personal loan = 14%.
Also which all banks are good ones for both loan options. previously i had car loan with SBI which was pretty good dealing.
Old 18th August 2006, 11:14   #14

There were some old-stock 2003 Vtecs, which were on sale until February 2004. These were going for a lacs discount in Bombay.

So, the registration would be 2004 but the build would be 2003.
Old 18th August 2006, 13:38   #15

2004 OHC VTEC!!

Mate,... a sincere advice to you,... please check every bolt n nut and every word on the papers correctly.

I think that the OHC VTEC stopped production in the very late 2003. Or is it a DEC 2003 clearing registered in Jan 2004 and your "salesman" calls it a 2004 vehicle.

Please check everything.

There are ample threads on the VTEC in this forum and a few about VTEC spoofs too! Read them too.

I saw in person an EXi-S shamefully patched up with a VTEC Engine Cap and a double-barrel exhaust!!! So take lots of care in your search.

If it is a 2003 model, the price is almost good, assuming that the vehicle was "Wonderfully" maintained.

As for a loan go with SBI otherwise look for a job switch to a bank like what I did to finance my dreams.

All the best in your search for a OHC VTEC.

Last edited by gbpscars : 18th August 2006 at 13:40.