Old 20th August 2006, 19:33   #1

budget 3.5- 4 lakhs which pre-owned diesel

Keeping it real short:

The budget is supposed to be in the range of 3.5-4 lakhs.The car is to be a diesel and it has to be driven by a lady.Tata indica not preferred.

Is the indigo reliable on the long term.
Old 21st August 2006, 01:46   #2

I don't know if a pre-owned Hyundai Accent CRDi can be bought for the price you listed but if you find one in a decent enough condition, go for it. Fiat Palio D is another car you can consider. Indigo owners will be better able to tell you about long term reliablity.

Last edited by amit : 21st August 2006 at 01:47.
Old 21st August 2006, 02:14   #3

The Indigo is pretty reliable for long term. You could get a 05' Ls for about 3.8-4. But since you say the car is to be driven by a lady, The Indigo's dash could prove a tad high for view.

Why don't you try the new Indica Turbo? You could get a new car, and it's pretty fuel efficient as well.

The Accent CRDi could set you back by a minimum of 4.-4.8 lacs. At least. That is if you can find one in the first place. Low ownership costs and brand loyalty mean that too many CRDi's don't change hands.

If looking for a diesel sedan, try getting a Ikon diesel. Reliable, pretty F.E, and good for lady drivers and beginners alike. A 03' model could set you back by about 3-3.25. You could also look at the Lancer Diesel. 01' model about 3L. Spares are a li'l expensive, though.
Old 21st August 2006, 07:52   #4

try looking for a diesel palio.
it is a very nice vehicle to drive.

second option is to look for Ikon diesel!

accent CRDI and SKODA TDI are still not so bad that you can get them in 3.5-4lakh bracket!

btw, can i ask you why diesel is being the first priority?!
and why Indica is opted out?
Old 21st August 2006, 07:58   #5

For 4L, you are close to a new Indica with PS .. have you thought of this option? Veyron1 has outlined the choices. ..
Old 21st August 2006, 15:15   #6

wise choice to leave out the indicas & indigos, specially for a lady. i think the ikon fits the bill perfectly or u could consider the Esteem Di. comes pretty cheap too, both these cars.
Old 21st August 2006, 15:22   #7

Guys, I think he has made it pretty clear that the indica is out

I would guess if the driving position/dashboard sill is the problem, then tat would rule out the indigo as well.

If the car is lady driven, i would vote for the esteem or zen Di- the one with PS. They would be a little rare though!

Another option is the Ikon Diesel- Quite a rugged car but very high on maintenance.
Old 21st August 2006, 15:39   #8

Check out Palio D, an amazing diesel Car, but very rare to find in the Seconds market.
Old 21st August 2006, 23:45   #9

daily running of around 40-50 kms that is why the diesel
Old 22nd August 2006, 09:45   #10

rahul_intlad,
40-50 kms daily doesnot calls for a diesel car!
imho, to opt for a diesel car, one has to do atleast 1800-2000 kms per month which comes out to abt 60-65 km daily (weekends included!).

one can use a diesel car for 0kms daily too, no one is going to stop him.

but are you aware of other hidden costs attached to owing a diesel model?
search a bit in this forum and you will come to know the difference between Petrol and Diesel cars alongwith their hidden running/maintenance costs!

for your 40km daily travel i'd suggest you to opt for a petrol vehicle.
Old 22nd August 2006, 10:05   #11

Yeah, Why not a Lancer D? Cozy Features... Decent Mileage as welll......
Old 22nd August 2006, 12:02   #12

@ 50kms a day, buying a diesel wont help much unless you do more weekend tours. And, if so, get somethign with boot, like Lancer or Accent. Otherwise, get a Xing or WAgonR ( CNG one)
Old 22nd August 2006, 12:13   #13

Originally Posted by rahul_intlad
daily running of around 40-50 kms that is why the diesel
consider diesel only if you cross 100kms per day. i too was inclined towards diesel because of my weekend regular long trips (monthly total of <2000kms). The indica showroom fellow discouraged me (he is not anyone i know of) and i went for petrol and i don't regret my decision. Beleive me diesel is not worth it unless you travel too much.
Old 22nd August 2006, 12:44   #14

If you dont want indica, because its lady driven, indigo is almost the same. If the reason is "image" then indigo definately has less taxi image than indigo.
But most ladies I have known say Indica/go require "physical force" to drive, the indica even more so!
Same is the case with Palio D, ladies dont like it.
So that leaves you with accent crdi, but that is extremely hard to find. If you cant get that, get a Indigo, and make sure its the TDi version, not the older 62bhp one. you can get one for around 4L.
Old 22nd August 2006, 12:46   #15

I agree with others. Diesel car doesnt make sense. Better get a new petrol car or the recently launched LPG/CNG cars.

In your budget petrol options are Indica Xeta, WagonR and Santro.
Santro and WagonR go well with ladies.