Old 27th November 2006, 19:45   #1

NHC purchase question -pls advice

I am planning to buy a used NHC .Following are the specs pls advise:
1)year :2005
Make :exi
Miles driven :47000
Price expected :6L

I loved the car.Maintained extremely well.No repaints,not a single scratch.
Service history has been maintained with authorised honda service center.
I am satisfied with the test drive, pricing & car maintainance,but i am worried about the kms driven.

Considering it is a honda city,I think inspite of its high mileage ,I can buy this car.

Pls advice if i can buy this car,if so at what price?
Me ,buying this car is based on your feedbacks.
Old 27th November 2006, 19:50   #2

IMO you can, it is generally a trouble free car and since you feel the exterior has been maintained well, I am sure other aspects also have been looked after and it has not been abused. Two issues:

1. Try and negotiate on the price, due to kms driven you may be able to negotiate.
2. Why is he/she selling the car? Is it miles or kms? if it is miles then you are talking about 75,000 km, in which case it has been running as a taxi.
Old 27th November 2006, 19:53   #3

If it has a service record then no probs

Price looks high, a new EXi is around 7.5L
Old 27th November 2006, 19:59   #4

Even though that it's a 2005 model car remember the following things:

1. She's done an abnormally high-mileage of 47k.
2. She's the base EXi model, hence less equipment.

I think the car should be good for you since such mileages don't have much effect on these cars. However the quoted price is too high due to the above two reasons. I would suppose that you should not pay more than 5.25-5.50L tops.

Last edited by iraghava : 27th November 2006 at 20:04.
Old 28th November 2006, 10:32   #5

Thanks for your responses!!
the mileage i have mentioned is in Kms and not miles
Old 28th November 2006, 11:23   #6

Why NHC

Originally Posted by NHCbuyer View Post
Thanks for your responses!!
the mileage i have mentioned is in Kms and not miles
If you are ready to spend 6L why buying a used NHC, have you not thought of a new car in that range: Baleno, Petra, Accent, ....

47000 KMs is very high for a less than 2 year old car, however good the make is. Considering the indian road conditions I'd suggest you to go for a new one.

IMHO NHC is a good car, but may not be worth taking this kind of a risk. I'd go for a new car in that budget range.
Old 28th November 2006, 12:22   #7

If you are buying under loan, you can opt for Kotak and get insurance free. So a new NHC EXi ZX would cost within 7.5L. By extending your budget by 1.5L, you will get a new NHC and a ZX too. ZX is a lot better than pre ZX NHC.
Old 28th November 2006, 12:52   #8

i agree with most of the members here.why buy a used car for 6l when you can get a brand new one for 7.5l.if the owner can bring down the price to 5l,then go ahead otherwise let it be.
Old 28th November 2006, 13:59   #9

hey i just got my nhc zx last week for around 7.40 exi model, imo you should go for it because you will get the new look city (zx), i suggest you should go to a showroom,check it out and then decide.!
Old 29th November 2006, 17:42   #10

I am planning to buy a used NHC .Following are the specs pls advise:
1)year :2005
Make :exi
Miles driven :47000
Price expected :6L

I loved the car.Maintained extremely well.No repaints,not a single scratch.
Service history has been maintained with authorised honda service center.
I am satisfied with the test drive, pricing & car maintainance,but i am worried about the kms driven.

Considering it is a honda city,I think inspite of its high mileage ,I can buy this car.

Pls advice if i can buy this car,if so at what price?
Me ,buying this car is based on your feedbacks.
i feel 6 L is bit high for the usage it has undergone in a short period,
what is your budget.
as our bhpians suggest check out the new, its always better to get a new one than getting a used one.

out of topic but do check out the verna diesel.
Old 29th November 2006, 18:22   #11

Originally Posted by msdivy View Post
If you are buying under loan, you can opt for Kotak and get insurance free. So a new NHC EXi ZX would cost within 7.5L. By extending your budget by 1.5L, you will get a new NHC and a ZX too. ZX is a lot better than pre ZX NHC.

====
Can you eloborate as to how ZX is a lot better than pre ZX NHC?
thanks
Old 29th November 2006, 19:29   #12

====
thanks
They have made quite a lot of mechanical changes apart from the exterior - you can visit any Honda showroom or website, they should have the details. ACI carried a detailed article when the new ZX was announced.
Old 29th November 2006, 20:22   #13

====
thanks
This are what I felt after driving both:
1) Improved suspension
2) Improved pickup

Apart from this, few exteriors changes like:
1) Redesigned bonnet
2) New front grill
3) New headlights, tail lights
Old 29th November 2006, 22:30   #14

6 lac for 47K in ODO for 2005 base NHC is high, bargain for 5 lacs because this is 2006 end so its equal to 2007 almost the car is 2 years old. try to convicne him between 5 to 5.3 lacs. that should be good buy for you.

Ravi.
Old 5th December 2006, 01:10   #15
Max

I dont know about banglore market but 6L for 2005 NHC with 47k in odo is definately high price for mumbai market. In mumbai it shouldn't cost more then 5 lakhs.