Old 30th May 2020, 06:44   #1

Used Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI AT - Buy or run away?

While on the hunt for a premium used car, I came across a Skoda Superb Elegance 1.8TSI AT from 2010 that has done approximately 65K Kms. I find the price slightly attractive but I want to know from the experience of Skoda owners if this is worth taking the risk on?

If my memory serves right, Skodas from this generation have known problems with their DSGs right? What else are the common problems seen in this model or this generation of Skodas?

Should I go for this or is this going to be money pit?
Cyrus_the_virus is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 06:56   #2

re: Used Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI AT - Buy or run away?

Look for other options - that is my advice.

The DSG might be a hit or a miss but the Superb can have the following issues :

1. electricals throwing up errors and ignition coil failing

2. sticky upholstery at places which can be quite an eyesore

3. air conditioning failure

Any issue in the Superb can be an expensive fix.

The odo reading is also suspect.
vigsom is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 07:56   #3

I don't own skoda. Just saw your thread, thought I can not answer, closed and went to this (Upgrade to an AWD AT sub 15L SUV) thread on skoda

From this thread, I learnt, the OP car is also 2010 model and service, repair cost and maintaining is like white elephant.

So, suggest you to go through the thread, at least the first one, and take an informed decision.

All the best

Last edited by gkveda : 30th May 2020 at 08:00.
gkveda is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 08:28   #4

A 10 year old Skoda Superb will cost you around 2-3 lacs to buy and if you are not lucky, will cost you around 2-3 lacs per year in maintenance. Also the added benefit of spending time in workshops for a free class of learning how to repair.

Id recommend to stay away, except if you are looking at a project car.
dhanushs is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 10:42   #5

Stay away from this specimen. I know someone who owns a 10 year old Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI albeit a manual, and has faced a myriad of electronic issues from the airbag to the head unit to even the seatbelt pretensioners. Skoda's after sales has only added to his woes and the 96K km done car has been very well kept mechanically but has really given troubles in terms of electronics.

Even though he loves the car and has spent a lot on keeping it in top mechanical shape, the cost of setting the electronics right is exceeding or getting dangerously close to the current value of the car.

Cars like the Superb are best stayed away from after the 5-6 year mark. If it's my own car I would consider keeping it, but I am not going to touch someone else's 10 year old Superb with a barge pole.
vishy76 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 11:18   #6

The thing with these non "luxury" European cars like the Superb or a Passat is that even if they are not a Toyota, they are not as bad as the reputation says.
Again, I won't say that they are cheap to maintain but they are quite dependable in Europe and while some of it may have to do with better driving conditions that these cars are designed for, a lot of it comes from the experience of the mechanics who know these cars and their tantrums.
So look for a reputed specialist around you, someone who only works on these kind of cars and take his opinion on what to expect.
Some people are quoting a few lacs a year in maintenance on this thread and that is a bit absurd to me, these expenses usually happen one every ten years or something.
The money you pay to maintain it for the next few years won't be even close to the depreciation hit the original owner took and the car is far better than any new car you can buy.
I will not say if you should buy it or not, this is upto you to see if these cars are worth it.
That DSG though, especially from this era is crap and I would not recommend it at all
Doge is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 12:25   #7

Run in the opposite direction. Read the ownership threads by BHPian Hayek, Sahil & others to see just what a pain its maintenance can be. There are lots of issues that come up with time, and that particular DSG is notorious.

Poor reliability + expensive parts = Nightmare to own.
GTO is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 13:26   #8

Whenever you get tempted to buy a used cheap European car, here is some encouragement.

Ajmat's VRS Bible (Octy vRS Achilles Heels)

Print this and stick it to the wall to save oneself from financial ruin.

There is genuine concerns on their engineering abilities for mass market cars despite the fact that VW is at the peak of automobile engineering both in terms of combustion engine as well as electric.
Kosfactor is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 13:33   #9

Run Run Run, 10 years old Skoda will give anyone nightmares. Don't waste money look for Jetta may be 5-7 years old is also fine and will be much better in driving than a Superb.
roby_dk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 17:50   #10

Thank you everyone for all your insights. I think the jury is clear that I have to be really lucky to not have any problems with this one, else it can lead to a large inflated repair bills for future issues. And since luck always pulls a fast one over me in everything I do, I am going to step away from this.

For those who were curious, the seller was not willing to go less than 5.2L which I believe is slightly a little much to begin with for the age of the car.

Request mods to close this thread.
Cyrus_the_virus is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 18:47   #11

Re: Used Skoda Superb 1.8 TSI AT - Buy or run away?

Mod Note : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum. We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further. Request to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 8th June 2020 at 07:26.
avdhesh15 is online now   Received Infraction
Old 30th May 2020, 19:49   #12

Just to add to this.

I have had my eye on either a pre-owned Mercedes Benz A-Class (<12Lakhs) or the GLA(<18Lakhs). I have had the opportunity to personally drive both of them quite extensively back in the day when zoomcar used to offer it on their platform and liked them.

Anyone approve of these choices?
Old 30th May 2020, 20:04   #13

Run away! As a former owner of a couple of Skodas and VW's , trust me a used 1.8 TSI AT is going to give you nightmares. The 7 speed DSG IS GOING TO FAIL and the repairs are going to be worth more than the car itself.
ishlinea7260 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 12:00   #14

Originally Posted by Cyrus_the_virus View Post
While on the hunt for a premium used car, I came across a Skoda Superb Elegance 1.8TSI AT from 2010 that has done approximately 65K Kms. I find the price slightly attractive but I want to know from the experience of Skoda owners if this is worth taking the risk on?

Nope. Not a wise idea. The 1.8 TSI is prone to engine problems.
vishwasvr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 12:07   #15

On the contrary my 18 years old octavia is working without any issues. Much more reliable than my maruti or Hyundai.

Still everything works. No major issues. Repair in fng with parts bought online makes it cheap.
sinhsha is offline   (4) Thanks