Old 3rd April 2007, 11:42   #1

used Elantra CRDI...is it a good bet

My friend is looking for a new car and just drove Elantra CRDI lately and it seems interesting. Decent performance with good FE...and it feels strong. Also had air bags, ABS, EDS, leather,alloyz etc. etc..which is quite tempting and that too at 9.7 lacs...

his budget is around 10 lacs..

should he go for a used one or a new one?? wats the current resale value for an elantra crdi? and howz the car overall/?
Old 3rd April 2007, 12:25   #2

For 10L why does he want an old one. Get a new one.
Only if budget is aorund 6-7L you can go for a 1-2 year old used one. Make sure its not been abused.
As for resale, its pretty bad, so buy only if he plans for keep it for 4-5 years.
Apart from that Hyundai gives you a 4 year 80,000 kms warranty. Maintenance costs are not much and service costs around 2000rs for a paid one(Free services are of course, totally free)
Old 3rd April 2007, 12:34   #3

ashwin
pls rechek the price. i dont think elantra CRDI is 9.7 lakhs. after many price cuts i think its more like around 8lakhs . dont even mention the word "resale value " for this car bcos of repeated price cuts, there is virtually limited resale value.

also if his budget is 10 lakhs he can do a moderate stretch and go for octavia diesel ( rider option ) or get a good used OCTAVIA and save some money for some performance upgrades also

the elantra is anyway up for a major revamp - so i think its better not to buy a new one
Old 3rd April 2007, 12:53   #4

(Free services are of course, totally free)
No longer Tanveer. From Jan onwards even Hyundai is charging for the Oil & Filters.
Old 3rd April 2007, 14:00   #5

Gee, somebody looking for an Elantra CRDi needs to be helped right away.

An old review I posted is here - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reports/16494-elantra-crdi-40000kms-1-5-years.html.

And I still have the car, and it is doing great. Please let me know if you have any specific queries about the car.
Old 3rd April 2007, 15:07   #6

@shuvd has an Elantra CRDi for sale here in Kolkata. Pretty well maintained black specimen.
PM him for more details.
Old 3rd April 2007, 15:28   #7

The new Elantra (CRDi + VGT) is round the corner, may be as soon as end of April. So the resale value is sure to drop. A new Elantra doesn't make that much of sense. Rather go in for a used one if you can find a good example.
Old 3rd April 2007, 15:41   #8

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
No longer Tanveer. From Jan onwards even Hyundai is charging for the Oil & Filters.
Is this applicable for cars purchased before Jan? I got my cousins Santro serviced in Jan and they did not charge for consumables.
Old 3rd April 2007, 15:56   #9

If his budget is around 10L, why not the Cedia ? Cedia has been discussed in a couple of threads, make a search & you will know.
Old 3rd April 2007, 15:59   #10

No diesel in Cedia. Don't know about ABS, Airbags, Traction control though, does cedia have these. Apart from that, Cedia does have killer looks, esp in black.
Old 5th June 2007, 11:30   #11

Elantra CRDI - worth buying?

Hi guys,

Is it worth buying the current Elantra CRDI and fitting the Petes box for 17k more? I am not interested in the resale value of the car as I intend to keep it for 4/5 years, will use it for my personal driving needs (20km/day) and weekend trips from Bangalore! Also what is the expected discount that I can get from the dealer. Will finance most of it.

Best regards,
Itwasntme
Old 5th June 2007, 12:00   #12

If you don't mind no resale, its an excellent vehicle
1. Discounts put the price at par with Verna SX
2. 4 years warranty(Make sure you take of your pete's box before going for service)
Old 5th June 2007, 12:15   #13

OFF TOPIC:

take a look at this: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...lack-sale.html

but i am not sure whether it is still on for sale. its better if you can PM shuvd - if you are interested. last time i heard from @shuvd (today morning) - he was planning to Pete' it.

but for 10L - its better to go for a new car.

Last edited by planet_rocker : 5th June 2007 at 12:20.
Old 5th June 2007, 12:23   #14

Its a brilliant car. Specially for highway cruising. It keeps going on and on relentlessly. And you never feel the speed. One look at the speedo and you see you are doing 160 while you only assumed you were doing 100. If you learn how to use the turbo band, its pure bliss. And the brakes are awesome.
Old 5th June 2007, 12:24   #15

No diesel in Cedia. Don't know about ABS, Airbags, Traction control though, does cedia have these. Apart from that, Cedia does have killer looks, esp in black.
The Cedia does have ABS/Airbags