Old 23rd May 2007, 13:26   #1

Which car to buy under 10 lacs

I am really confused which car to buy below ten lacs..

I have short listed 2 cars

1. Honda city VTEC -- 9.44 lacs

2. Toyota corolla HE -- 9.76 lacs

Both are on road prices Bangalore. Also on the forum it is posted that Honda is launching new city with ABS and Air bags in the month of june. How far is this true?

I like both the cars equally as both have good power and mileage. Corolla looks bland, so does honda. Both the engines are very good. I am planning to own the car for the next 7 years. give ur opinions!!
Old 24th May 2007, 02:33   #2

Do take a look at Mitsubishi Cedia Sport if you intend to keep it for a long time.
Old 24th May 2007, 09:38   #3

Powerslav you can use our guidelines to define your needs which will help in BHPians suggesting correct car for your needs
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...r-section.html
Old 24th May 2007, 09:52   #4

Corolla is the best bet. Its strong and long lasting!!
Honda's are meant for max 4 years.
Old 24th May 2007, 10:25   #5

As has been discussed and polled, would a Maruti SX4 interest you?
Old 24th May 2007, 10:42   #6

Originally Posted by scooby05 View Post
Corolla is the best bet. Its strong and long lasting!!
Honda's are meant for max 4 years.

where did you get that from ??? i by the way own a toyota ... but honda lasting 4 years ? what did you do, ram it against your house wall every evening for kicks ??
Old 24th May 2007, 10:44   #7
Jay

Have a look at the SX4, But if you have to decide between the NHC Vtec and the corolla, then i would suggest you to go for the corolla...
Old 24th May 2007, 10:45   #8

Out of your choices corolla suits more for long term.
Old 29th January 2010, 15:36   #9

which car to Buy in 10- lacs ?

Dear Team-BHPians,
I am looking for an sedan / SUV
budget is 7-10 lacs (the range is bit flexible because it would be on Company Lease).
Time line : By June 2010
Requirement : family of 3 ( me 5 ‘ 10” 35 yrs old , wife and 3 yr old), plus occasional guest(s) shall drive it around 10-20 kms on weekdays and ~ 40 kms on weekends, 3-4 times out of station drive ( ~ 1500kms ) in a year. I am very happily currently driving a Santro for the last 4.5 yrs and intend to keep it as a second car.

Must haves :
good to drive around, good seating position, ABS, 10+ kmpl in Bangalore city, Tubeless tyres, High ground clearance of 165 mm +, Power Steering, Power Windows, side mirrors should be controllable from Driver seat.

Good to have:
Big Discounts, Black / Grey interiors, Indicators on Right Hand side, Steering mounted controls, Airbags, Fog lamps, Music Player , defogger

Wont mind:
beige Interiors, EBD/ESP, Alloy wheels, Cruise control, climate control

I need a car which i will keep for next 5 years.
So far I test drove the following

Car : Fiesta 1.6 SXI :
Plus : Great to drive , great handling, good level of equipment , Black dashboard, classy Interiors
Minus : ~ 9 kmpl , nearest service station at least a hour drive, Indicators on Left Hand side, no Steering mounted controls

CAR : Fiesta 1.4 diesel SXI
Plus : 17 KMPL, good level of equipment , Black dashboard, classy Interiors
Minus : turbo lag , less power, nearest service station atleast a hour hour drive, Indicators on Left Hand side, no Steering mounted controls

Car : SX4
Plus : high level of equipment ( it has almost everything in my wishlist), big car feel, value for money, nearby service station
Minus: not so great looks, interiors is a let down, ~9 kmpl,

Car : swift ZXI
Plus :Great to drive, great handling, Black dashboard, nearby service station
Minus: no steering mounted controls, inside space , it’s a hatch

Car : Swift diesel
Plus : Great to drive, great handling, Black dashboard, nearby service station
Minus: No zdi , inside space , it’s a hatch, no Steering mounted controls

Car : Scorpio Mhawk top end
Plus : captain seats, high level of equipment ( it has almost everything in my wishlist), big car feel, value for money
Minus: bit bulky to drive , parking at my slot is not so easy , service station far away, not so nice interiors, flower prints on seat upholstery

Car : Manza diesel top end
Plus : price , high level of equipment, big car feel, value for money, nearby service station, Space,
Minus: Fit and Finish, not so great for city drive, ie not zippy, Tata After sales experience

Car : Ritz ZXI
Plus : Price, Practical car, good to drive, good handling, good level of equipment, nearby service station
Minus: Flimsy dashboard, blue interiors, bad looks

I am also considering the following cars. I have not test driven them, but my perceptions are

Car : Verna Diesel
Plus : great to drive , spacious , nearby service stations, reasonable spare part cost. Great After sales service network
Minus: no Airbags, no steering mounted controls, top end is expensive

Car : Honda City
Plus : good level of equipment, great to drive , spacious , nearby service stations, Great After sales service, 13 kmpl
Minus: expensive to buy and maintain, costly spares

Car : yeti
Plus : SUV , good level of equipment,
Minus: YTB launched , Skoda spares are expensive, Bad After sales service, no nearby service station.

Car : Optra Diesel high end ( cruse low end is bit above my budget)
Plus : Great looks, good to drive
Minus: price , resale , After sales service, no steering mounted controls

I am, not looking at Dzire (odd looks ) , Safari , Logan( unless they put a 90 bhp engine) , Ascent ( out dated). Since I am Ok to wait for 3-5 months , is there any new car launch that I should wait for , say a new Elantra / Verna / Fiesta / Nissan ?

I want Team-BHPians suggestion / aid in selecting my car !

Last edited by Technocrat : 29th January 2010 at 16:26. Reason: Removed extra Font tags, Please avoid copy pasting from external editors like MS Word etc, thanks
Old 29th January 2010, 15:50   #10

Hi - You have included hatchbacks, sedans and even Scorpio in your list.
However my suggestion to you is,
1) Could be between Linea (test drive one ..it has loads of features, great looks and a good engine), Manza and City, if you want a sedan.
2) Hyundai I20 , Grande Punto & VW Polo(being launched soon) if you want a hatchback
3) No experience with SUVs and so cannot comment.

Last edited by Seeler_Rebeiro : 29th January 2010 at 15:53.
Old 29th January 2010, 15:54   #11

Originally Posted by siddutta View Post
[FONT=Arial]Dear Team-BHPians,[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial]I am looking for an sedan / SUV[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial]budget is 7-10 lacs (the range is bit flexible because it would be on Company Lease). [/FONT]
[FONT=Arial]Time line : By June 2010[/FONT]
Try Innova/Xylo-E8. These are the only two that are left I think from the vehicles you have mentioned. Both are good in their own aspect. You will get plenty of review here. By the way remove the tags from your post. We cannot read it. You have copied it from external editor I feel. Orelse just wait for 4-5 month, as many new vehicles will be coming.Even Xylo will be launched with mHawk engine in feb/2010 I think

Last edited by shishir_bn : 29th January 2010 at 15:56.
Old 29th January 2010, 16:19   #12

Budget is 7-10 lacs (the range is bit flexible because it would be on Company Lease).

Requirement : family of 3 ( me 5 ‘ 10” 35 yrs old , wife and 3 yr old), plus occasional guest(s) shall drive it around 10-20 kms on weekdays and ~ 40 kms on weekends, 3-4 times out of station drive ( ~ 1500kms ) in a year. I am very happily currently driving a Santro for the last 4.5 yrs and intend to keep it as a second car.

Must haves :
Good to drive around, good seating position, ABS, 10+ kmpl in Bangalore city,Tubeless tyres, High ground clearance of 165 mm +, Power Steering, Power Windows, side mirrors should be controllable from Driver seat.

Good to have:
Big Discounts, Black / Grey interiors, Indicators on Right Hand side, Steering mounted controls, Airbags, Fog lamps, Music Player , defogger.

Wont mind:
beige Interiors, EBD/ESP, Alloy wheels, Cruise control, climate control
It seems you did not test drive FIAT LINEA as of yet. The 'Emotion Pack' Variant will have all your above mentioned features with a decent FE in Petrol and amazing FE in Diesel.

In addition to all that you have asked, you also get Blue&Me and stunning looks in a comprehensive value for money package.

I guess with your requirements and budget, this car makes most sense and unless you are a hardcore SUV/MUV aficionado, you should stick to sedans or premium hatches for a family of three like yours.

Last edited by akhilesh51 : 29th January 2010 at 16:21.
Old 29th January 2010, 16:34   #13

I dont think the Yeti is going to be anywhere near the 10 lac mark.

even the base version will be at about 14-16 L on road.

have you thought of the Xylo/ Innova?

Though you might have parking trouble if as you say the Scorpio itself poses parking hassles for you.

Else it is only a Sedan you can consider - maybe you should await the Linea T Jet!

Originally Posted by siddutta View Post
Dear Team-BHPians,
I am looking for an sedan / SUV
budget is 7-10 lacs (the range is bit flexible because it would be on Company Lease).

Car : yeti
Plus : SUV , good level of equipment,
Minus: YTB launched , Skoda spares are expensive, Bad After sales service, no nearby service station.

I want Team-BHPians suggestion / aid in selecting my car !

Last edited by shankar.balan : 29th January 2010 at 16:36.
Old 29th January 2010, 17:46   #14

thanks for your replies..

well I didnt wanted to include hatch except for Swift which is quite a good looking and capabale car. The Ritz test drive was a pitch by the sales guy.

I am not considering the Xylo / Innova / Tavera .. However Tata Aria might be an option once we see it in the showroom.

I am not too sure in putting my money in a Fiat product, Linea. More over it looks as if its Ground clearance is less.
Old 29th January 2010, 17:55   #15

What about a second hand vehicle with low mileage under 10 lacs? In this case you can have many choices & i would recommend you Honda accord or Toyoto camry.