Team-BHP > What Car? > Sedans
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th November 2021, 20:37   #1
BHPian

Upgrade from VW Polo GT AT | Honda City or Skoda Superb?

Hi fellow bhpians, I am in a dilemma on which car to buy next and looking for different perspectives to decide.

Current car

I have been driving Polo GT DSG since 2015 and I am in absolute love with this car. Even after 6 years, the car still puts a wide grin on my face when I floor the accelerator. It has been a niggle free happy ownership for 6 years (covered in warranty throughout, used it only for ABS sensors). However, due to space constraints, I am now looking to upgrade to a bigger car. I have been able to sell my Polo for a good price and now need a replacement before Dec end.

Requirements from new car
  1. Has to be an automatic – my wife is absolutely clear about it being an AT and I cannot disagree on this given the traffic situation in Mumbai
  2. Loads of space in rear bench and boot – this is the top requirement for my upgrade
  3. Fun to drive – given I am upgrading from a GT, the next car has to be FTD. I have 2 options in my mind as detailed below to tackle this requirement
  4. Should be driver friendly as we intend to keep one in next 2 years – same requirement as loads of space
  5. New car – my wife is not comfortable with a pre-owned car, but I am (leading to 2 options detailed below)
  6. Sunroof – Not sure how much useful it is in India, but I want my next car to have this feature as I believe that it adds to the feeling of space inside the car.
  7. It should be car that I can own for 8-10 years – though I love my Polo, part of reason for selling it is fear of DQ200 failures
  8. Usage - 90% city usage
  9. Budget – under 40 lakhs

Factors that do not matter
  1. Fuel type – could be petrol or diesel
  2. Body type – sedan or SUV (but I could not find any SUV and hence posting in Sedan thread)

Brand/car considered and rejected