Old 2nd June 2007, 00:13   #16

As everybody is saying go for vxi

you want all the stuff the vxi has so why don't go for that only and you will have warrenty on all the stuff
Old 2nd June 2007, 00:22   #17

Why dont you consider any other car in your budget frame or maybe extend your budget a bit and get a newer car? The esteem is on its road to getting discontinued. Its no doubt VFM and good, but its dated.
Snob value after you spend 5+ lacs = almost 0
Old 2nd June 2007, 00:52   #18

Originally Posted by ashwin_seattle View Post
Why dont you consider any other car in your budget frame or maybe extend your budget a bit and get a newer car?
Snob value after you spend 5+ lacs = almost 0
recommend something in the same price range - without a stretch of budget.
ad75's specific needs are VFM with a boot and easy on maintenance. he's already listed the reasons why he's rejected the Ford Ikon. what else falls in that price range?

not everyone buys a car on plain snob value alone.
Old 2nd June 2007, 08:25   #19

VXi it is ..

hi .. it all depends on how much you can strech your budget .. i'll tell you one thing for sure .. there's NOTHING like factory fitted .. ESPECIALLY when it come to power windows .. the aftermarket one's will never perform for as long as the original factory fitted items .. this i've seen in numerous cases and which is why my Esteem LX still has the normal manual winders .. then there's the central locking .. agreed, the whole shindig from the aftermarket will work out cheaper but with the VXi ur also buying peace of mind .. and like someone else pointed out earlier, if you don't need the head unit have MUL deduct it from the cost of the VXi .. that'll bring down the difference in cost .. however if it is really too much to stretch for you then chill .. get an LXi and let the floosies in the back work up a sweat ..
Old 3rd June 2007, 00:06   #20

Originally Posted by revvhed View Post
however if it is really too much to stretch for you then chill .. get an LXi and let the floosies in the back work up a sweat ..

man, are you a friend of that real revvhead ? the real Mc Coy ?
Old 4th June 2007, 14:39   #21

yes i am

yes .. you are correct .. revvhead is my friend .. but .. I'M THE REAL McCOY !!!!! or spock .. or kirk .. or .....
anyway speaking of esteem A/C issues, me and a friend have noticed an identical problem with the A/Cs of both our esteems .. sometimes while driving in traffic the engine RPM rises to about 1400 and the cooling stops .. this happens intermittently and you then have to switch the compressor off for about 5 mins after which it starts cooling again .. i have had this problem for ever and no one seems to be able to fix it or detect the fault .. the latest update is that my A/C clutch was gone and that's why it would not re-engage after the compressor had cut off .. i've just got that fixed a few days back and now waiting to see if that's solved it .. have you faced anything similar ??
Old 5th June 2007, 06:37   #22

Why dont u go for a used OHC VTEC. Superb car, refined, powerful. You can get a good maintained car for around 4 lacs. Any day an OHC Vtec is better than even a new Esteem, if its properly maintained.
Old 5th June 2007, 16:35   #23

@ashwin_seattle : A used OHC VTEC 2001 model would cost more than 4L in Bangalore, do you still think its worth the price for a 6 year old car.

Hellcat
Old 27th June 2007, 14:39   #24

Does the esteem VXi come with an elcetronic power steering ? If Yes, when was the eps introduced on the esteem , do the 2005 models also come fitted with eps ?

~A
Old 27th June 2007, 16:04   #25
RMB

I think they put it when they redesigned the esteem in 2004 with bigger grill.
Old 28th June 2007, 01:03   #26

Originally Posted by adityapd View Post
Does the esteem VXi come with an elcetronic power steering ? If Yes, when was the eps introduced on the esteem , do the 2005 models also come fitted with eps ?

~A
To my knowledge, the VXi has a hydraulic power steering and not EPS. Mine is a 2003 model though. Not sure if the newer models have EPS.
Old 28th June 2007, 09:52   #27

Originally Posted by rr_zen View Post
Absolutely. The Esteem is far more better than the Logan in looks. How could someone even think of comparing the two ?
Sorry to say this, but I always felt how could some one think that esteem is good looking though it is extremely practical car.
Logan definitely looks better for "me".
Any way, congrats Ad75, you have been provided with so much information here. Enjoy your new car.
Old 4th July 2007, 17:22   #28

thanks all

Really appreciate the suggestions, apologies for the delay.

heres the final outcome :

Have gone ahead with Esteem LXI. black.
On road price bangalore - 529142.
discount - 52821(cash disc 30000 + exchange bonus 20000 + ncb transfer 2821)
net on road - 476321
value of existing car (alto VX1.1) - 1.55 lakhs

Freebies - bargained from the dealer

1.steering grip
2.mud flap
3.floor & boot mats
4.sunfilm
5.UV protection (dont know what crap is that!)
6.FOG lamps(MGA)
7.central locking & security - (autocop)

They dont have black in stock thus they have to indent it which would take another 15 days

will post the pics once i get the delivery.

aftermarket fitments
1.power window relay 1200/-
2.seat covers - art leather - around 4k
3.mag/alloys - 15k
4.tyres - michelin xm1 - 10-12k.(probably post exchange - gotta check)

if my wallet permits - later
1.K&N filter
2.ice upgrade - 15k

thanks again
Old 4th July 2007, 22:00   #29

congrats ad75 . nice car .
any idea what will be the otr price of vxi after discounts?
planning to take one .but really afraid that it may be
phased out .
Old 4th July 2007, 22:48   #30

Originally Posted by rr_zen View Post
Absolutely. The Esteem is far more better than the Logan in looks. How could someone even think of comparing the two ?
Looks are subjective, but after seeing a parked Maroon Logan in my office (Tidel park, Chennai) I'm more and more convinced that Logan is not as bad looking as it is made out to be. In my opinion it is better looking than the Esteem (I own a diff car - so I'm pretty neutral). But my comparison b/w Esteem and Logan stops here - am not getting into ***, maintenance etc.