Old 27th June 2007, 12:28   #16

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
2004 esteem for 2.5L ?? is it that cheap in mumbai ??

i was talking about the price in chandigarh

we sold our 2002 esteem vx1.25 lac km for 1.75 lacs

it had mags and all
the car had nothing wrong but had complete 5 years and in our family we change every car after 5 years

any updates saurabhkum

we can help you judge a car if you found one

and take a mechanic which you know along

many cars which i have come across while finding cars for my friend are cosmetically good or very showroom condition but when it comes to mechanically their is nothing left in them

Last edited by manikjeet : 27th June 2007 at 12:31.
Old 27th June 2007, 17:52   #17

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post

any updates saurabhkum

we can help you judge a car if you found one

and take a mechanic which you know along

many cars which i have come across while finding cars for my friend are cosmetically good or very showroom condition but when it comes to mechanically their is nothing left in them
I've found one Accent Nov 2000 model which has done 28,000 KMS( genuine) The car is pretty well maintained, though not scratchless or showroom condition. But the same can't be expected out of a car which is 6.5 years old. I've not yet taken any mechanic as I wanted to know what should be the ideal price for it? The owner is asking 2.7 lakhs. which i feel slightly over priced. Can the senior members pls help me with it?
Old 27th June 2007, 21:34   #18

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
we sold our 2002 esteem vx1.25 lac km for 1.75 lacs
it had mags and all
selling a car is totally different from buying one. your esteem would have been sold for 2.5L to an unsuspecting customer saying that it has run only 25k kms.

Originally Posted by saurabhkum View Post
I've found one Accent Nov 2000 model which has done 28,000 KMS( genuine) The car is pretty well maintained, though not scratchless or showroom condition. But the same can't be expected out of a car which is 6.5 years old. I've not yet taken any mechanic as I wanted to know what should be the ideal price for it? The owner is asking 2.7 lakhs. which i feel slightly over priced. Can the senior members pls help me with it?
Nov 2000 accent with only 28k kms is a good car as long as you know for sure that the car has run only 28k & not 1.28k or 2.28k. Make sure of the service records & take a good mechanic, pay him the price & decide accordingly.
Old 27th June 2007, 21:53   #19

Taking a mechanic to buy a used car, at least in Kolkata, is hara kiri. The mechanic checks the car, tells the buyer all sorts of negative stories and then comes back to the dealer in five minutes asking for a cut. This is standard.
Old 27th June 2007, 21:56   #20

Originally Posted by Sudipto-S-Team View Post
Taking a mechanic to buy a used car, at least in Kolkata, is hara kiri. The mechanic checks the car, tells the buyer all sorts of negative stories and then comes back to the dealer in five minutes asking for a cut. This is standard.
exactly y u should have a trusted mechanic whom you know for quite a time..
Old 27th June 2007, 22:02   #21

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
selling a car is totally different from buying one. your esteem would have been sold for 2.5L to an unsuspecting customer saying that it has run only 25k kms.
hey man

the car was sold to a private buyer and he is still using it

in north the second cars don't fetch good money as in the south

Originally Posted by mainak View Post
exactly y u should have a trusted mechanic whom you know for quite a time..
that is what i was going to say

take mechanic along who you know and pay him little in advance

Last edited by manikjeet : 27th June 2007 at 22:03.
Old 28th June 2007, 10:19   #22

Originally Posted by saurabhkum View Post
I've found one Accent Nov 2000 model which has done 28,000 KMS( genuine)
Its hard to imagine a 6 yr old vehicle with so little mileage unless there is a genuine reason like the owners having a fleet of vehicles with this one being used sparingly or with owners out of station for longish durations or if you are personally acquainted with the seller and can trust them.
To be sure you should check with the service centers to cross check the mileage figures at each of its service.
Old 28th June 2007, 11:45   #23

GO for Accent Ford is big no for its A.S.S