Old 24th July 2007, 23:06   #61

Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Absolutely. The first hyundai to really look like a car (i mean good) was the getz & now the sonata embera & the verna too.
with you on the getz and embera, but verna..., I feel its more like a inflated toy.

@Shuvd, any updates???
eagerly waiting buddy.

Civic is a cool looking car, seen one white civic today i guess it was with mugen kit or may be an imitation of mugen kit. It was looking the most 'sportiest' civic i have ever seen.
Old 25th July 2007, 09:55   #62

@ Zappo, asitkde - This is a problem I've faced with Topsel Toyota time and again. Thrice actually! But, no hard feelings as I ended up with better cars (IMHO), the Elantra CRDi and the Octy 1.8 Turbo!!

2kkr2k2 - Didn't consider the Embera because its too barge-ish. Too big to chuck around. But I agree, its one good looking Hyundai.

esteem_lover, Zappo, everybody - Civic it is.

The Civic was finalized by my parents. They always had a soft corner for Honda as dad had one in Japan during their college and courtship days. Whatever. I still think its an overpriced Jap tin ka dubba. No offense anyone please. I tend to compare all cars with my Octy. First time in my life, a new car is joining the family and I'm not excited. As a peace offering, dad says he'll turbo the Civic after 3yrs.
Old 25th July 2007, 10:27   #63

Congratulations on your Civic.
It is a good choice, specially if your father wants to rip it.

Octy RS would have been another alternative not in your list. But drawbacks being cramped & uncomfortable rear seat. Also the vehicle is towards end of it's product life-cycle.

Unfortunately not many cars are designed with both rear passenger and driver in mind, it's mostly a compromise!
Old 25th July 2007, 10:38   #64

Thanks ST. I already have the poor cousin of the vRS, the 1.8TPi in Rider trim. Love that car, hate the A.S.S.
Old 25th July 2007, 12:36   #65

Update.
Bluish silver Civic MT S booked. Getting free insurance and regn./road tax. Car will be delivered on Tuesday.
Old 25th July 2007, 12:44   #66

Originally Posted by shuvd View Post
Update.
Bluish silver Civic MT S booked. Getting free insurance and regn./road tax. Car will be delivered on Tuesday.
.... man you are one lucky guy..... err.. shall i say, YOU know how to bargain.

CONGRATULATIONS.
Old 25th July 2007, 13:24   #67

@ kkr2k2 - I bargained HARD! Also got 1yr extended warranty. I played the two Honda dealers and the finance guys against each other.
Old 25th July 2007, 13:31   #68

Congratulations on the new car Shuvd!
Old 25th July 2007, 13:34   #69

congrats!! nice colour choice too! how did u manage that kinda of bargain!! amazing deal.
Old 25th July 2007, 14:06   #70

Congrats shuvd. here's waiting for 3 years to be over in a jiffy. cheers
Old 25th July 2007, 14:26   #71

whoa! thats great... chalo, even civic is not so bad. I am sure you will enjoy this one as well. and that deal is fab. kolkata has that luxury where you have two Honda dealers. Here I think for the whole of AP there is only one dealer, Sundaram Honda (beat that) and they just do not bend to your bargaining skills one bit. Heck they actually do not budge from anything.
Old 25th July 2007, 14:36   #72

congrats dude! please give me a ride in it! so tyres and alloys finalized? when you get the delivery take lots of pics and open up a new garage for it.

wherez the party yaar? cheers:
Old 25th July 2007, 14:37   #73

Congrats!
Old 25th July 2007, 15:55   #74

congrats

Congratulations! Obviously Civic is a damn good car. I once came close to buying it in US (in 1992), just got a better deal on the Sentra GXE.

Let you and your parents enjoy it. Just be careful about the low ground clearance and bring it to the next meet in great shape.

Also keep us posted on the ownership report.
Old 25th July 2007, 16:32   #75

Well if you are getting insurance and road tax free that knocks of more than 1.5 lakhs from your car price. Cool. Never knew you could get that kind of discount on a new Honda Civic. And all the guys in Bangalore gave me was an extra Ganesha idol !!

How did you manage it?