Old 13th August 2007, 19:48   #1

optra 1.8 LS

Is it advisable to buy an optra 1.8 LS for 3.5 lacs?

-1994 model
-Third hand
-Chennai registration
-Done 1 Lakh Kms

1.)What will be the fuel economy?
2.)Now the production of this model is stopped.Will it affect it's maintenance costs and how good is the car for a resale?
3.)This car will be used mostly for city driving.
4.)How good is an optra for performance mods?

Though the questions are more it's from your advice the deal is going to be carried out.

Thank you.
Old 13th August 2007, 20:23   #2

a 1994 model? is that a typo?

For the price, you have mentioned : NO.
Old 13th August 2007, 20:26   #3

Did you mean 2004 ?
The car has already done 100000 kms, for a car done that much (and 3rd hand) its too much. Have you seen the car, driven it ? What's the current condition ?
Old 13th August 2007, 20:39   #4

1994 Model Optra or is it typo?
Old 13th August 2007, 21:00   #5

1.)What will be the fuel economy? Around 8-9
2.)Now the production of this model is stopped.Will it affect it's maintenance costs and how good is the car for a resale? Not really
4.)How good is an optra for performance mods? Yes but dont expect as good results as the Honda or Suzuki's
Hope this helps.(abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz)
Old 13th August 2007, 21:15   #6

Busa has put in everything nice. BUT..

Don't think that you should pick up a 3 and 1/2 years car for that price. Something is wrong with that price. Check out if there's any accident history or some other issue.
Old 13th August 2007, 21:46   #7

optra never existed in 1994 by this name for sure ,secondly u dont get optra LS for 4 lacks in Delhi where cars are much cheaper so forget chennai , had it been 4.5 lacks or above that is the justified price ,3 owners in 3 years why is every one get rid of it so soon look for a clean car with a single owner even if it means paying 60-70 K more they peace of mind will be much much higher ,From what i know optras are good for comfortable crusing in luxury ,though one can modify premier padmini also so no one can stop any body from any modifications on any car ,but at this price if i were you i would go for 2003 lancer or 2003 OHC for modifications
Old 13th August 2007, 23:36   #8

what are you tal-king????
optra in 1994?????

I guess, you are tal-king about opel.

PS: what was optra derived from???, i guess its one of the deawoo's stable. Is it??
Old 15th August 2007, 09:28   #9

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
[
what are you tal-king????
optra in 1994?????
Guys its a typo i belive its a 2004 model from what he wants to say.

PS: what was optra derived from???, i guess its one of the deawoo's stable. Is it??
Daewoo Nubira
Old 15th August 2007, 13:01   #10

its a 3 rd hand and it has covered 1lac km

you will better of looking at some other vehicle
Old 20th August 2007, 15:30   #11

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Daewoo Nubira
I think it was Daewoo Lacetti.
Old 20th August 2007, 17:22   #12

Originally Posted by sanrys View Post
I think it was Daewoo Lacetti.
Both are same, different name for different markets.
Old 20th August 2007, 22:16   #13

sorry people it's a 2004 model.No history of accidents.