Old 10th September 2007, 22:58   #16

I'd suggest to go for a Laura with DSG or the new Optra Magnum diesel A/T. For luxury, I'd go for the Optra. Not taking into consideration the old mercs.

cya
A
Old 11th September 2007, 12:32   #17

Thanks guys. Seems like a lot of suggestions. Have almost decided on a Laura if I can find one. C - seems out if the maint will be so expensive and a C in my budget will have to be old.

Embera - supposed to not have a great pick up. Optra - "I" dont like the looks so much. Plus I have been unhappy with my Santro and my brothers Accent after a few years of use so am not that keen on Hyundai.

Busa- what is RWD? I presume 'rear wheel drive'? If so in what way is it better than a car which is driven by its front wheels? Is the Laura a FWD?
Old 11th September 2007, 15:30   #18

@ BUSA ;
Though the Merc Cdi is 0.95 seconds faster to the 100 kph mark , though ,It is having a top speed which is a full 8 km/h more than the Lauras (Top speed Laura - 192km/h, Merc - 200)As far as the stability is concerned Laura runs on 16" 205/55 setup , with ABS EBD TCS ESP n many more , whereas the merc. on an 205/65 setup on an 15" , sure u may be getting a bit more of the comfort due to the profile . Ok so an 0.95 secs. of faster acceleration , 8 km/h of the EXTRA top speed , at what COST ?? 12 LAKHS MORE THAN THE LAURA .... you have the answer mate .... no hard feelings ....

Last edited by karan561 : 11th September 2007 at 15:38.
Old 11th September 2007, 19:48   #19

Originally Posted by Absar View Post
I'd suggest to go for a Laura with DSG or the new Optra Magnum diesel A/T. For luxury, I'd go for the Optra. Not taking into consideration the old mercs.

cya
A
from when is optra A/T launching
Old 11th September 2007, 23:34   #20

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post
@ BUSA ;
Though the Merc Cdi is 0.95 seconds faster to the 100 kph mark , though ,It is having a top speed which is a full 8 km/h more than the Lauras (Top speed Laura - 192km/h, Merc - 200)As far as the stability is concerned Laura runs on 16" 205/55 setup , with ABS EBD TCS ESP n many more , whereas the merc. on an 205/65 setup on an 15" , sure u may be getting a bit more of the comfort due to the profile . Ok so an 0.95 secs. of faster acceleration , 8 km/h of the EXTRA top speed , at what COST ?? 12 LAKHS MORE THAN THE LAURA .... you have the answer mate .... no hard feelings ....
Is the 220cdi only 1 sec faster [0-100] than the Laura? Then that would make the Laura amazing. What is the 0-100 for a good petrol car like say the Accord 2.4/3?
Old 12th September 2007, 01:26   #21

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post
@ BUSA ;
FYI the C also rides on 16 inchers, since a long time Mercedes has updated it. All TCS, ABS, EBD, ESP of the Laura doesnot matter infront of the fabolous chassis of the C. Plus the C is not only faster it has much more torque then the Laura. And a better car is not the one which has bigger wheels or more gizmos.

I think GTO would be the best to comment on this since he has driven both extensively.

If so in what way is it better than a car which is driven by its front wheels? Is the Laura a FWD?
The Laura is a FWD and RWD cars are better in handling and for drifting.
Old 12th September 2007, 02:37   #22

Originally Posted by kumar2007 View Post
What is the 0-100 for a good petrol car like say the Accord 2.4/3?
A rediff review says Accord 2.4's 0-100 is 10.34 seconds.

Kumar, you may also consider the Corolla diesel that would be launched in sometime. However, no one knows how long that sometime is.
Old 12th September 2007, 08:04   #23

Thanks guys. I think I may have located a year old Laura - expected price is 16.25L. Is that good for an AT? Car is in good condition and has done about 12000 km.

He has a fresh insurance policy [11 months left] with a 20% NCB. I have more than that on my cars. If I get the NCB certificate from my insurance then will I be able to transfer the Laura insurance to my name without paying any difference?
Old 12th September 2007, 19:00   #24

Sure , i agree with you , that you get that extra bit of handling , extra bit of torque a litle bit of extra pick up ... but what do you get by paying 12 Lakhs more , an car which is having OUTDATED looks , a car which when you plan to sell is going to a real bad resale , a CAR whose new model is going to be launched in less than a year , an a car whose maintainence is going to make wholes in KUMARS pocket ???? Laura sure does have that customer satisfactory " TAG " , the VALUE FOR MONEY " TAG " , and the FUEL ECONOMY too is better ... this choice had been customised for kumars needs , and not an C - class v/s Laura comparison , and if we compare also , it is again the LAURA whihch wins it , because we have reached at this level of the arguement that whose better , and forgotten about what category these cars belong too ... i.e.
Laura - 16 - 18 lakh segment
Merc C-(cdi) - 30 - 32 Lakh segment
so that means the Laura is that good that it can be compared to cars DOUBLE ITS PRICE ?????? and the C - class is that bad that it is being compared with the cars HALF its price ..... ?????
so this is my last post on this arguement ... anways @ BUSA it was fun nice try , cheers brother . . .

Last edited by karan561 : 12th September 2007 at 19:19.
Old 12th September 2007, 19:16   #25

IMO karan is right and a laura is a much better buy than the Merc cdi.A price tag of 12 lakhs extra is way too much to spend and the performance gain is not that great.Offcourse u get the merc brand name but thats all u get+some tit bit extra performance and a rear wheel drive.
Old 12th September 2007, 19:21   #26

@karan561: Not sure where you have cooked up those figures from...

Overdrive lists the 0-100 for Laura DSG as 12.13s and a C200 CDI as 10.54s. The quarter mile times for both are 20.68s and 17.43s respectively. The ex showroom price of the Laura DSG is 16.5lac vs 26.5lac for the C200.

This is a huge difference in performance. Plus the parameters you list are totally irrelevant when you are buying a high end car. When one is spending 30lacs, he/she doesnt care about 1km/l difference in FE. These cars are not even in the same segment so you shouldn't even be comparing them in the first place.

Also FYI the Skoda has no brand value compared to a Merc. There are lots of people in Europe who'd probably shoot themselves in the head than drive a skoda.

All said and done, however I'd not recommend buying a used C-class. A laura is probably a better deal. But if I were him, I'd pick up an Optra Magnum LT.
Old 12th September 2007, 19:36   #27

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
@karan561: Not sure where you have cooked up those figures from...

Overdrive lists the 0-100 for Laura DSG as 12.13s and a C200 CDI as 10.54s. The quarter mile times for both are 20.68s and 17.43s respectively. The ex showroom price of the Laura DSG is 16.5lac vs 26.5lac for the C200.

This is a huge difference in performance. Plus the parameters you list are totally irrelevant when you are buying a high end car. When one is spending 30lacs, he/she doesnt care about 1km/l difference in FE. These cars are not even in the same segment so you shouldn't even be comparing them in the first place.

Also FYI the Skoda has no brand value compared to a Merc. There are lots of people in Europe who'd probably shoot themselves in the head than drive a skoda.

All said and done, however I'd not recommend buying a used C-class. A laura is probably a better deal. But if I were him, I'd pick up an Optra Magnum LT.

First and FOREMOST get the BASICS right ... the Cdi version is not an C200 but its an C220 . And no one has cooked up the figures its from the Autocar mate .... C200 is the Kompressor model and costs less and whereas the c-220 Cdi is for 32.53 lakhs @ mumbai (MT) and 34.29 (AT).
Old 12th September 2007, 19:36   #28

I think Laura is the best deal.

But, I am surprised that a used Laura costs 16.5L with 12000km on the clock!!

^^ Well said humyum... You get the "Merc brand name"... That is the only reason why you would buy a Merc... Or is it not? Looking at the inputs in this thread, the Laura is definitely a challenge to the Merc.

I have TDd the Octavia, have riden the Laura and used the C as a taxi. I believe a Merc is considered a long term investment - ages very well and slowly. But, given the recent report from Israel on Autocar-I, the Skodas can also last over very long distances (Skoda Taxis in Israel do 600,000 km + without opening the engine!!). Of course, the taxis cover this distance in 3~4 years. How would a Skoda "feel" after, say, 10 years? Maybe not as well preserved as an equally maintained Merc??

Note on Hyundai (or Maruti): Since their customer base ranges from 3L to 22L, they do not give the customers the "exclusive" feel of owning a 15L Sonata.
Old 12th September 2007, 19:45   #29

Sorry that was a typo... meant C220 CDI. As I said... overdrive lists the exshowroom delhi of the Laura as 16.3 and C220 as 26.5 (in mumbai its 2 lacs more).
Old 12th September 2007, 19:48   #30

reignofchaos - you had quoted the 0-100 of the c200k.