Old 27th September 2007, 20:14   #16

Originally Posted by nikhilv12 View Post
But is it so good a car that one can forget about the looks?
If you were to ask me, my answer would be a resounding YES! The engine is a scorcher. Get pete's and your grin will be as wide as........ It has amazing ABS, bundled with safety features. Can easily handle speeds in the range of 200+ with AC on. And will still give you a mileage of around 12. I suggest you look at the review put up by Tadukuttan in the reviews section. Needless to say, his car easily made it into the list of "tbhp's most famous modded cars thread".

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-t...5-years-3.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modifi...t-after-5.html
Old 27th September 2007, 20:40   #17

hmm... so for around 6.5l, which model elantra crdi do i expect? ( should have covered around 30-40k kms, not more than that )
Old 27th September 2007, 20:45   #18

Originally Posted by nikhilv12 View Post
hmm... so for around 6.5l, which model elantra crdi do i expect? ( should have covered around 30-40k kms, not more than that )
the elantra would look pretty good with some nice rims. can do some ps for you if you want? and with the petes youll have 130bhp and 305nm or torque. itll give the magnum a run for its money.
Old 27th September 2007, 21:33   #19

Ask BUSA.
DCEite

I would suggest the following.
  1. Swift VDi - You can get the car for 6L OTR and then spend the rest 1.5Lakhs on modding it with petes, wider rubber, green, ice, bodykit.
Pros :-
  • First Hand
  • Car in warranty
  • Low on maintanance
  • Where ever you go you will find a Maruti Service Center
  • Loads of torque
  • Resale
Cons : -
  • Prone to rattle
  • Back support poor
  • Cramped at rear
  • Small Boot
  • Noisy roof while raining
Peted Figures : -
Power - 75bhp to 90bhp
Torque - 190NM to 215NM

2. Used Skoda Octavia 1.9TDi for around 5.5L for a 2004model done 45k

Pros : -
  • Fantastic Build Quality
  • Good Handling in stock form
  • Looks (according to quite a few people)
  • On Board Computer
  • Ride Quality
  • Huge Boot
  • Remaps Available
  • Parts are costly(i dont mean servicing, if God forbids anything goes wrong on the car then sourcing the parts from Skoda wont be a cheap affair)
  • 1996 born, 11 year old car, looks outdated IMO
  • Rear Seat Cramped
  • Resale can be a question in the future as Skoda might discontinue it, not sure though.
  • Not a CRDi
  • A bit on the Noisy side compared to Swift, Fiesta(but then your driving a Indica so wont be a issue )
Power - 90bhp to 110bhp
Torque - 210NM to 240NM

Remped Figures : -
Power - 90bhp to 130bhp
Torque - 210NM to 270NM
Not sure on the remap figures

3. Used Hyundai Elantra CRDi will cost around 6.5L for a 2005 model with 45k on the odo.

Pros : -
  • Powerful engine
  • Good service & A.S.S
  • Cheap spares
  • Handling
  • Braking
  • Equipment (ABS, EBD, Climate Control, On Board Computer, Lumbar Support, Alloys, Glass Antenna)
  • New model coming soon.
  • Resale
  • Looks
Power - 110bhp to 130bhp
Torque - 270NM to 305NM

and with the petes youll have 130bhp and 305nm or torque. itll give the magnum a run for its money.
Estimated figures for Magnum with Petes : -

Power - 120bhp to 150bhp
Torque - 315NM to 360NM

You can also consider Used Verna, Innova, Safari Dicor.
Old 27th September 2007, 21:57   #20

Thanks for the detailed explanation busa.

1. This car will be our family car, so i am not conidering swift as an option, as the rear seats are too cramped.

2. The cost for a 04 octy, done 45k kms would be roughly 7.5-8l over here in tvm. Am i being quoted too high?

3. A friend of mine is willing to sell his 04 elantra, which has done 40k kms, for 7l, is it a fair price, cosidering that the car is very well maintained and looks like brand new!
Old 27th September 2007, 21:58   #21

How about a Logan Diesel and get it PETEfied! It's certainly not cramped and there's a lot of room for mods!

BUSA, Your thoughts on that?
Old 27th September 2007, 22:09   #22

Originally Posted by amtak View Post
How about a Logan Diesel and get it PETEfied! It's certainly not cramped and there's a lot of room for mods!

i doubt they have pete's kit for it.
Old 27th September 2007, 22:17   #23

A friend of mine is willing to sell his 04 elantra, which has done 40k kms, for 7l, is it a fair price, cosidering that the car is very well maintained and looks like brand new!
What are you waiting for, just go run and get the car, but try getting the price to 6.5Lacs or 6.75Lacs level, if not possible strike at 7Lacs considering the car looks new is worth it. But 6.5Lacs would be a better price for a 3 year old car done 40k kms. Just tell him New Elantra around the corner, give me for 6.5Lacs, tuje dosti ki Kasam

Am i being quoted too high?
Way high, a 2004 Octy should not cost more then 6.5Lacs.

The Logans diesel engine is fantastic unit, gives high FE, however if your looking for loads of power you would be dissapointed, it costs around 7L OTR and with 69bhp in stock form, doesnot offer much, with Petes expect around 85,90bhp but then its heavy as well. But as a family cat its a very good buy, loads of space and fantastic FE from the diesel engine.
Old 27th September 2007, 23:32   #24

And what about the handling of elantra? autocar india says it is not all that good. is it true?
Old 27th September 2007, 23:33   #25

Stretch your budget to 8Lakhs and book the new Getz-D. It could be offering you all you want....... unless you dont want a hatch that is
Old 27th September 2007, 23:36   #26

well i needed a comfy sedan, but the 110bhp diesel getz is making me crazy!
Old 27th September 2007, 23:53   #27

Originally Posted by s0uljah View Post
Stretch your budget to 8Lakhs and book the new Getz-D. It could be offering you all you want....... unless you dont want a hatch that is
Id wait and see the Getz D before putting my money on a used Octavia.

It comes with 110bhp stock and with a Pete's box, I wonder how powerful it would be.

Except the boot the Octavia isnt exactly spacious inside. Also you would be buying a used car.
Old 27th September 2007, 23:55   #28

Chetta welcome to the Getz Diesel Mania Club (GDMC). Your member #3. (Boogle boy is #1)
Old 28th September 2007, 00:04   #29

Now its just between two cars.

Used - Elantra

New - Getz

Take your pick both are 110bhp(Elantra 112) and both are quick, but Elantra has better dynamics.
Old 28th September 2007, 00:06   #30

Yup wait for the diesel getz to be released and then you will be able to make a better descision.