Old 3rd December 2007, 10:52   #1

looking for a good diesel car

Hi everyone

My first post here. looking for your expert suggestions that can help me choose a good diesel car for myself.
I have done a little survey and have compressed my search to a final few models.but before that i wud like to tell you my requirement. I travel around 50kms a day and sometimes more also and have to go out of town to travel for 200kms twice a month.My budget is 5-6 lacs. so major concern for me is mileage and comfort and also i am not going to buy a new car in next 5 years after this. please help me what car should i go for. here are a few

1.) Swift diesel
2.) Hyundai Verna
3.) Ford fiesta
4.) Logan

Someone also told me that skoda is launching fabian sometime soon. should i wait for that one . Are there any other good cars that are i am missing on and are better than the above specified.

i Appreciate all ur suggestions

Old 3rd December 2007, 11:49   #2

swift diesel for economy and smaller size.so ease of drive in city ,but no boot.if you want a boot then verna or fiesta-logan is ruled out due to poor quality and less comfort.verna for raw power.people say good mileage also but i get arround 13-14 overall.fieasta for more stability.but verna is not a bad handler for speeds below 100.
ram
Old 3rd December 2007, 12:11   #3

If you are looking for a new car, Swift and Logan are the only choices in 5-6 lakh bracket. Out of these, I recommend the swift the required is not too much
Old 3rd December 2007, 12:22   #4

In the 5-6 bracket, AFIK you will not get the Fiesta and the Verna. If overall backseat comfort is not important to you, go with the Swift. Swift diesel is an amazing car. Fabia should hit the showrooms by January end. But, from what I hear, it would be touching 7.
Old 3rd December 2007, 12:44   #5

From your list, the Swift D is the only *contemporary* diesel car in the stated 5-6 lakhs range. Verna and Fiesta get automatically disqualified due to their higher price range.
Old 3rd December 2007, 12:48   #6

Need Boot? Buy Logan
No Boot requirement, buy Swift
Need Now! Go Logan.

Where did Fiesta-Verna come from? They cost more than your price range.

If you are ready to ditch refinement, there is the Indigo TDi also available, but its a generation old.
Old 3rd December 2007, 13:01   #7

Even I am looking for a Nice diesel car for the house use.the lancer at home needs to be replaced.
Should be dependable and a comfy saloon, budget within 10lacs.
Old 3rd December 2007, 13:11   #8

Originally Posted by scooby05 View Post
Even I am looking for a Nice diesel car for the house use.the lancer at home needs to be replaced.
Should be dependable and a comfy saloon, budget within 10lacs.
Optra Magnum should do the job.
Old 3rd December 2007, 13:13   #9

Verna or Magnum should do for you Scooby sir. Both are good & comfortable.
Old 3rd December 2007, 13:22   #10

@ haneet22: Swift is only choice. If you are travelling alone and if the space is not a big issue. Otherwise, Logan/Indigo might be the choice if you do not care about the looks.

@scooby: Optra Magnum/Ford Fiesta/Hyundai Verna/Skoda Fabia (to be launched)-Sedans. Scorpio/Safari-SUV's
Old 3rd December 2007, 13:45   #11

Coming from a lancer? You would be the happiest with a magnum or the Verna. both a refined powerful sedans with good quality and pretty dependable too.
Old 3rd December 2007, 15:29   #12

For performance and refined diesel based on your budget for for Swift Diesel.
Hyundai Getz is also launched in Diesel but not sure how that car goes..

The other options.. Logan did not find appealing
Other cars beyond 6 Lacs.

Best thing is
Test drive
1) Swift Diesel
2) Getz Diesel

Whichever u find best go for it
Old 3rd December 2007, 16:30   #13

i don't mind spending more if verna or fiesta is better than swift
so what do u say now
Old 3rd December 2007, 16:42   #14

Swift is great ( The waiting period is a major turn off )

Logan is good but Plain Jane looks.

My Advise - Go for getz CRDi ( should be around 6.2 OTR Chandigarh ) - You will get the verna engine and great performance.

The swift / fiesta & logan are Miles behind the getz crdi in terms of performance.

Even FE is great ( 16 kpl on highways ) - mags this month claim.

So go for the getz Diesel - you will not regret yr desicion .Cheers !!
Old 3rd December 2007, 18:19   #15

If you rarely go over 100 kmph and dont mind the looks go for Logan
I recommend Logan DLX. Dont let the boxy looks and quirks of the car mislead you. It is fundamentally a very good car, with well sorted mechanicals. Best in rear seat comfort and economy.